Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jennifer Millar's Chocolate Budini Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jennifer Millar's Chocolate Budini

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2003

      Oh, my Heaven! This is so incredible! Like chocolate souffle, chocolate pudding and flourless chocolate cake all rolled into one! Don't change anything - just follow the recipe exactly. I made it the morning of, then baked while we were eating dinner, so it was still warm when we ate it. Oh- oh- oh- if you are a chocolate lover, this is for you. Agree that coffee ice cream is delicious with it. Definite "impress your friends" dessert. It is certainly going on my list of "impress your friends" recipes...thank you! thank you, LL Bunny! Keep posting recipes - so far everything I've tried of yours is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2003

      This is a fabulous dessert and so easy. Since the chocolate is prominent I used Valrhona Le Noir Amer Bittersweet 71%. I made several hours ahead, refrigerated and baked for 30-35 minutes. The recipe makes about 4 cups of batter. I filled four 16 oz cups each about half way. The budini puffed almost to the top and fell back as it cooled. Served with coffee ice cream and toasted almonds. Sort of like an upsidedown hot fudge sundae. The recipe works perfectly as printed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2003

      This was beyond incredible! I made this two days ahead of time for a dinner party, and pulled it out about 20 minutes before baking to warm up a bit. I had made some little ganache balls and stuck them in the middles- I was worried that perhaps it was a bit much. They cooked, and rose, and fell in about 25 minutes. I put a cloud of Coldstone Creamery's sweet cream ice cream on top, followed by a nice dollop of their coffee ice cream, and sprinkled with sliced, toasted almonds. As I passed out the dishes amongst murmurings of, "Oh, I'm too full to eat more than a bite...", the noise dwindled to dead silence quickly. There were only the sound of spoons clinking and gooey, ice cream drenched sweetness being devoured. It was amazingly good, and I thought the ganache centers worked perfectly. I can't even begin to thank you enough. These were extraordinary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2003

      Very superior dessert. Quite unique although daughter has made a similar one with lemon. We used Scharffen Berger bittersweet 70% but have decided to experiment around a bit in the future.(as far as chocolate goes)I believe Trader Joes has a 70%. Forgot to buy the coffee ice cream but drizzed a little cream on top and it was super! Plan to try Mean Chef's reccomendation recipe.Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2003

      Nice and chocolatey and gooey! Made them a few hours prior to baking, then let them sit out for 20 minutes to warm up like s'kat suggested. Served them with vanilla ice cream. I realy liked the warm chocolate and the cold ice cream combination. This is definitley a "keeper" recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2004

      Frankly, I was disappointed with this recipe. After reading the gushing reviews, I was ready to have my socks knocked off; instead, it was merely a good chocolate dessert. I even made it twice, sure I had to be missing something the first time. I used Lindt chocolate for my first attempt, Callebaut the second. Both times I produced a good dessert, but nothing that would cause swooning. The second time I experimented with the reheating instructions as I had leftovers, but these did not puff up as stated. They did reheat well and were enjoyed again, though. One thing that bothered me was serving these straight from the oven in the ceramic bowls they were baked in; the bowls are very hot and there is a risk of burning your hands (I did scorch a finger, but it wasn't serious). Please use a lot of caution when serving to guests. Sorry to rain on the parade -- I was so looking forward to these and was quite frustrated with the results. On the positive side these were tasty (no denying that) and certainly easy to prepare, and I do recommend coffee ice cream as a go-with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2003

      I made this recipe for a dinner party and it was a smash. One of my guests told me I should open a Budini Cafe. I used Splenda for half of the sugar and it was great. I also splurged and got 71% cocoa choclate bars from South America. I also bought oven proof over sized capiccino cups at Pottery Barn and they made a great presentation. I used Starbucks coffee ice cream. Topped with whipped cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2003

      This tasted sooo yummy and was so easy to make as well! My guests thoroughly enjoyed :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2003

      This delicious, chocolatey delight lives up to the rave reviews. Rich and luxurious, but somehow light. Gooey and chewy, but with a hint of crunch. Remarkable! And, so easy to make! Mine were ready after 20 minutes in the oven. Allowed them to cool slightly, then topped with vanilla icecream. Next time I will have coffee-flavoured icecream. A lovely dessert and a perfect end to a meal. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      I made these in February of last year for friends, and just came back for the recipe. I can't believe I didn't rate them already! They are SOOOO yummy! If you want a super rich buttery chocolate dessert, this is the one! Like P4 said, its like souffle, pudding, and cake all rolled into one. I served it with Starbucks Coffee Ice Cream the last time I made it, and I may do the same or put it with fresh raspberry sauce and whipped cream. I'm so excited to have this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      Delicious and easy dessert that really makes an elegant end to a meal. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      This was a simple and yummy dessert, that was also fun to make. I guided my son's girlfriend (who hasn't cooked a lot) through the process and we were both impressed with the end result. I used Trader Joe's 70% cocoa chocolate and salted butter, being out of unsalted. We baked them in cereal bowls, I made 5 out of the recipe and next time I would make them even smaller as this is a very intense, sweet dessert. The outside is crispy and the center very juicy. They did unpuff very quickly as others have said but looked great coming out of the oven. I will be posting photos and the time between puffed and sunked was only about a minute or two. We served this with Starbucks Coffee Ice cream which was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      used only 1/2 of cup of sugar, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. This is a beautiful fool-proof treat. Everybody who had it was wowed by its amazing taste. The coffee ice cream took it to the next level, but if serving without... definitely, the more bitter/dark the chocolate, the better it will be

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Made these the other night and they were fantastic. Really tasty and easy. Having a dinner party next week and they have made it on to the menu!! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      This is a spectacular finish to a meal. I somehow had three little budini left last time I made it - they were still wonderful when I reheated them in the microwave (45 seconds, on high) days later. The espresso ice cream is to die for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      No where will you find a better dessert..served with coffee ice cream and everyone loved it..Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      Terrific. Served with Mean Coffee Ice cream as suggested. Loved how it puffed up really high!! Everyone loved this. Thanks for posting such a terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      Don't let the picture posted by Sackville Girl fool you, these 'pastries' collapse about 5 seconds after taking them out of the oven, so they don't look impressive. But... they taste amazing! The texture was really satisfying. I cooked them in custard dishes, and served them w/ coffee ice cream and cool whip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2004

      If you are craving chocolate, or just want to really impress people, this is what to make. Perfection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2004

      Oh my sweet Lord!!! This has to be one of the most impressive things that I have ever made. I had a dinner party last night and made these ahead of time--the prep was so easy! I popped them in the oven while we were eating...Everyone kept asking..."What is that heavenly smell?" When I took them out, even after everyone had said that they were stuffed, I could swear I saw eyes popping out of heads. It was also rather hilarious to listen to the sounds people made while we were eating them...which were all the more audible since the room was in silence (well, as silent as a Spanish room can be anyway). hehehe I served with vanilla bean ice cream, and the contrast of hot and cold, vanilla and chocolate was fabulous. The next time I make these (which will probably be next Friday lol) I will serve with the toasted almonds and coffee ice cream as others mentioned...yum!!! This is certainly an impress your guests dessert! Thank YOU LLBunny!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jennifer Millar's Chocolate Budini

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 433.3
     
    Calories from Fat 272
    62%
    Total Fat 30.2 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 18.3 g
    91%
    Cholesterol 169.0 mg
    56%
    Sodium 92.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 36.3 g
    145%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites