10 Reviews

I made this last night to go with our dinner. It is a good jello dessert that we all like very much. I used peach jello and while it isn't very colorful, the taste of great. I served this with a fresh peach slice on top. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 05, 2010

This is one of those sweets that reminds you of when you were a kid. love it! Just personally i don't like mine too lemon-y so i just cut it down to 1 larger lemon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara_j_west September 06, 2009

This turned out great for me and reminded me of being a kid again! I had to add a little more buter to the base as i don't have a food processor to get the biscuits really crumby, but apart from that it was perfect, just like my mum used to make it! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AussieMel #2 August 12, 2009

Had fun making this with my dd, its so simple and it set beautifully. Even my mum liked it and she hates jelly. I did reduce the water in the jelly layer by 50ml and when I made the middle layer I over whisked it and was left with beautiful bubbles trapped inside, Infact I will whisk it even more next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wild Thyme Flour January 18, 2009

Sorry, but this just didn't work for me. The condensed milk layer did not set. The biscuit layer had extra butter that set hard and had to be scraped out. Don't know what I did wrong and would welcome any tips to get it to set. The taste was good though it was a mess.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPARKLE9 December 30, 2008

Simple to make and devine!! I used raspberry jelly and not quite as much lemon juice as the recipe calls for. It all set up perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rainette July 24, 2008

I'm sorry to give this such a low rating, but this just didn't work out for me. Though I amy have gone wrong when I tried to use half a gelatine leaf beacause I thought we had no powdered (only to find it while I was looking for the almonds for tonights supper). None of this seemed to set up. However I am giving it 3 stars because the biscuit base was phenomenal. From now on I will be using this biscuit base for slice recipes. I won't post a photo I don't thionk because the one posted is a lot prettier than the splodge of a mess I managed to make. Happy cooking. Miss Pixie x x x :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfect Pixie October 14, 2007

This was one of my favourite recipes as a child, but I never knew how to make it. My mother didn't bake or make desserts so I longingly waited for bake sales and parties to have a taste. I made for the first time and though I will need a little bit of practice to get perfect, I'm on my way. The family love it too. Thanks Jan. Tried again and got a better result so a posted a new pic!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiro Sushi September 21, 2007

This was one of my favourite treats as a kid and this recipe recreated it perfectly as I remembered it. Good instructions too regarding letting the layers set before adding the jelly which definately needs to be allowed to thicken first or it will seep into the middle layer. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EeeGee June 23, 2006

I haven't had this since high school! I'd forgotten how great it is, not to mention how easy to make! I made a tray of it on Saturday, and by Sunday evening it was all gone. I took most of it to a bbq and everyone loved it, I'm so rapt to have a recipe for this great slice again! Thanks for posting Jan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
currybunny December 11, 2005
Jelly (Jello) Slice (Bar)