Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jerry's Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jerry's Chocolate Ice Cream

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2011

      OMG...!!! This ice cream is fantastic and so easy to make! Like other reviewers, I heated the milk and added the cocoa to it before stirring it into the melted chocolate. I also tempered the eggs by heating the finished mixture to 160 degrees. We live in Costa Rica, so it's just an added safety measure. Oh, and the bar chocolate was 75 grams (56 grams = 2 oz), but I threw it all in anyways. Maybe that's why this is extra good! Thank you, Steven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      We love this recipe! We have the book and have made all 3 kinds and this is by far the best one. Oh yeah, I end up using my immersion blender to make it smooth and I melt the chocolate and heat it with the milk in a large pyrex cup in my microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      Oh...my...god! This is exactly the chocolate flavour I was wanting. So so so good. I did what Jostlori did and heated the milk a little, then mixed the cocoa into that rather than in to the melted chocolate. Then it was a breeze to whisk together. I also put just a little less cocoa then the recipe asked for but it is still perfectly rich and delicious! This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I made this with half-and-half instead of heavy cream, and it was still delicious. The whisking the cocoa into the chocolate and then the milk did not go well, and I was left with lumps. Next time I'll try some of the other reviewers' suggestions. And there will be a next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Absolutely heavenly!!! WOW - I have never had better chocolate ice cream (and trust me, I've had a lot of chocolate ice cream in my day)! I used half and half instead of milk and heated it, like others suggested , as well as adding an extra cup and mixed with the chocolate and cocoa in. For the chocolate I used an imported belgian dark chocolate bar. When it was 5 minutes from being done I added crumbled up heath bar to the mix. WOW, it was so delightful I ate it all in 48 hours!!! Thanks so much for a spectacular recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      This is great chocolate ice cream! It took me about 25 minutes to prep it but it was well worth the effort! I mixed the cocoa into the milk and heated it a little to make it easier to mix in with the chocolate. I also used 1/4 tsp coconut flavoring instead of the vanilla...and it was awesome!!! Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Deeeelish!! :O)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      If you are looking for a dutch chocolate ice cream, this is it. So intense and creamy! I did make some changes. I heated the milk( I added an extra cup) and mixed the chocolate and cocoa in. I didn't have any problems with it mixing up well. I also combined the sugar and eggs and then added that to the milk mixture and heated it to boiling. I let it cool a little before I added the heavy cream and vanilla.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I've been making this recipe for years! Absolutely love it!! I've found that if I heat the milk I can whisk the cocoa powder into it prior to adding it to the melted chocolate and it blends easier. All other chocolate ice creams just can't compare.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      This is my favorite ice cream recipe. I also pasturized the egg mixture because I have young children that like to eat the ice cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2004

      There's a lot of wisking, but it is worth it for a quality, dark chocolate ice cream. Very good and the leftovers keep nicely in the regular freezer. I departed the recipe by wisking 1/2 cup of milk into the chocolate/coco and then wisked the well wisked eggs and sugar into the chocolate. I heated this mixture to 160F (wisking constantly) to pasturize the eggs before adding the other ingredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      This had a good chocolate flavor. I added crushed mint oreos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      This was so delicious!!! I also put in chopped Reece's cups

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      Wow this was fantastic! Very intense. Make sure you whisk, whisk, whisk though to get the chocolate integrated. I used an equivalent serving of egg beaters instead of the raw eggs. Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jerry's Chocolate Ice Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (994 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2333.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1300
    55%
    Total Fat 144.5 g
    222%
    Saturated Fat 86.9 g
    434%
    Cholesterol 749.3 mg
    249%
    Sodium 433.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 258.3 g
    86%
    Dietary Fiber 18.9 g
    75%
    Sugars 201.7 g
    807%
    Protein 42.3 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites