Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jewelry Cleaner Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jewelry Cleaner

    Average Rating:

    107 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 107

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2014

      Oh my! Although someone has posted that they have cleaned pearls and Emeralds with this and had success, they are VERY lucky! <br/>Never, ever, clean Emeralds, even with just water, they are oiled to keep them from crazing and other damage, water will remove this protective oil. Some are also heat treated to enhance the colour and this will fade the colour back to natural pale green. Take them to a jeweller and have the stone removed and the setting cleaned if necessary.<br/>As for Pearls, Opals, Coral, or other organic stones, like Lapis Lazuli and shells, etc. These also do not like to be subjected to water (I know...pearls come from water) it can cause them to dry and crack also. Opals, Ammonites and some shells are sandwiched between clear layers of crystal to protect the stone (called doublets & triplets) however, this sealing process can fail and/or the crystal itself will cloud. <br/>Any stone that is glued in place should also not be used in this solution. Nor should you put enamelled pieces in it.<br/>Great for plain silver though :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      I have used my grandmother's formula for jewelry cleaner for decades..you really only need three ingredients...hot water, baking soda and foil. Not sure why the salt was added as baking soda has salt... For the ladies that said it turned their jewelry "black" is because you left it in too long...I use an old pie pan with the soda sprinkled in it...add the hot water and then imerse the jewelry or silverware (works great on that) in. Don't leave too long...just until it brightens. Remove and RINSE. Rub with a soft cloth to bring out the shine. Warning...DO NOT DO THIS TO OPALS AS THE HOT WATER WILL CRACK THEM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2013

      This recipe is very bad advice and seems to be circulating quite a bit on Facebook. Mainly from people who do not work with or make jewelry. Using dishsoap with pearls or any soft or organic gemstone will result in disaster. While some jewelry makers may do a one time rinse with Ivory dishsoap to remove excess dye on dyed pearls this is ONE time only process and the solution is very weak. Subjecting certain gemstones to excess salt and the ingredients in dishsoap will remove the nacre from pearls and destroy other gemstones. The information being credited as coming from Wire-Sculpture.com is most likely from a novice poster as a response to one of their daily tips. This is the real tip from W-S "Daily Wire Tip: Cleaning with Baking Soda<br/>Monday, December 7th, 2009 at 6:19 pm Comments (20) Daily Wire Jewelry Making Tip<br/><br/>Question:<br/><br/>Dale, I think you mentioned the baking soda cleaning method as a gentle cleaning some time ago. Is this the method where you line a bowl with foil, add about a cup of warm water, 1 TBSP. Baking Soda and a little salt?<br/><br/>Answer:<br/><br/>Yes. Personally I have never added salt to the mixture, because baking soda already contains sodium, but this is the procedure I have used with success on simple silver pieces or a coil of wire: line a glass baking dish with aluminum foil; place your sterling silver wire coil or jewelry pieces on the foil and cover it with a thin sprinkling of baking soda; add boiling hot water to cover the wire or jewelry; use a wooden chopstick or other non-metal utensil to gently stir the items around a bit so they all have contact with the aluminum foil at one time or another. When satisfied, remove the items and rinse thoroughly under tepid running water, and pat items dry. <br/><br/>For more stubborn tarnish you can also assist the cleaning process by using a soft toothbrush during the rinse process.<br/><br/>Please be aware of not using this method to clean pieces that contain pearls, soft stones that have not been polished professionally like turquoise, and never add ivory, opals, or any precious stone that may have enhancements or treatments such as wax or oils that are often used on sapphires, rubies, and emeralds!<br/><br/>On those pieces, I just use an ionic cleaner such as the Speed Brite, which can be used safely on everything except ivory.<br/><br/>Answer contributed by Dale ?Cougar? Armstrong"<br/><br/>Note the mention of a glass baking dish and using a wooden chopstick or other non-metal utinsel.<br/><br/>Please act responsibly and dont repost or circulate bad information such as the original recipe posted here on Food.com

