Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jicama Chili Sticks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jicama Chili Sticks

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-35 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2009

      Wonderful. Absolutely perfect little snack after I get home from work. Super crunchy, super satisfying, and super healthy alternative. I cut my sticks quite skinny to make it feel like there were more of them. I went really light on the chili powder at first and ended up putting quite a bit more after realizing how flavorful the chili powder was on the jicama. Really great! Thanks for posting such a simple recipe that I would have never thought of!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      HOW TASTY! HOW SIMPLE! Definitely a keeper & something I want to make often, just for myself as well as for company! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Healthy Choices ABC cooking game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      I just discovered Jicama and this is absolutely my favorite new snack!!! So easy and so fresh tasting! Fantastic for healthy eaters!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      These were pretty good. They were very easy to make, but I think next time I will add some salt to them. Thanks! ~Amy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      This is wonderful! I used cantaloupe in addition to the jicama and added salt with the chili. Delicious and easy new snack to keep in the frige! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      I put these out as a light side at a barbecue and they didn't go over well. Most were left sitting. Maybe it's a context thing - as a light snack on a summer day, perhaps with a glass of chilled white wine, I could definitely see them being a nice treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      Burgy, love, this is the best! As I get ready to retire to Mexico you remind me of all I love Mexican. Thanks! T.J.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      Bergy does it again! :) This is yummy and refreshing. A perfect side to our tacos last night. FDH wouldn't eat them, eventhough we had jicama in Mexico last winter. (rolling eyes) I added the zest of the lime to mine. YUM! I'm having the leftovers at lunch today and I'm sure they will be even better after sitting overnight. Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

    • on November 03, 2006

      Wow... I just downed a bowlful and am ecstatic that I'm not all bloated out! After all the cream, carbs and the like, this is a great, refreshing and guilt-free alternative. I'll try the addition of salt later. Gotta cut this short, another batch awaits me. ;o) Thanks, Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2006

      These were very easy to make but we did not care for them much. Maybe it is just my anglo tongue, but the raw chili powder taste seemed overwhelming. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      Tasty, healthy, and very typically Mexican.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2005

      This was such a wonderful and effortless snack. I cut mine into sticks - sort of like fat french fries and carrot sticks. Added a bit of sea salt as well. Thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2004

      This recipe just didn't go over with my taste buds. I used 3 different chili spices and while one was way to hot, the other two just didn't win with me either. Just personal preference. I won't make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2004

      My parties always seem to have oodles of cream cheese types of appetizers, so these Jicama Chili Sticks presented a nice alternative. I'm not a talented sprinkler, so I tossed the sticks with lime in a bowl, poured off the lime, and then tossed the sticks with the chili. For people in western Canada, the only place I found jicama was at Save-On Foods.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jicama Chili Sticks

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 23.8
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    39%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes