Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jo Mama's Sweet Potato Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jo Mama's Sweet Potato Pie

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2002

      I liked this recipe, it came out good, but I like mine a little sweeter. So, you might have to adjust sugar to taste. It was a very pretty pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      was very good! My kids LOVED it :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Good pie. Will use a little less sugar next time. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I made this pie for Christmas this season because pumpkins, canned and fresh, were scarce at Christmastime. Well, I may never make another pumpkin pie again! The only deviations I made were to use about 3/4 tsp of nutmeg, and about 1/2 tsp each of cinnamon and ginger. Wow, this was so good. Very creamy, flavorful. My family loved it. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for the recipe, Sharlene!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I decided to make a couple of sweet potato piew for Thanksgiving and this is one of them. This one was the one that most of our guests liked best. We thought it could use a little more sweet and a little less nutmeg, but it was a good pie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I decided to make a sweet potato pie this year for Thanksgiving because I've never made one before. This was delicious! Simple to make, a lovely texture and very tasty. The only change I will make next time is to reduce the sugar. It was a bit sweet for me, but my husband thought it was perfect. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      My mother in law had a plethora of sweet potatoes last year and I decided to make a couple of pies with them (which I had never had before)----the pie was delicious! I took one to work and it was gone in about 30 minutes! I will definitely make this pie again! The consistency and texture is a lot better than pumpkin pie, yet just as sweet and spicy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      I made this at the request of my niece who had never had sweet potato pie. Actually to tell the truth neither had I. So when I read this recipe it sounded like to one to try. We really enjoyed it! I can't compare it to any other of course but if I could I am sure this one would beat it hands down. I wasn't really sure if I was supposed to use fresh or canned potatoes so I chose canned for the simplicity. I just boile them till they were soft and then mashed/whipped them with a hand mixer. I have to say though when I poured it in my deep dish pie crust I had to much filling and had to throw out about 3/4 cup of it. It baked up very nice and I will so be making this again! Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I am not really a texture person but the texture of this pie was just not right to me. I would not make it again. To many eggs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Made for Thanksgiving this year and everyone really enjoyed it. Thank you Sharlene! It was a nice change from Pumpkin Pie. Arlene

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      Very good! I bought too many sweet potatoes and added this pie at the last minute to my Thanksgiving menu. Easy and delicious! Steamed the sweet potatoes cause I didn't have time to bake them. Used brown sugar and, since I am not a big nutmeg fan, adjusted the spices somewhat, using 1/2 t nutmeg and 1/2 t cinnamon. Took Bullwinkle's suggestion and served with Maple Whipped Cream. I think I'll have a piece for breakfast tomorrow! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      Excellent! Instead of milk, I used soy milk.
      I also added 1/2 tsp ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

    • on December 15, 2006

    • on December 06, 2006

      I made this up for Thanksgiving dessert table this year. This pie was eaten way before the pumpkin pies, and everyone raved about it. Thank you for a wonderfully delicious pie recipe. Will post picture as soon as my puter is fixed to read the camera disc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      Tried this recipe using the brown sugar. The flavor reminded me of gingerbread. Next time I will use granulated sugar. Topped it with maple whipped cream Maple Whipped Cream

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      This is my favorite Sweet Potato Pie recipe of all the different recipes we've tried over the years. I made this for a company pot luck and brought in 2 pies. Even the people who swear they don't like sweet potato enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jo Mama's Sweet Potato Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 383.7
     
    Calories from Fat 198
    51%
    Total Fat 22.0 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 125.6 mg
    41%
    Sodium 275.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 26.3 g
    105%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites