131 Reviews

I used lemon jello and found that the vanilla extract really took away from the lemon flavor so I used lemon extract the next time and they were fab! I also rolled them in lemon sugar to give them an extra lemon kick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danibythebay March 07, 2016

A cookie scoop was helpful since the dough was so sticky. We decided to roll the balls in white sugar and put them on a greased cookie sheet. That made it so much easier. We chose cherry lemonade. Yummy! The endless color and flavor options make this recipe a serious keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonnyHavens February 21, 2015

These were tasty sugar cookies but you will be disappointed if you want a fruity taste. The first batch I made with lime Jell-O and rolled in green decorating sugar and they were a nice sugar cookie...but not lime flavored. The second batch was made with raspberry Jell-O. The dough had no fruit flavor so I added a tub of Crystal Light Raspberry Ice. Wow!! Strong fruit flavor and vibrant color... I rolled these in confectioner's sugar after they had cooled.
I will be using the Crystal Light method again.Have to check out the different flavors and colors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mammie Marshall April 08, 2012

I remember my mom making these over 30 years ago. We always scooped them out with an ice cream scoop and then pressed them with a sugared glass. My kids now enjoy them and I enjoy the new flavors of jello there are and the endless possibilities of things that you can do with the dough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeckyElliott6 March 15, 2012

I read the reviews and added a packet of lime Koolaid to the recipe, it definitely kicked it up a notch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan tridico March 15, 2012

I've been making these for years. My favorite variation:
Reduce eggs used to one
Add one 8 oz can of drained pineapple.

I have to freeze them to controll myself!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeanisim August 07, 2011

I made these for a cookie exchange at work. They were horrible. I used strawberry jello, yet they didn't taste anything like strawberries. At first, I thought they didn't taste right because of something I had done, so I made a 2nd batch. The 2nd batch was just as bad. Not sure if there is a typo somewhere in the recipe or if I just kept screwing up. I won't be trying them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chads Cook February 19, 2011

These are terrible!! I used to have a jello cookie recipe that was out of this world, but lost it and found this thinking it was the same thing. Bad mistake on my part as I made 3 batches for Christmas Gifts and they are awful and have a bitter taste. I tried three different flavors and they are all bad. I will keep looking for another recipe that is like the one I used to have. These have too much baking powder from the taste and not enough sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmcmom December 20, 2010

I made these with strawberry jello and they were absolutely awful. The idea is fun but I wish they tasted better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Schooter October 27, 2010

Ugh. I was hoping this recipe would be like one I tried several years ago, which also had JELL-O in it. But, instead, they ended up with the worst texture of cookie I have ever come across, salty, and well, now everyone in my family is calling them "poison cookies". lol.
Sorry for the bad review....I was just hoping for something much better!! These are probably the worst cookies I've ever tasted =(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizzlizzita July 31, 2010
Jello Cookies