Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix Copycat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix Copycat

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2014

      I loved the simplicity of this recipe, it was almost as easy as using a box of Jiffy...seriously! I think next time I will use melted butter instead of the oil just to add a little more flavor because why not!! Everything is better with butter, right?!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2014

      Loved these, I did add a little more milk because the batter did seem a little dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2014

      Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2014

      I used white cornmeal instead of yellow, and added butter instead of oil. Came out great, and the butter gave it a little yellow color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2014

      I thought this was excellent. I eliminated all the salt and did not feel like it affected the end result or flavor at all. The total volume seemed to be a little greater than the box of Jiffy that I am used to. It is nice to have a backup plan when I don't have the box mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2014

      I consider myself a pretty good cook but I've never been able to make good corn bread. My family hides whenever I try a new recipe. But no more! I made this corn bread the other night and they loved it! No more box mixes for us. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      I tried this recipe today and made the Chili Cheese Pie from this site and it was very delicious!
      I just cut the sugar ammount to half and it was perfection. I've never used the Jiffy Corn Muffin mix but this cornbread is worderful. Fluffy, light, very yummy! Hubby was so happy with the pie and there wasn't much left of it. I served it w/ endive & tomato salat. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      I made your recipe for the Jiffy corn muffin mix , made true to the recipe and doubled it and baked it in my cast iron pan .It tasted just like the box stuff my family loved it ,no more buying the mix for me i'll just keep this recipe handy , thanks for a great recipe ! Wilma

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      I have been using this for a time now and love it. I found that it fits in a mason jar, I do not add the oil if I am going to be putting it in back stock. Now that it is winter I will be making up some to put in my back stock, to have to make with Chili and Navy Bean soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      Works as advertised as a substitute for the box mix. I made a double batch to make a double batch of Quick & Easy Gourmet Corn Muffins and it worked as good if not better. In fact I printed this recipe on the back of the other just so I would have it handy just in case I need it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      I have used your recipe for years, as I make all we eat from scratch. My husband, a devoted Jiffy lover, was won over the first time. I use fresh ground sprouted wheat, masa corn flour, and stevia for the flour, cornmeal, and sugar. The only major change has been the need to increase the water amount (I always eye-ball it)-- then it bakes up beautifully. Today I had to make it egg and dairy free so I subbed bacon grease for the oil, coconut milk for the milk, and 1Tbl ground flax and 3Tbl water for the egg. Again, it was scrumptious. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      Way too much flour in this recipe. I reversed the flour/cornmeal proportions using 2/3 c cornmeal and scant 1/2 c AP flour. Next time I'm going to bump the cornmeal up 1 cup and drop the AP flour back 1/4 cup and see if that makes it into Jiffy nirvana. This time was REALLY close. I increased the sugar to 4 T (1/4 cup) and added a little extra milk to thin the batter. Having a Southern cook for a mother I know to always start my pan in a cold oven with 1-2 T butter and melt the butter in the pan while the oven is preheating. Take your baking pan out as soon as the butter is melted or it will burn. Pour your Jiffy mix into the melted butter and bake in oven as usual. The butter makes for extra brown bottoms that taste heavenly. It also helps with complaints of dryness. This recipe was a place to start but it needed more help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      Used on the top of Southwestern Chicken Pot Pie. Easy to make and use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2012

      Thanks to My-3-Chefs June 2012 I picked this recipe to try.

      This was a nice corn muffin mix. For us we felt it needed something to it. On my second attemp on this recipe I chose to add maple syrup which made out turn our better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      I made this on the weekend and we all enjoyed the flavour. They were great right out of the oven however they were quite dry after they cooled off. I think that I will try them again with some of the add ins and hopefully they will be moister.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      Just tried this tonight for dinner since I was out of the regular box kind. I don't think it tastes just like Jiffy. I needed to add additional milk just to make the ingredients wet enough to mix. I baked this in a 9" square pan but should have made it in something smaller because it was too thin once baked. It was okay -- I'd make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      I used this to make Chili Cheese Pie and it worked out fabulously! The cornbread crust came out fluffy and moist and just plain yummy. I left out the sugar and the oil and still this was super good! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing such a keeper with us, najwa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      Fabulous 5 minute recipe! No need for the box!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      Tried this twice now and the first time it was way too dry and crumbly making it as is. This time I tripled the recipe to cook in my cast iron skillet. The mix seemed dry so I added an additional 1/2 cup milk which seemed to help but it was still pretty crumbly when it finished after 22 minutes. It is almost like Jiffy Mix but I think I'll add an extra egg next time I triple it. I prefer a moister cornbread and I think that adjustment will do it. Even as it turned out this time, my son & I enjoyed it with lots of butter to combat the dryness and crumbliness. Perhaps next time I can say it's a five star recipe. As is would be great with chili or something cooked with it. Thanks for a basic start that I can make work for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      I used this recipe for Spinach Spoon Bread - Crock Pot, spinach spoon bread. I will never buy a box of jiffy mix again! I did cut back the sugar to 2T but it still seemed too sweet so next time I'll use only 1T. Now I want to make some muffins! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix Copycat

    Serving Size: 1 (588 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.6
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    32%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 32.9 mg
    10%
    Sodium 300.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes