35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these for the surprise party I threw for my sister. None of our guests, including my DH knew what the heck it was but once they tried it, they loved it! Jicama is so refreshing, and the lime and chili added some nice flavour and heat. Thanks for another great and simple recipe Bergy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl July 10, 2003

Tasty tasty tasty!!!! And so easy to make! Gotta work on my presentation a bit as several people thought that they were cold french fries -- once they tasted them, they loved em though! thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirstin in the Couv January 31, 2003

What a healthy, unique treat! Pretty much everyone who likes jicama who tried it prepared this way, liked it a lot. Those who didn't care for it, don't like jicama period.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) July 18, 2014

Fantastic! I had this for the first time a couple of years ago. The only change I've made is that I do not drain the lime juice off. I liked some of the ideas from other reviewers of additional spices or a touch of sugar. I'll try that next time. I've read in the past that the smaller the jicama the sweeter and I know when they're bigger they start to get woody so I always buy the smallest ones I can find. Thanks for posting, Bergy, I have this all the time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick March 10, 2012

TIPS ON BUYING JICAMA. For those that didn't like the taste of jicama (and possibly had one that wasn't fresh or was too large) here are some tips from the experts (from another site, not me). Choose a jicama that is firm to the touch with no soft spots or visual rot. Avoid jicama that is overly large since as it grows it begins to change sugar into starch and will have a woody taste. Locally grown fruit is usually better because it has a fairly short storage life (two to three weeks) in it's natural form.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark Kovach August 13, 2011

Yummy! Super simple and good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyndimarcus January 11, 2011

Sorry, these were not for us. I do love jicama, but like this I felt like I was eating raw potatoes. Sorry Bergy! I am not giving stars because I don't want to drag your rating down. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BerrySweet April 23, 2010

These weren't for me. Too bad though because they sounded amazing. I think i'll try it on apples because the jicama didn't work out

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
College Girl January 27, 2010

The exact recipe I got from a local southwestern restaurant! Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueyedwineaux January 07, 2010

Love this my mom always made this during the hot summer months- Last time I was in Mexico we had cucumber this way too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lexi L January 07, 2010
Jicama Chili Sticks