Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jivin Jerk Shrimp Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jivin Jerk Shrimp Salad

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2010

      Wow! This was amazing!!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe, it will be filed in my "All Time Favorites" file. I figured the Weight Watchers points as 14 pts for 2 servings (7 pts for 4 servings). The only changes I did was, I used three garlic cloves, used lite coconut milk and used a liquid jerk marinade. Thanks MsSally! This one is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Wow, what a cool twist to your everday salad! I love the sweet hot combination and a new way to spice up the ordinary salad. And also my first introduction to jerk...... Thanks for sharing your team's great combination! ZWT 3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      I scaled this recipe down to one serving for my lunch. I enjoyed the salad, but will omit the sugar when I prepare this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      The salad was great, but I was scared the skewers were going to act as lighting rods when I carried them to the house (STORM). We were totally satisfied for all, except the dressing, which to us was a tad bland. It still appeared to be somewhat of an upscale salad and I would have probably enjoyed it much more as lunch than I did for dinner. I could just see us sitting outside at a restaurant eating this and enjoying a beautiful day. I will tell you one thing, it is the most dh and I have ever discussed a recipe.Thank you MsSally and The Jivin Jelly Rollers for a lovely salad. Made for ZWT3 by a Floozie - Remembering Amy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      Anything with Shrimp I am all over it. I used the coconut milk substitute. Taking Yaya's suggestion, I left out the sugar. The last change was to use my George Forman since we don't have an outdoor grill. This was wonderful and I would make it again. Made for a yummy salad with a kick. The dressing was very refreshing. Definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      I cooked this wonderful salad for ZWT3 and DH & I loved it!. I used the lite coconut milk, sour cream and left out the teaspoon of sugar, didn't think it needed to be any sweeter. Yaya doesn't do light mayonnaise. The dressing was delightful and I had tons left over that I think I will use to make rice in my rice cooker. next time I will use fresh pineapple, I think it grills up nicer and more flavorful. My poor scallions cooked up dry and shriviled. I can hardly wait to cook this dish again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      I made this for lunch for a friend. We really enjoyed it. It was something different from and ordinary shrimp salad. I didn't add the sugar and found that the dressing was sweet enough without it. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      My husband and I enjoyed this very much! I had some leftover coconut milk and wanted to use it up and this recipe fit the bill! I used the jerk recipe given in the title and I agree with the earlier reviewer that the sweet and heat complimented one another! Great job! Posted for ZWT3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      This was very different for us and we found the dressing a bit sweet for our liking (and I didn't add the sugar). I also would have liked the dressing to have thickened up a bit more than it did. It was a very quick recipe to put together and instructions excellent. As recommended I used Jerk Seasoning (Caribbean )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      Fantastic dish, I just loved the taste,nearly forgot to serve the dressing. The heat and the sweet was just perfect. I will have this a lot . I served asparagus and cucunbers in vinegar and glazed mushrooms with this. All of the flavours married nicely.Had a nut bread and got every last drop of the dressing with it. Conratulations Ladies well done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      *Reviewed for Zaar World Tour 3* Great prawns and salad.(Have to say used prawns as I'm an Aussie!) Loved the skewers we cooked them on the BBQ. We made the dressing with coconut milk and lactose free plain yogurt. The dressing was quite sweet and balanced the heat nicely. We cant purchase black beans, so substituted red kidney beans. We had two prawn skewers each and one of ths vege pineapple skewers. Had heaps of the dressing left over. Great recipe and we enjoyed our meals. Photo being posted

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      This was one of, if not THE BEST, salads I have ever eaten! I was afraid that the dressing would not be sweet enough for my taste, because I used light coconut milk and sour cream. However, it was the perfect balance with the sweetness of the pineapple, sweet pepper(I used green and red because I had them both and I thought it would be pretty), and scallion skewer. This was the perfect marriage of flavors, from the sauce to the ingredients. My only problem was I could have eaten an ENTIRE recipe myself! It was simple to make, came together even quicker than I expected, and was packed with flavor. I am proud to have made a restaurant quality meal in my own home, that I will ABSOLUTELY make again! Way to go Jivin Jelly Rollers! Made for ZWT3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      The Jelly Rollers have come up with an awesome tasty spicy shrimp salad. Loved the combination of flavors and the dressing was perfect. Good Job on a scrumptious side dish. Made for ZWT3 ~V

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      Very good! I made this to take to work for lunch, so I had separate containers for the dressing, the shrimp in the jerk marinade, and the black beans/pineapple/red pepper mixture. We don't like super hot food, so I used cayenne pepper instead of scotch bonnet peppers in the jerk seasoning. Liked the coconut flavor in the dressing and the pineapple chunks in the salad complemented the spicy heat of the shrimp. Made for ZWT III.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jivin Jerk Shrimp Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (474 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.2
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    22%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 147.8 mg
    49%
    Sodium 797.1 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.4 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 9.5 g
    38%
    Sugars 34.7 g
    138%
    Protein 26.6 g
    53%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    caribbean jerk seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites