Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jenny Gentile's Pizza Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jenny Gentile's Pizza Dough

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2002

      A wonderful Pizza dough, though I've never seen anyone who used honey in thiers but this came out very well. To spread it, I laid it out on some flour and used my hands to work it. I've also worked in a pizza place so knew how to throw it. DO not try this if you've never done it- its very messy. To get the pizza to round out try pushing it flat and then tossing it from hand to hand while spinning it slightly. We used ours to make a BBQ chicken pizza and loved it. Thanks so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2003

      This was the best pizza I have ever made!!! NO JOKE!! I tried refigerating it overnight and then letting it rise the next day. I put it outside to rise, thinking that it would rise nicely in the Arizona heat. Wrong idea. I failed to realize that something sitting in the hot Phoenix sun can get over 200 degrees. My dough ended up getting cooked instead of rising. Lesson be learned, do not let your dough rise outside in the Phoenix sun. However, I realized it was cooking with enough time to do another batch and let it rise for two hours, and trust me, the trouble was worth it. It was great, I will definitely use this recipe again and again. No more take out for me! Thanx for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      This was a great recipe. The crust taste good all by itself or with a good tomato basil sauce. the only thing i changed was i added about a tablespoon of sugar in with the yeast and water. That helped it proof better. I also needed to add a slpash more water to the dough to help it come together. It baked fantastically!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I've used this recipe about 5 times now for Stromboli and it is amazingly delicious easy to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2003

      We prefer thin crusts and I got 2 large thin crusts out of this. The crust was excellent and this is one of those good old fashioned reliable recipes. Good enough for dinner party style gourmet pizza.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      Crispy outside, light as a feather inside. I was concerned at first, because this dough is very stiff, but it turned out great. I only let it rise 2 hours...it was fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2014

      I always use the no knead process to make my pizza dough. I make it the night before, cover it with plastic wrap and let it rise in the bedroom where it is warmer. This dough is so forgiving. The next day I just let it be until I am ready to bake. The best dough should be proofed for 8 to 24 hours. The longer it proofs the better the flavor. Use more water, it will be sticky so flour your hands and utensils well when handling the dough. Forget sourdough, this is even better in my opinion. Roll it in a ball and bake it as an atisan boule. So much can be done with the recipe. Try empanadas, calzone, and foccacia. I am happy you posted this Beth. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2013

      This makes a lot of dough considering it only requires 3 cups of flour. I made one stuffed crust pizza plus one thin crust normal (unstuffed crust) pizza. Very good! I made the dough in my bread machine and then refrigerated overnight. I did have to add a little extra water to get the dough to come together in the bread machine, but that's not a problem at all. I'll make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2012

      Wonderful recipe. This is absolutely my favorite pizza dough. So easy to make and it rolls out like a dream, never sticky. I've done it once with all whole wheat flour and it was a bit chewy, which I attribute to the whole grain flour. Now I use half whole wheat and half white and I prefer it that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      I've used this recipe many times to my great satisfaction. After trying several common ones (from Joy of Cooking, etc.) and ending up with thick, un-rollable dough, I stumbled upon this one. The dough is easily rolled out with a rolling pin and quite tasty. It doesn't usually come out as thin or crispy as I would like it to be, but that might be more my fault than the recipe's. If you're looking for an easy, yummy pizza dough, this one is great :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      Deliziosa! When I posted my own recipe for Smoked Salmon, Apple, and Three-Cheese Pizza today, I recommended this as the dough to use. High honors to Nonna Gentile!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Love it! Cheap and quick. I added some of my favorite Italian seasonings and garlic powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Perfect! Not greasy or heavy. And I measured all the ingredients in order into my bread maker and set it on dough. It more than doubled it's size and I let it rise in the oven once more on the pans after I rolled it out. Thank you for a wonderful recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      great, easy ..I used 1 1/2cup whole wheat flour and the 1 1/2 cup white turned out wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      I used this dough to make two pizzas: Rosemary Chicken and Potato Pizza and Roasted Veggie Pizza With Pesto Sauce. While my dough was mixing in the bread machine it had me worried, since it was very "craggy" so I added a couple of teaspoons of water. It still was a really tight looking dough, but it did rise sufficiently and was not tough to work with. With the chicken pizza I let the dough rise again, after it was shaped in the pan. This resulted in a fluffier crust. The other one was fine, but I thought it was a tad tough or brittle, which may be what a crisp crust is (I liked the other one better). Thanks for posting Beth. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      My fiance and I made pizza together for the very first time using this recipe. I can confirm it is fantastic and very easy to make. I placed a warm towel around the base of the bowl to encourage rising.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      I have made this dough several times and found that one cup of warm water made a perfect dough. It depends on the humidity how much flour you need to add, but around 3 cups is usually perfect. I think the texture and flavor are excellent for a nice thin crust! Thanks Beth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      YES --- USE MORE WATER!!! Otherwise good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      I also had to add a little more water, but this was an excellent pizza dough. I made breadsticks with the extra dough. I brushed olive oil infused with some italian spices onto the dough before covering with sauce and toppings. I've looked for a long time for a dough that was actually toss worthy, this is it! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      I had to add an extra 1/4 cup of water to get the dough right. I let it rise one hour, punched it down and let it rise one more hour. It rolled out beautifly and made two pies. I paired it with the sauce Easy Pizza Sauce from Bonnie Scott. I heated the oven and stone to 500` and baked 8 min. Next time I'll bake 10 for a crispier bottom. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jenny Gentile's Pizza Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 261.8
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    10%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 390.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites