14 Reviews

OMG...!!! This ice cream is fantastic and so easy to make! Like other reviewers, I heated the milk and added the cocoa to it before stirring it into the melted chocolate. I also tempered the eggs by heating the finished mixture to 160 degrees. We live in Costa Rica, so it's just an added safety measure. Oh, and the bar chocolate was 75 grams (56 grams = 2 oz), but I threw it all in anyways. Maybe that's why this is extra good! Thank you, Steven!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori October 10, 2011

We love this recipe! We have the book and have made all 3 kinds and this is by far the best one. Oh yeah, I end up using my immersion blender to make it smooth and I melt the chocolate and heat it with the milk in a large pyrex cup in my microwave.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed July 11, 2010

Oh...my...god! This is exactly the chocolate flavour I was wanting. So so so good. I did what Jostlori did and heated the milk a little, then mixed the cocoa into that rather than in to the melted chocolate. Then it was a breeze to whisk together. I also put just a little less cocoa then the recipe asked for but it is still perfectly rich and delicious! This recipe is definitely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rainette October 18, 2012

I made this with half-and-half instead of heavy cream, and it was still delicious. The whisking the cocoa into the chocolate and then the milk did not go well, and I was left with lumps. Next time I'll try some of the other reviewers' suggestions. And there will be a next time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hidesome January 25, 2010

Absolutely heavenly!!! WOW - I have never had better chocolate ice cream (and trust me, I've had a lot of chocolate ice cream in my day)! I used half and half instead of milk and heated it, like others suggested , as well as adding an extra cup and mixed with the chocolate and cocoa in. For the chocolate I used an imported belgian dark chocolate bar. When it was 5 minutes from being done I added crumbled up heath bar to the mix. WOW, it was so delightful I ate it all in 48 hours!!! Thanks so much for a spectacular recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee Licious June 05, 2009

This is great chocolate ice cream! It took me about 25 minutes to prep it but it was well worth the effort! I mixed the cocoa into the milk and heated it a little to make it easier to mix in with the chocolate. I also used 1/4 tsp coconut flavoring instead of the vanilla...and it was awesome!!! Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiltingqueen September 14, 2008

Deeeelish!! :O)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins August 11, 2008

If you are looking for a dutch chocolate ice cream, this is it. So intense and creamy! I did make some changes. I heated the milk( I added an extra cup) and mixed the chocolate and cocoa in. I didn't have any problems with it mixing up well. I also combined the sugar and eggs and then added that to the milk mixture and heated it to boiling. I let it cool a little before I added the heavy cream and vanilla.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AngieW July 05, 2008

I've been making this recipe for years! Absolutely love it!! I've found that if I heat the milk I can whisk the cocoa powder into it prior to adding it to the melted chocolate and it blends easier. All other chocolate ice creams just can't compare.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cuistot February 11, 2008

This is my favorite ice cream recipe. I also pasturized the egg mixture because I have young children that like to eat the ice cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzie Sue September 09, 2006
Jerry's Chocolate Ice Cream