8 Reviews

Since moving away from the tri-state area, I haven't had disco fries. I'm so happy to have a recipe for them now! Thanks for posting this delicious recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aeht206 November 17, 2013

Still delicious though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christopher C. August 13, 2015

Really - the Garden State and home of all kinds of delicious local and ethnic food and NJ gets disco fries - made of all fake, pre-processed ingredients??!!! Are you freaking kidding me? We've all heard of french fries with brown gravy and cheese sauce, but have never heard this called disco fries.<br/><br/>Kristine, you should be ashamed of yourself.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie K. July 09, 2014

I was born and raised in New Jersey and never heard of Disco Fries before! So, my guess is that they are a North Jersey thing, kind of like Taylor Ham, because I've never seen them in South Jersey. Gravy fries and cheese fries I first saw out west. And, cheese fries can be had in every pizzeria, but gravy AND cheese??? NEVER!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy V. July 09, 2014

I was born, raised and still reside in the lovely Garden State. To all the reviewers who exclaimed, "I've NEVER heard of 'Disco Fries'!" Well, let me tell ya... There's another ENTIRE universe out there, full of stuff you've never heard of!" Disco fries have been around for ages, you mainly find them at diners as most diners in NJ are 24 hours and after a night of partying (3 AM), everyone goes to the diner to soak up that alcohol. Hence the name "Disco Fries". Some places use an American cheese sauce, while others use real cheese, such as Mozzarella. So for those folks who didn't know Disco Fries exists... There's a bunch of other $hit you've never heard of. LOL! PS. ***For Bonnie K & Wendy V***, I meant to click your reviews were UNHELPFUL. Just because you've never heard of something, doesn't make it real. & I wish we could split NJ in half too. So you ignorant, toothless, rednecks can be separate as well! Good day. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CapsLuvBass August 23, 2016

Seriously? Who submitted Disco Fries for NJ? I have lived in NJ for all of my 61 years and never heard of Disco Fries. NJ is known for its Pork Roll Sandwich and diners. Disco Fries?? Never!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karenradcliffe8243 July 05, 2016

This must be a new thing for my homestate of New Jersey! I'll bet someone brought this down from Canada, since they brag about this recipe all the time. Honestly, although I live in Delaware, I KNOW that New Jersey can do much better than this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eileen.ross May 31, 2016

I wish we could cut NJ in half and north jersey can keep their high car insrance, Yankees, and disco fries to themselves. For 62 years I have never heard of these disco fries because the people of south Jersey affiliate themselves with the garden states abundance of tomatoes, asparagus, sweet peaches, sweet corn, etc.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbi S. July 09, 2015
Jersey Disco Fries