Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jiffy Corn Muffins Mix Clone Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jiffy Corn Muffins Mix Clone

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2012

      Vegan version: used whole white wheat flour, just 2 T sugar, 1 tsp baking powder, egg replacement made with 1T ground flax seed 3 T water allowed to sit for 10 or 15 minutes, and 1/2 c vanilla soy milk up to 1/4 c water. Splendid! I am a long time user of jiffy mix and this makes a tasty replacement in our new vegan lifestyle.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      I made this tonight using a self-rising cornmeal mix that contained flour but no sugar (because I did not have straight yellow cornmeal on hand). I added the amount of sugar called for in the recipe. I also had to add a little extra milk to make the batter suitable for plain cornbread. Other than these changes, I made the batter as directed and baked it at 400 degrees for a little less than 20 minutes. As others have said, it had a really nice texture. It was softer, moister, and less crumbly than Jiffy cornbread. The only thing I might change next time other than making it completely from scratch is to add just a little bit more sugar. After making this tonight, I see absolutely no reason (besides laziness) to ever buy Jiffy mix again. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Great recipe, I found the batter quite thick which made it hard to separate, but they look and taste wonderful. I ate Jiffy Mix a lot growing up, but of course you can't find it here in Germany. I made it to go along with chili but I think I would make it in future as well for breakfast and snacks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      My now go to muffin and cornbread recipe,add 1/2 cup milk for cornbread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Made this up as mixes to use later and stored in plastic containers. All I needed was to add the egg, milk & oil. First time I used the pre-measured mix I made pancakes. I used the recipe off the side of the Jiffy box for pancakes- added 1 egg, 2 T Canola oil and 3/4 c milk. The best pancakes ever, very light with a lot of flavor. This mix replaces the Jiffy boxes in my pantry. Thanks Antilope for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      This is spot on. Tastes just like the Jiffy Corn Muffins of my childhood. Mixes up easy and quick. The advantage to making your own vs buying the Jiffy Mix? The Jiffy mix contains lard. This is the perfect replacement. You could even mix up the dry ingredients in batches and store for a quick mix up later. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      Exactly like Jiffy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      This is a great little recipe. I use it whenever Jiffy mix is called for in a recipe, and it never disappoints! BTW, "Jiffy Mix" is not all that great for you, health wise. Thank you for posting this nifty little recipe~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      I was looking for a Jiffy mix substitute to use in Super Corn and was very happy to find this one...it worked perfectly. I just made the dry mix and reduced the sugar to 2 tablespoons. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      We really enjoyed this, very close to Jiffy Mix. I added a bit of additional liquid to make it thinner and pourable, as it was a very thick mixture, but it came out just fine. Thanks for submitting it, Antilope.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      since i did not actually make the cornbread muffins - but instead used it in a recipe that called for it (Stove Top Tamale Pie) - AND i have never had jiffy corn muffins so i wouldn't be able to compare as a clone - i decided to not "rate" it with stars but just leave a comment to thank you very much for sharing this recipe - it worked like a charm. i almost cut back on the sugar but decided to go with the recipe exactly as written and am glad i made that decision... the sweetness of the cornbread perfectly balanced the spicey of the dish. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I used this in a recipe that called for Jiffy cornbread mix and it worked just great. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      I made a double batch and made cornbread to go with soup. We are huge Jiffy muffin mix fans. It's great and for the price, you can't beat it! This is a great clone to use when your out, or to make in bulk and use as needed. The cornbread came out moister and less sweet than Jiffy brand, so we gave it 4 stars for duplication but 5 stars for flavor. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      I needed this for Chicken Tamale Casserole (Cooking Light) and didn't want to buy the mix. It worked great, except that it was very sweet for that recipe. So I would reduce the sugar next time if it's going in a savory recipe. Thanks for sharing this easy substitute!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      These are better than Jiffy! The flavor is the same, but the texture is better. They do not fall apart and crumble like Jiffy muffins do. I love them, and will never buy another mix since these are just as easy and I like them better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      The flavor for this was definitely a match for the Jiffy mix, but the texture was a bit drier than the original. I may try adding an additional tablespoon of oil next time. They were easy to prepare, and probably cheaper than the box. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      Thank you thankyou! I loved Jiffy corn bread mix but had to give it up because it has lard in it (became a vegetarian). This receipe is very similar in taste and so easy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Thank you...this has come in handy for several recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Very Good! I used this mix in a cornbread recipe that called for a box of jiffy mix (65922) as well as I used it on the Stove top tamale pie (78897) came out awesome both times! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      I used this in a Stove Top Tamale Pie Stove Top Tamale Pie and it came out FABULOUS! It was wonderfully moist and the perfect texture for the topping of the casserole. I do believe this is an improvement on the classic Jiffy Mix. Congratulations!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jiffy Corn Muffins Mix Clone

    Serving Size: 1 (59 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.6
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    32%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 32.9 mg
    10%
    Sodium 300.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites