130 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome cookies. I used strawberry jello and added chopped white chocolate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jess1119 June 03, 2009

Not sure what to say about this recipe. I was excited to come across it and try it, but so very disappointed in the results...the cookies are so bland and boring. Not really anything wrong with them, it's just that they aren't anything special and I doubt if I'll make them again. I followed the recipe exactly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra June 02, 2009

These are the greatest cookies ever. I used all butter, tropical punch jello and added a package of tropical fruit punch Kool-Aid. Everyone at work wants the recipe. Rock on! -d

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-d May 28, 2009

I made these for my students' recital tomorrow. I took Chef 903399's advice and added the packet of Kool Aid and made my 1/2 cup of sugar heaping. Mine were very tart. I might even add more sugar next time. I made Cherry/Fruit Punch ones and Lemon/Lemonade ones. I rolled them in sugar and used a glass with a pretty design on the bottom to flatten them. They turned out very nice. I'm sure my piano students will like them. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Schellies May 02, 2009

I tried to make these more adult since I have no kids so... Using lemon-flavoured Jell-O, I lowered sugar to 1/3 cup, replaced vanilla with 2 teaspoons lemon juice, and added orange zest. I rolled each individual cookie (40x) into sugar before flattening them. Even with all these alterations, the flavour was still quite weak. Walnuts probably would have made a wonderful addition. Although moist and tender after baking them for 10 minutes, they were much too oily. I cannot even imagine greasing the cookie sheet. I wouldn't make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geniale Genie March 09, 2009

This should be called "Jell-O/Kool-Aid Cookies". Having read through most of the reviews before we ventured into the kitchen, I noticed a lot of complaints about the lack of tart/zing in the fruit flavor. I have a recipe for a rainbow angel food cake where you add Kool-Aid packets to the batter, and the result was always VERY tart and fruity, so I had this idea for these cookies, and highly recommend it: Add one packet of Kool-Aid to this recipe, and increase sugar by a few more tbsp's. You will then get all the fruity goodness this recipe is lacking. We decided to match up our flavors (Lime Jello=Lemon/Lime Kool-Aid) but I suppose you could come up with some flavor combinations mixing/matching. Maybe try fruit punch Kool-Aid with Margarita Jello, etc? Anyway, hope this helps - these certainly didn't last long around our fruity house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ScottBeloved December 21, 2008

My mom made these years ago. She always used an extra box of jello to sprinkle the cookies before they went into to the oven. This seemed to add just enough tart and extra flavor. You can also mix flavor or create rainbows.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evansfam9282 December 21, 2008

These were great. I made these for my daughters class and heard rave reviews. Her teacher even asked for the recipe. These cookies can have so many variations. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christinam5275 December 17, 2008

These were fantastic. I used black cherry jello and almond extract. I rolled them in a mixture of sugar and just a pinch of the same jello flavor and added a marschino cherry on top before baking. 8 min and they were heaven with a strong cherry flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pandora904 August 19, 2008

This recipe tasted like flour and jello powder mixed. Sorry, I will not be making them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nutellabliss August 10, 2008
Jello Cookies