Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jiffy Spoon Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jiffy Spoon Bread

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2008

      This is exactly what I was looking for in a simple spoon bread recipe. I love to make pulled pork bbq on the smoker and when I had some left over, I covered the bottom of the casserole with the pulled pork before pouring the batter over. The result was awesome. The smoky flavor of the bbq and the tang of the bbq sauce went so well with this spoon bread. I'm sure this will be a permanent solution for my leftover pulled pork (when I have any). I have also seen the same idea done with chili on the bottom and I'm looking forward to trying that as well. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      I use 2 boxes of Jiffy corn muffin mix to make this firmer for my 1 yo twins to be able to eat. It's fantastic and super easy. I use reduced fat sour cream, light butter and I do not add the cheese on top to save some calories. Still tastes GREAT! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      What a tasty and easy to make bread. My husband didn't care for it but I thought it was good. I will make it as others suggested, with chili on the bottom. Thanks for the new recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      I forgot to put the cheddar on top, but it was addicting! I couldn't stop eating it. I know next time I will cook it a little longer or add a little more Jiffy mix from a second box. My 18 yr old really liked it too. I can hardly wait to try it like "HobbyCook" and use pulled pork! a great recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      Fantastic! We actually put left over chili in the bottom of a 9 x 9" casserole (e" deep) and poured the spoon bread batter over the chili. Turned out delicious! A couple of changes we made: our eggs were medium, so used 3 used the creamed corn, but not the whole kernel. Added onion powder. We'll be sure to make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      Perfect! Had this at a pot-luck dinner and DH just had to have the recipe. I lost the card it was written on, but this came out just like it. Thanks for helping me out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      Yum! Reminiscent of Thanksgiving corn pudding, and it could be used for that. I modified slightly by frying up 4 or 5 strips of bacon in a cast-iron skillet, pouring off the fat, and then baking the bread in the cast iron skillet with the bacon crumbled into it. Because of the bacon, I eliminated the cheese to cut down on the heart-stopping quality. It was delicious, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      This is so daggone good I can't stand it! ;) I used egg beaters, fat free sour cream, 1/4 C light margarine and 1/4 C applesauce and even with the lower fat modifications, it was out of this world! Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      This was so good! A creamy corn filling with a crispy cheese topping. Mine took a bit longer to bake thru in the middle but so worth the extra wait! Thank you Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jiffy Spoon Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 306.0
     
    Calories from Fat 160
    52%
    Total Fat 17.8 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 61.6 mg
    20%
    Sodium 597.9 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes