8 Reviews

I used to eat jicama and cucumber like this in Mazatlan all the time! I just cut it into sticks, squeezed the lime over it and sprinkled the seasoning and ate away! Made for ZWT 9

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cadillacgirl August 07, 2013

WOW!!! I thought I had an average sized jicama but I diced up half of it & had well over 2c. I used 1 large cuke which I didn't peel. I used 2 limes since it was sort of doubled. We loved it! Well, the picky one wasn't so keen on the jicama. Crunch, crunch, crunch!! Absolutely BURSTING with flavor & not a drop of fat!! Brilliant! Made for ZWT9, Mike & the Appliance Killers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo August 06, 2013

This was good! I have never tried jicima before; it smelled strong when I cut into it but seemed to mellow out as it sat in the lime juice with the cucumbers. For ZWT7

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel June 27, 2011

This was a nice refreshing salad. I let it sit for about 3 hours at room temp before serving, and didn't think is was to sour. It did have a little spice to it, but we like that so that was not a concern for us. Next time I think I would cut the jicama smaller because I got a little tired of chewing so much! LOL. Made for ZWT 7

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean June 25, 2011

This was a great refreshing salad served with some chicken quesadillas. I love the crunchiness of the jicama. I did make this ahead of time as per a previous reviewer mentioned. Just have to be careful on how big your lime is and how juicy it is... this can get real tart quickly. {Made and reviewed for NZ/AUS Recipe Swap #28, May '09}

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHILI SPICE May 19, 2009

Refreshing but a bit bland for us. I added some fresh chili, a bit of chopped, red onion and some cilantro and it really perked things up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens August 19, 2014

A nice salad with a nice crunch. I loved the lime juice, really woke it up. Thanks Paula! Made by a fellow team Hot Stuff member for ZWT 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 August 08, 2013

Delicious! I served this yesterday and I didn't really care for it since even after sitting for an hour it was much too sour and hot. But I saved it to see if it would benefit overnight and it really did! The sourness has mellowed and the heat is more subtle now, allowing the flavor of the chipotle to come through. So I would definitely say it is a MUST to marinate this overnight before serving. I think this would be perfect as a side for a fish taco lunch. Thanks for sharing! ~Sue

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau September 20, 2008
Jicama Salad With Cucumber and Lime