Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jerk Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jerk Chicken

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 02, 2012

      I've never made Jerk Chicken before, so decided to try this and all I can say is WOW! My DH and a friend of ours loved it! I only used 1/2 cup of the cider vinegar as that is all I had but I followed the recipe exactly other than I marinated it for 7 hours instead of overnigh. Thanks I'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      I haven't had jerk chicken in Jamaica like some reviewers, so I'm giving the benefit of the doubt with 4 stars instead of 3. Now, don't get me wrong- this makes for a tasty chicken and I enjoyed it. But in all honesty, this tastes like it was marinated in salad dressing. Is this what Jerk chicken is supposed to taste like? There's no great spice kick like I was expecting. Definitely no heat. (Yes, I followed the recipe exactly, for once in my life). I should have read a few other recipes first. They include things like ginger, fresh garlic, and scotch bonnet peppers. That seems way more authentic to me- or perhaps jerk chicken is just, by nature, boring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      This marinade makes the chicken delicious! I use it on chicken wings and grill them up. They make a wonderful hors de voure. I make it exactly as listed, using 1 tsp of salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      This tasted very like the chicken I had in the Caribbean, a great belnd of spices. BBQing is best for crispy skin, but if you're doing lots for a party I found you can roast them in baking trays at a high heat for 30 minutes then crisp them quickly under the (British) grill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      This was okay. I found the allspice to be overpowering in the recipe. We have never had jerk chicken before so it may just not be a combination of tastes we are used to. The chicken was however very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      My friend and I enjoyed this so much! I loved the blend of spices and we both think it is well deserving of the 5 stars we gave it, and would give it more if we could! Just what I was looking for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      We really enjoyed this and will definitely be making again. I sliced two large chicken breasts and made half of the marinade. It's too cold here in Canada for me to grill right now, so I pan fried it in the marinade - delicious! Really good combo of spices and a perfect heat level for us! Thanks for the recipe, BonnieZ.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      This was really good. My teen-aged daughter ate most of the pieces. She is not a big fan of chicken but she absolutely loved this. She has already asked when I plan to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      We liked this alot. I served it with rice and a green salad. I made the entire amount, too much for the two of us, so I did freeze the remainder for a later meal. Thanks for the recipe, BonnieZ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      I fell in love with Jerk Chicken several years ago in Jamaica. This tastes exactly like the chicken they served at the resort. It is really fabulous! I left out the Cayenne, because it would be too hot for my kids. It still had the most amazing flavor. After I put the chicken on the grill, I boiled the marinade for about 10 minutes. This killed the bacteria and concentrated the flavors and I served it as a sauce alongside the chicken. FABULOUS!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      This recipe is AWESOME. The only changes I made was decreasing the amount of cayenne pepper to 1 tsp. I added lawyers and some soul seasoning. I also added 2 tbsp of mango rum that I got from the Bahamas. Super tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      I've never had it in Jamaica, and I had to make a few changes based on what was around (added clove and nutmeg and upped some other spices because of no allspice, used some jam and some lime juice because of no OJ, and used about half the cayenne since I was doing less chicken and it was boneless). Anyway, I let it marinate overnight and the chicken grilled up nicely. I boiled the excess and used it as a glaze/sauce for some cooked carrots (the sweet/spicy thing was good), and served it with polenta as a balance for the spice. I will do this again, and do better with my list-making next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      This recipe is absolutely awesome! It's without a doubt the BEST Jerk Chicken recipe I've ever found!!! Tastes exactly like the jerk chicken we had in Jamaica!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      The best, very best jerk recipe I have found. Finally, the flavors balance perfectly! Will use this again and again, Bonnie. Thnx for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      This is an outstanding marinade. It made me love chicken legs and I don't care for dark meat chicken at all! Lovely, subtle and complex flavors. One of the best jerk marinades I've ever tried. I can't wait to try it on pork chops! Made exactly as written using pre-frozen chicken legs. I put the whole thing back in the freezer 'til I was ready to cook the chicken. I baked mine as my grilling "chef" was worn out from a day of gardening. To freeze: Mix the marinade directly in the storage bag. Add chicken pieces. Double bag (to prevent spills) and freeze. To cook: Thaw overnight in refrigerator. Grill as directed or Pour chicken and marinade into 9X13 pan and bake at 350 until juices run clear.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      This was great. I marinated it for about 14 hours and the flavors really came through. I added three serrano chiles to the marinade (I couldn't find decent habaneros) and they gave it a little extra heat zing. We will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      wonderful!! Tastes just like the Jerk we ate in Jamaica!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jerk Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.9
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    59%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1598.2 mg
    66%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken pieces

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes