42 Reviews

OMG!!!! I made this last night along with chili for a last minute dinner night, EVERYONE RAVED and most left with the recipe. I cannot believe how much of this I ate! I see that the last reviewer didn't understand that it is more of a casserole than a thick cornbread, so I want to make sure that people know that it is supposed to be like a spoonbread texture. I actually knew this in advance and I searched the web for this recipe for that reason. It is a side dish & is meant to be eaten with a fork or spoon - again, corn CASSEROLE not cornBREAD. Thanks for posting, I am glad this is on here so I have to search no longer when I need it again & again. Honestly, not one person out of 12 did not LOVE this dish.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NYLYNNMIKE October 19, 2008

I made it just as written and it was fantastic. If you are trying to reduce the calories just don't eat as much or make something else. I make this every holiday when no one is counting calories. You can go back to green beans the next day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
naspencer December 23, 2015

We loved this spoon-bread/casserole/corn pudding like dish! I did double the recipe and next time I will probably do the same except to keep the butter at 1/2 cup - it was a bit soupy and I had to cook for about 75 mins for it to be done. But OH, MY!! My family pigged out on this along with chili I had made. Very much a comfort food and excellent on a cold winter evening!!<br/>Do try this great recipe, but don't expect corn "bread" - it's more like a spoon-bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enchntress February 11, 2015

I have made this several times and I believe I have perfected my "lower fat" version! Using these subs, it's only 250 calories per serving and still VERY good. I hate dieting so this isn't coming from a health nut :) follow the recipe except use 1/3 cup light sour cream and 2/3 cup plain nonfat yogurt. Use 1/4 cup melted butter. Doing this saves 110 calories/serving!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
College Gal March 18, 2013

This was a nice and different side dish. I added about a half cup of onions & half a can of green chilies. It was still fairly gooey on the inside after 60 minutes at 350 so I continued baking. The gooeyness never really went away so I'm assuming that was how it was supposed to be. Although after the comments regarding the casserole maintaining it's shape I'm thinking something went wrong with mine because that did not happen - it was more like a pudding on the inside even after baking for an addition 30 minutes. Regardless it was good! Thanks for this one!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious April 30, 2010

So easy and tasty! I omitted the butter and just used a whole container of light sour cream instead and used this as a base for a fancier corn casserole recipe. This is open for so much variation and utterly simple not to mention cheap to make! Thanks for a great post!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the80srule February 08, 2010

Oh my word. This was the most Heavenly and delicious thing ever! Its a cross between a cornbread, a spoonbread, and truly was a tasty corn casserole. This reminds me EXACTLY of the cornbread from Chi Chi's (which is no longter) so that made this more of a treat. TYVM for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Everything's Rosie July 23, 2008

I'll be making this for the third time this coming holiday. My family and I absolutely love it. Now they always ask me to make it. lol Super easy, very affordable and feeds a lot! Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whitney C. March 21, 2016

I've used this recipe for years. Love it! Easy. My grandchildren request it all the time. I add shredded cheese and onion sometimes. Making it tonight with a meatloaf dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bhodg1005 January 20, 2016

I made this for a potluck. I doubled the recipe and followed the advice of previous reviewer limiting the butter to 1/2 cup. It came out very good, nice and firm. When I make it again I think I will add green chiles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coldcomfortfarm June 13, 2015
Jiffy Corn Casserole (5 Ingredients) Easy & Delicious!