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      BE CAREFUL! This chemical reaction can damage some stones, such as turquoise. Otherwise, it's fine. You may want to check with a reputable jeweler before using on your good stuff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2012

      I was so hopeful considering the rave reviews this recipe has gotten but I am sorry to say it has not worked for me on the occassions I have tried it. Worse, it has left a sticky film that I needed to use commercial jewelry cleaner to remove. I'm not saying that it doesn't work - it obviously does for some, just not for me and I since I am following the instructions exactly, I can't imagine what I am doing wrong. I have only tried my wedding and engagement rings and they are both white gold, with diamonds and aquamarine stones so maybe that could be it? No idea at this point.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      I'm throwing away my jewelry cleaner machine!!!! This is the ONLY way to clean jewelry. My only question, is should you really put your watches in the solution??? I have a Bulova watch and I don't know if it's waterproof, but I'm concerned about putting it in the solution.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      It made my gold tooth shine like new.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Dish detergent not necessary. I used it on a braceet with amethysts and very intricate beads, only left in about a minute as I was concerned about the amethysts--magic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Works awesome!! Next time, I will make 1/4 of what the recipe calls for since you are supposed to make it fresh every time!! Has anyone kept it and used it again later?? Thanks so much for sharing! :O)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      I don't have much jewelry, and I rarely wear what I do have, so I haven't tried this. But I wanted to pass on an even easier trick a friend taught me long ago Toothpaste works great to spiff up silver hewelry. Just rub it on, then rinse it off! Obviously, dry the jewelry afterwards. (I'm a Crest regular paste gal, so I don't knonw if it would work with the "gel" types of toothpaste.))

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      I used this on my sterling silver puzzle ring this morning and it cleaned all the tarnish right off! Thanks so much for saving me from having to buy jewelry cleaner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      I want to tell the world this works!! After 10 minutes soaking time in this easy, inexpensive solution, my jewelry was sparkling...and without lots of rubbing or buffing! The necklaces I cleaned were handmade with lots of small intricate sterling silver beads and wire strung with artisan,dichroic glass beads. I had tried to clean these favorite pieces of mine by using a jeweler's cloth, but the material just wouldn't reach inside all the small twists and turns, leaving lots of tarnish. I can now wear all my sterling jewelry and make some more without fear of having tarnish ruin everything. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2014

      Amazing! I had 4 very tarnished gold necklaces that I had given up on and was going to have the stones removed and placed in another setting. I had tried everything, but saw this recipe and decided it couldn't hurt. I am so glad I did--almost all of the tarnish came off and they are sparkly and shiny again! I didn't try it on my silver after reading other reviews, but it works beautifully on gold and didn't hurt any of the stones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2014

      This is amazing!!! It cleaned my gems, gold and silver! But the biggest "this is amazing" moment was cleaning my teenage son's sterling silver necklace. It was bad and it came out beautifully. I followed the directions exactly and used a soft bristle toothbrush to get the nooks. Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2014

      Just used this to clean a necklace I got in Hawaii this year, and my engagement ring, couldn't get my wedding ring off, and it was amazing....so bright and looks brand new! I just used a paste of hot water and baking soda and took a toothbrush to my wedding ring, and that worked since I couldn't get it off! Will use again instead of jewelry cleaner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2014

      I love it!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2014

      This worked great on my silver chain and cross pendant. It's sparkling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2014

      Okay. So I used this recipe to clean my most cherished jewelry from my boyfriend. I followed the directions very closely, and it cleaned everything like I've never seen before. But I have one problem; this cleaning solution turned my ring black in some spots...now what do I do?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2014

      This worked great for me! Simple and easy! I'll definitely use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      I try this and it was nice because my silver necklace cleaned from the recipe cleaner, and it's shiny silver again, and since because i have polishing cloth for jewelries, i used it also for my silver and it's more great looking like brand new ^__^ Thank you for the recipe cleaner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jewelry Cleaner

    Serving Size: 1 (271 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 10740.7 mg
    447%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes