Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jicama Chili Sticks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jicama Chili Sticks

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2002

      These are wongerful! They're crisp and delicious! The lime and chili powder go great, this is a new snack for us! We love jicama, and this is a very good way to spice it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2002

      Wonderful when one wants something in the frige for easy snacks, DH is trying to quit smoking, so I'm keeping all kinds of veggie snacks around for him. Can't keep enough of these in for him. Thanks Bergy, I love them too!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2002

      I know this is good because I have enjoyed Jicama this way for several years. When we first moved to New Mexico we visited a Swap Meet in Las Cruces where they sell a "fruit cup" it includes Jicama,watermelon, cantaloupe, pineapple and cucumber all cut in strips and sprinkled with lime and red chile. The only difference is they also add salt to the red chile. I now enjoy apples, pears, most any type of fruit with the lime, red chile and salt sprinkled over them!! Betty Jo Weathersby

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2002

      Had a Mexican theme party and needed a veggie appetizer. This worked out great, though they looked like french fries on the platter ;-) they were a flavor sensation and everyone liked them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2002

      When I saw the jicama sitting on the market shelf, I thought, what an ugly, odd-looking potato! Then I saw the name, and remembered coming across it here someplace, so I swiped it up. Thanks goodness! Its taste is sweet, crisp and juicy. I can imagine enjoying these on a hot summer day (though must admit I find it very enjoyable now in the middle of winter). While great plain, the lime juice & chili powder really pep it up. Thanks for a fabulously simple idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2003

      What a great snack. These are addicting and the taste is not overwhelming. I had never eaten jicama before and wasn't sure what to expect. It was a pleasant surprise. It did take some encouragement to get the guests to eat it though. Everyone said that they liked it. And yes, they do look like raw potatoes. I found that there was too much lime juice and I had to pour some out. This is such an easy snack/appetizer that I will be serving this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Very refreshing & yummy!!!! Maybe those that didn't like it had a jicama that wasn't all that fresh? We really enjoyed these - thanks Bergy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Very common and tasty way to enjoy jicama, especially in the summer. I use chipotle chile powder, some salt, and a bit of sugar in addition to the lime juice on my sticks. The sweet and salty flavors balances the heat and acidity. I can eat these every day during the NM summers! Delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      YUUM! I am addicted to these now! Sometimes I add some fresh orange slices and kiwi. The chili powder with the lime juice is wonderful together and I never pour off the extra lime juice I drink it! LOL

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2003

      Thanks for adding your knowledge on how to choose these in your recipe description. I bought a really nice one. I really like the texture and the flavor. I added salt just before serving and it was excellent. I will be trying your Avocado & Jicama #70890 tomorrow for dinner. I am excited about the possibilities of what all can be done with one of these. It was the simplicity of this recipe that finally convinced me to purchase one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2003

      I made these for the surprise party I threw for my sister. None of our guests, including my DH knew what the heck it was but once they tried it, they loved it! Jicama is so refreshing, and the lime and chili added some nice flavour and heat. Thanks for another great and simple recipe Bergy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2003

      Tasty tasty tasty!!!! And so easy to make! Gotta work on my presentation a bit as several people thought that they were cold french fries -- once they tasted them, they loved em though! thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2014

      What a healthy, unique treat! Pretty much everyone who likes jicama who tried it prepared this way, liked it a lot. Those who didn't care for it, don't like jicama period.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      Fantastic! I had this for the first time a couple of years ago. The only change I've made is that I do not drain the lime juice off. I liked some of the ideas from other reviewers of additional spices or a touch of sugar. I'll try that next time. I've read in the past that the smaller the jicama the sweeter and I know when they're bigger they start to get woody so I always buy the smallest ones I can find. Thanks for posting, Bergy, I have this all the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      TIPS ON BUYING JICAMA. For those that didn't like the taste of jicama (and possibly had one that wasn't fresh or was too large) here are some tips from the experts (from another site, not me). Choose a jicama that is firm to the touch with no soft spots or visual rot. Avoid jicama that is overly large since as it grows it begins to change sugar into starch and will have a woody taste. Locally grown fruit is usually better because it has a fairly short storage life (two to three weeks) in it's natural form.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      Yummy! Super simple and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      Sorry, these were not for us. I do love jicama, but like this I felt like I was eating raw potatoes. Sorry Bergy! I am not giving stars because I don't want to drag your rating down. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      These weren't for me. Too bad though because they sounded amazing. I think i'll try it on apples because the jicama didn't work out

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      The exact recipe I got from a local southwestern restaurant! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Love this my mom always made this during the hot summer months- Last time I was in Mexico we had cucumber this way too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jicama Chili Sticks

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 23.8
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    39%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes