Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jo Mama's Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jo Mama's Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2002

      Very good, the basil blended in very nicely to give the end product a great taste. I did thicken the broth with some cornstarch. I fixed it in the crockpot, 2 hours on high & 6 on low.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2002

      Great stew Sharlene! A good recipe that is simple and hearty. We ate it over rice & it was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2002

      Yummy! A little salty but good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      Very good stew! We used dried rosemary and beef broth. We had our first snowfall of the year here in Wisconsin yesterday-6 or so inches of the wet heavy stuff. It sure was wonderful to come in from shoveling to enjoy a nice hot bowl of stew.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Fabulous! I didn't have fresh rosemary so I used a little dried and it still turned out amazing! I also used beef broth instead of water and I like it that way because I think it gives it a little more flavor. Also used a little cornstarch to thicken. Lovely! Will be making again! Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      This was perfect on a cold, rainy day. It was quick and easy to put together and tasted delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      I was searching for a stew recipe that did not have a tomato base. This was terrific. Instead of water, I used beef broth. I also used fresh rosemary and added fresh mushrooms. My family loved this stew and asked that I make it again soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      This is the perfect beef stew recipe I've been looking for forever! I'm not a huge fan of rosemary but I'm glad I bothered to buy some fresh because the flavour was wonderful in this stew. I was out of celery so omitted it and for some of the water I substituted chicken broth. I also thickened the stew at the end because we like it thick and added a bit of dried thyme. I doubled the recipe to take half to a sick family member and I'm so glad I did. Everyone loved it. Thank you :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      This is one hell of a meal. It was delicious and my 3 kids even had seconds. I am 46 years and never made beef stew before this recipe. I'm glad I picked this one!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      We enjoyed this stew very much. I used venison and did not add any extra salt. The fresh rosemary added a wonderful flavor. Thanks for a great recipe. I'll use this one over and over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      This is a great basic stew. My 13 year old had to make a stew for a cooking project at home. I picked this recipe for him because it looked like it would be good, the ingredients were simple and the instructions were easy to follow. We ended up with an excellent meal. Minor changes; 1) We used beef base "Better than Boullion" in place of the boullion cubes. 2) At the end, we added 1/2 cup of cornstarch to 1 cup water, to make the stew thicker. Our result before that was pretty thin, but we may have added too much water during the original process. We like a thick stew. 3)We cooked the stew a fair amount longer at the end than 15 minutes. We like our vegetables very soft and mushy in a stew, so I'd say it was at least 30 minutes longer we let it cook. Very good, solid, great tasting recipe. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      I made your stew for the first time Saturday night and we finished the leftovers tonight. My husband insists the flavor improved even more while sitting in the fridge waiting to be eaten, says it's the best meal we've put on the table in recent memory. It was simple to prepare and I served it with a loaf of my homemade honey wheat bread. Yummy! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      I am embarrassed as I having been making your recipe for several years and just realized I never reviewed it. I love this recipe! I make it every year for my "autumn/fall" themed dinner party. I always use basil. Towards the end of simmering, I also add a flour/water paste until the stew is thickened to the degree I like it. The taste is wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing; it is in my permanent "recipe favorites" box. *Edited to say: I just made this again for my fall dinner party (2006). This year I had many new couples and they couldn't stop raving about how wonderful it was. As the soup was simmering, we (adults :) )were carving pumpkins and everyone stopped by the pot to stir it and breathe in the heavenly aroma. After we had eaten, several went back for seconds or thirds! Once again, thanks for an awesome recipe that has exchanged hands many times!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      This was sooo good. I used beef stock instead of some of the water and added paprika,garlic and parsley to the mix as well. It was even better the next day. Thanks for a wonderful stew recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2005

      This was a very simple recipe. Exacly what I needed. It was easy to make and didn't take very long. I think next time I will add more seasoning to my beef before I brown it. It turned out great.My son and I had it over rice. I loved it and will be using this again. Thanks alot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2014

    • on January 02, 2002

    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jo Mama's Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (302 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 314.4
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    20%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 96.9 mg
    32%
    Sodium 877.3 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 35.9 g
    71%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh rosemary

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes