17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've never made Jerk Chicken before, so decided to try this and all I can say is WOW! My DH and a friend of ours loved it! I only used 1/2 cup of the cider vinegar as that is all I had but I followed the recipe exactly other than I marinated it for 7 hours instead of overnigh. Thanks I'll be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulesLB July 02, 2012

I haven't had jerk chicken in Jamaica like some reviewers, so I'm giving the benefit of the doubt with 4 stars instead of 3. Now, don't get me wrong- this makes for a tasty chicken and I enjoyed it. But in all honesty, this tastes like it was marinated in salad dressing. Is this what Jerk chicken is supposed to taste like? There's no great spice kick like I was expecting. Definitely no heat. (Yes, I followed the recipe exactly, for once in my life). I should have read a few other recipes first. They include things like ginger, fresh garlic, and scotch bonnet peppers. That seems way more authentic to me- or perhaps jerk chicken is just, by nature, boring.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CelticBrewer December 21, 2010

This marinade makes the chicken delicious! I use it on chicken wings and grill them up. They make a wonderful hors de voure. I make it exactly as listed, using 1 tsp of salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittiemom4 December 17, 2010

This tasted very like the chicken I had in the Caribbean, a great belnd of spices. BBQing is best for crispy skin, but if you're doing lots for a party I found you can roast them in baking trays at a high heat for 30 minutes then crisp them quickly under the (British) grill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
npch March 28, 2010

This was okay. I found the allspice to be overpowering in the recipe. We have never had jerk chicken before so it may just not be a combination of tastes we are used to. The chicken was however very moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Beauchamp August 31, 2009

My friend and I enjoyed this so much! I loved the blend of spices and we both think it is well deserving of the 5 stars we gave it, and would give it more if we could! Just what I was looking for!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Chef Lori~ February 13, 2009

We really enjoyed this and will definitely be making again. I sliced two large chicken breasts and made half of the marinade. It's too cold here in Canada for me to grill right now, so I pan fried it in the marinade - delicious! Really good combo of spices and a perfect heat level for us! Thanks for the recipe, BonnieZ.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Pixie* January 25, 2009

This was really good. My teen-aged daughter ate most of the pieces. She is not a big fan of chicken but she absolutely loved this. She has already asked when I plan to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
expolwom November 28, 2008

We liked this alot. I served it with rice and a green salad. I made the entire amount, too much for the two of us, so I did freeze the remainder for a later meal. Thanks for the recipe, BonnieZ

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colorado Lauralee September 24, 2008

I fell in love with Jerk Chicken several years ago in Jamaica. This tastes exactly like the chicken they served at the resort. It is really fabulous! I left out the Cayenne, because it would be too hot for my kids. It still had the most amazing flavor. After I put the chicken on the grill, I boiled the marinade for about 10 minutes. This killed the bacteria and concentrated the flavors and I served it as a sauce alongside the chicken. FABULOUS!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizP July 13, 2008
Jerk Chicken