12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm not leaving stars because I don't think it would be fair. I couldn't find jicama (although I know I've seen it in my grocery store before). I had my heart set on the recipe so I made it anyway. Also, I used the pre-shredded Dole cole slaw bag instead of shredding red cabbage. So, I'm not leaving stars because I think I changed too much, but I will say that I really enjoyed what I had. I had to add more salt once I served it, but I only used about a half a teaspoon (and roughly halved the recipe.) I cannot wait to try it with jicama!! 8/2010 update: Found jicama! It was awesome!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyLynn99 August 19, 2010

This is absolutely delicious! Thanks so much for a great recipe Rita! The supermarket didn't have any jicama today so I substituted two grated gala apples. I'm sure the jicama would have added a nicer crunch but the apples tasted great and soaked up the extra dressing that would have coated the jicama. The slaw has a great balance of sweet and spicy and the cilantro stands out wonderfully! I can't wait to make this again!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oliver & Fischer's Mommy July 30, 2010

SO good & popular too! I served it along side my Chipotle Pulled Chicken BBQ Sandwiches. Many people placed this on top of the sandwich. It was so flavorful & so good too! I introduced about 10 people to jicama! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zannah17 April 25, 2010

This was quite delicious! Don't be afraid to use a fair amount of cayenne, as the honey offsets it. Nice combination of spicy and sweet. Will definitely make it again. Those who liked this recipe should definitely also give "Indonesian Slaw" a taste -- along similar lines, although different.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole September 21, 2009

What a refreshing, and beautiful salad for summer. Really, the colors were a feast for the eyes. You know what they say, "you eat with your eyes first". I loved the overall ingredients of the dressing.....tart, sweet, and hot. The cayenne was perfect for the jicama. I chilled my salad for about 2 hours so that the crunchy texture would add to the overall dish. Thanks so much for posting this recipe, Rita. Definately a repeat salad in my house.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie August 30, 2009

Rita, this is a true 5*, made this for our Labor Day picnic and everyone loved it, just enough differant from your every day slaw to make an impression. I used a Walla Walla Sweet Onion but other than that followed the recipe exactly and it was a perfect blend of flavors, even better the next day. This will be a constant on our recipe rotation.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 September 02, 2008

Thank you, Rita, for a great tasting salad! I used olive oil & the apple cider vinegar in the dressing, then opted for a Vadalia onion in the salad! Loved the combo of tastes in this salad & will definitely be making it often during the summer! Thanks for sharing a great recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my partners in my raw food group in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 04, 2008

What a great salad! I did fajitas for our 4th of July picnic and this was the perfect side dish to go with them. It stayed crunchy for a couple days so was great with leftovers as well. I did add a little chopped serrano pepper out of my garden for a little zip. Thanks for the great recipe. I'll definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taratoo July 09, 2008

I agree with Lydia! It is very refreshing and healthy too. Perfect for a hot summer day. I'll try making it with either olive oil or maybe almond or walnut oil for an even healthier option.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Therlam June 16, 2008

Refreshing and Crisp. Great Salad!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lydiamis June 15, 2008
Jicama Cilantro Red Cabbage Slaw