Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jen's Low Fat High Fiber Bran Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jen's Low Fat High Fiber Bran Muffins

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2009

      Super Great! I modified a bit (I just have to with everything). I omitted the oil and Splenda and added a total of 1 cup unsweetend applesauce. I added 1 tsp of cinn and 1 tsp of vanilla and one cup of craisins. I actually added everything at once in a big bowl, after waiting for the bran to absorb the water, and mixed until well combined. I baked them for 15 mins for the big, as you stated, and 10 for the minis. Everything else I followed the recipe. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      These muffins are very good! I did make some modifications. I used all applesauce and no oil. I also substituted 1/2 cup molasses for the splenda and almond milk instead of skim milk. These would be perfect with some fresh blueberries! Also, I like BIG muffins so this recipe made 18 for me. I will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2005

      I love muffins and usually have several to choose from in the freezer. This will make a nice addition to my stash. After reading Roosie's review, I opted to add some orange zest along with dried cranberries and some finely chopped pecans. In addition, I used all applesauce instead of adding oil and some of my homemade yogurt thinned with a touch of water instead of the soured milk. I baked these at 375 degrees as well. The end result was nice dense, muffins with a hint of orange. Something I will be making again as I love bran muffins. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      Very easy to make. They taste really good just plain, but they are a real treat by adding some dried fruit. I am going to try and substitute the applesauce with pumpkin butter, for Thanksgiving morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      This is the best bran muffin I've ever eaten. My 4yr old loves them too. I followed the recipe to the letter and baked at 350. The recipe made 12 reg. size muffins and 36 mini muffins. (My 4yr old is sneaking another one while I'm write this!) Good job Jen!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

    • on July 27, 2005

      If you like bran muffins, you must give these a try. They are moist and light and kept well for a couple days in our pantry. Great substitutions to make these healthier than some bran muffins that have lots of oil. And the flavor is good and earthy. Thanks for a sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2005

      I halved the recipe to make one dozen and they were gone in a flash. I didn't use Splenda or brown sugar, but used Sucanat instead for both measures. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I baked at 375F at the suggestion of the other reviewer, which seemed to work just fine. I was really concerned as I was pouring the batter into the tins, because it was really quite thin. I decided to have faith in the recipe, though, and they baked up just fine, to my relief. Now these did come out nice and moist, but I did feel they were a little lacking in flavor. I think they would really benefit from the addition of some dried fruit or seeds or nuts or vanilla extract or maybe a different hot liquid (applejuice?) than water or some citrus zest. I love bran muffins and I think this is a really good basic low-fat recipe for them, but I do think it needs a bit more zing. Thanks for posting, Jen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      Wow! These are great. I did have to guess at the oven temp. and put them on 375. I try to only use whole grain and these were just the right thing. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jen's Low Fat High Fiber Bran Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1587 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 110.9
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    26%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 18.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 222.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites