38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved this recipe! Followed exactly. Very moist. Served with taco soup at a party. What a hit! Next time I will mix most of the cheese into the mix and lightly sprinkle cheese on top. Oh yes, I used recipe Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix Copycat Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix Copycat for the "Jiffy Package".

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grishamk December 24, 2009

I thought I had commented on this recipe the first time I made it, but apparently I did not. It is the most requested dish my family asks me for whenever we have any kind of family get together. I stir the cheese into the mixture and top with crushed Ritz crackers that have been mixed with melted butter. We love the crunchiness it adds to the dish. I also add a couple of tablespoons of sugar because the cheese and sour cream diminishes the sweet taste that we prefer in corn bread. Love, love, love this dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Ross March 10, 2011

Yummy! Used Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix Copycat with good results. Made in a 13x9 pan, but an 11x7 would be a better choice. Just realized I stirred in the cheese instead of adding on top. Whoops. In any event, we enjoyed the dish and it was very quick to put together. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama November 28, 2009

Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I had it about a year ago and lost the recipe. Just like the other reviewer, i remembered everything but the sour cream. I always double the recipe and serve in my 2 quart casserole dish. I can't believe something so delicious, is so simple to prepare! Thanks again for posting this wonderful recipe! Yummy 5 stars for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMomof2 November 18, 2007

I have been looking for this recipe for quite some time - it was as good as I remembered it! I doubled it - baked in 9 X 13.5 pan, only used 1/2 c. of butter for the whole thing and mixed the cheese into the batter. I also used Del Monte Fiesta corn (with the peppers in it) and it looked really pretty too. Thanks again for a great recipe! Goes amazing with my Can-Can Chili!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiRenee April 28, 2007

SUPER! We loved it. It will now the "THE" corn casserole. I also mixed the cheese right in. I used low-fat yogurt and reduced the butter to 1/3c (it still produced a moist rich dish)and since we love mexican cornbread I also added a healthy dash of Tabasco sauce! :-) Thanks for a great recipe. Ingrid

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) January 20, 2007

This is fantastic! I've made this at least 3 times since Thanksgiving. It is so easy and tastes great. My brother thought it was great too and surprised me by asking for the recipe. It was a great side to liver and onions dinner. Note: So far I have left off the cheese, but I'm sure it only adds to its goodness. I have substituted french onion dip for the sour cream in at least one rendition also when feeding a few more people I have added an extra can of whole kernel corn (drained) along with the amount of corn called for in the recipe and it turn out well. Yum! Definitely keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MI Mitten January 13, 2005

I used a cup of cottage cheese instead of the sour cream because my father wont eat anything with sour cream in it, but it still turned out wonderful. This is one of my favorite recipes. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
orangetoamber January 03, 2015

Made on Christmas Day. EVERYONE loved this dish. A real winner. Super easy to make. Left out the cheese which was no big deal. Will make again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mthasvnyrd December 26, 2014

Very good and super easy. I made this as written, but mixed half of the cheese into the batter and the other half sprinkled on top. It turned out nice and moist. Thanx for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* November 24, 2014
Jiffy Scalloped Corn Casserole