9 Reviews

These are almost exactly like Jim N Nicks...the second time i made them, i cut the sugar to a little more than 1/2 cup, but less than 3/4 and I added a tad more cheese. The other thing i did different was I used buttermilk instead of regular milk cause our waiter told us that that's what the recipe called for....they sell the mix in the restaurant.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eavey June 30, 2013

These are very very sweet with 1 c sugar...sweet overpowered the other flavors. Will try it again with lots less sugar.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marmy61 January 04, 2012

I used melted butter, mixing the dry and wet ingredients separately and adding them together until just mixed then folding in the cheese. I made 32 hefty mini-muffins like they do at Jim N Nicks, filling the pans more than 3/4s full and baking about 9 minutes. The pans need to be greased very well. Warm, they tasted just like Jim N Nicks. They weren't nearly as good the next day. I'll be making these without cheese as well- will decrease the sugar to 3/4 cup when there isn't the salty cheese to counteract the sugar. PS: The server told us they have changed the recipe so it is less sweet and said the best substitute was plain old Jiffy mix with cheese added. I think these were way better than Jiffy mix!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarySC April 27, 2009

I made these last night and they are amazing!!!! Contrary to the recipe, though, I got about 40 out of this (larger muffins that the Jim n Nicks ones) rather than 12. Definitely makes a whole bunch! My family loved them :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emilyp8589 July 14, 2011

This recipe was not bad but I couldn't get over how sweet it was. This recipe would be perfect with about half a cup of sugar or even less

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michael M. April 09, 2015

I have to say, I followed the advice of another reviewer and used only 1/2 c of sugar - and I'm glad I did, even then these were a bit too sweet for me. I do like how they cook. They have a good texture, cook evenly, no burned bottoms here! I think the sweetness is what makes these biscuits similar to Jim & Nicks, but the overall taste is different. I thought they used cornmeal in their biscuits... That's a recipe for another day! Thanks for this recipe, it was really easy and fun to try, and if my kids were rating, they would say 10 for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeeAnn B. January 16, 2014

To make less sweet, use 3/4 c. turbinado ("Sugar in the raw") sugar. I have tried many recipes in an attempt to duplicate these biscuits. This is a keeper. Great as a side with bbq!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kcord July 04, 2012

Instead of cheese, add apples. You can make half with cheese and half with apples. Very good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wmplpi February 03, 2012
Jim N Nicks Cheese Biscuits