Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jello Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jello Cookies

    Average Rating:

    129 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 129

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2002

      I really didn't know what to expect since no one really described the taste or texture of the cookies. They are like little cakey sugar drop cookies that taste fruity. I used berry jello and I rolled the walnut-size balls in powdered sugar before baking. I'm not sure why but I had to bake them for more like 15-17 minutes, not 6 - 8 like the recipe says. This would be even better if you could figure out somehow to make them a little more tart. Like lemon jello with lemon peel maybe? I'll try that next time. A yummy, soft, sweet cookie. Oh - and as everyone else mentioned, the color is nice and vibrant, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      Great cookies! I made two batches.....one in the cookie press, which worked beautifully with this dough (don't chill dough). I used cherry Jell-o. The second batch, I omitted the Jell-o and substituted 1/2 cup sugar, added 1 tsp. of vanilla, and pressed balls to about 1/4 inch thickness with a sugared flat-bottomed glass. It made great sugar cookies. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2002

      I have been making these cookies (we called them Pastilles) for over 10 years but lost the recipe last Christmas. Now I can make them again--thanks! (In fact I have some baking now!) My recipe said to roll them in granulated sugar, then put them on the baking sheet and flatten them with the bottom of a glass. (That works well!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2002

      I made these for my daughters 3rd b-day party. Everyone loved them. Because the theme was butterfly I made 2 flavors strawberry and berry. I was so excited to see that the pink and green when mixed together looked marbled and held their color without blending into a grey blob. I added some extra flour and chilled then rolled on a flour surface to make cut outs of butterfly's! Perfect and they were awsome!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2002

      i have made these for years as christmas cookies. i use a cookie press and make all kinds of shapes. my favorite flavors are strawberry banana and apricot. yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2002

      I made a batch yesterday as my contribution to the Afterschool Club at my church; and since it's a group of 7-13 years old kids, I used strawberry jello, but skipped the nuts. There is always the possibility of passing on the nut allergy; and if it's optional, I prefer not to take any chances with kids. Since I sell Watkins; and have access to a variety of extracts, I think I would substitute one of our extracts for the vanilla next time, such as strawberry instead of vanilla. I also appreciated the fact that the cookie dough mixed up so easily, instead of making sure to use my stand mixer to get all the flour mixed in properly. I am sure it will be good to vary the jellos according to what is most available, I might try even try using wild raspberry next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2001

      I made cranberry, because that's what I had and they turned out great! I sprinkled them with a bit of powdered suger. Yum. I see a sure favorite for anytime of year in this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2001

      These are truly the perfect addition to a xmas cookie tray, although I intend to make these all year long! They're very easy, tasty, and, of course, colourful. I used real butter instead of margarine, and let the dough chill in the fridge for 20 minutes before shaping into balls. Add this one to your cookbook; you'll love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2002

      Very pretty, very rich tasting little cookie. Impressive too. I found that letting the dough chill for 30 minutes to an hour helps in the shaping of these cookies. I used cherry jello & these cookies were so pretty. Also sprinkled a bit of regular sugar on the tops before flattening with a fork. I'll be making lime jello cookies to fit in with the Holiday collection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2002

      Nice change of pace. I used strawberry jello and added some strawberry preserves (approx. 2T). Turned out I had some semi-sweet chocolate morsels so I sprinkled a few on top before baking and finished off with confectioner's sugar. Nice presentation for Valentine's Day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2002

      I made these with my usual christmas cookies and they got a great review from family and friends. Were really easy to make. I used cherry and lime jello. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2002

      I just finished my first batch! Used extreme green apple flavor jello and added a few drops of green food coloring to tint them a tad bit darker green. I was able to get 35 cookies from one batch and sprinkled them with red sugar after flattening. I did increase the baking time to 10 minutes. They taste delightfully like green apples and the kids are gonna love 'em! Thanks for a really fun recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2002

      Not only are these yummy but my 6 year old daughter and I had a great time making them. I made 2 batches, one cherry and the other green apple and the green apple cookies were AWESOME! I followed the recipe exactly as it's posted and had no trouble at all with cooking time or with rolling the balls. If a 6 yr old can do it anyone can.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      These are quite easy to make and I like the intense color. I made cherry-flavored cookies and used a spoon to flatten them. They I put on green colored sugar for some contrast. I was able to get 25 cookies out of the batch but they needed to bake for 15 minutes. The reviews from the tasters were mixed. The 5 year old enjoyed the 'pink' cookies (at least that is what I think he said as he shoveled it into his mouth). Of the 4 adults, there were 2 good, 1 okay (a bit dry) and 1 no way. The common comment from the adults was that they smelled like playdough, which caused some hesitation in eating them. I will probably try them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2002

      These are great. I made them for my son to take to school and share with his class and they were a big hit. I really like how you can use the different jello flavors depending on your mood or occasion. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2002

      I was in search of something different for the kids when I found this recipe. I thought it was pretty darn good, the kids however ate one and decided they wanted oreos! Leaving me with the entire batch to eat by myself...what a shame! Hmm, next time I'll use the flavor *I* want! LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2003

      I just made these and pulled them out of the oven. These are fantastic, I did add 2 TBSP of raspberry apple jam to mine, I made raspberry jello flavored first. I also rolled them in icing sugar before I pressed them with fork. I was expecting more of a cookie texture but it is almost like a little cake. I love them, these are definate keepers. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2003

      I made these using orange jello and like others have suggested, I will substitute fruit extracts or flavoring for the vanilla next time. I rolled them in balls and didn't flatten. They were done in exactly 8 minutes. These cookies turned out 'picture perfect'! I made several different batches of cookies the same day and these were DD#1's favorite...she wanted to hide them so nobody else would get any more...lol. Thanks for sharing this recipe Mysterygirl. I can't wait to experiment with other flavors...love the versatility in colors and flavors!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2003

      These cookies are a nice change of pace from all the sweet, rich, or chocolate cookies from the holidays. They are so easy to make and cleanup is quick, and quite inexpensive to make with limitles variations. Definitely a keeper. I made mine using orange gelatin and I Can't Believe It's Not Butter. I rolled mine into large marble size balls and I had 81 cookies(about the size of a half dollar when cooked). The first half I did as directed, greased the cookie sheet and cooked for 12 min. The second half I rolled in granulated sugar before flattening with the fork,used an ungreased cookie sheet, and baked for 10 min. They were definitely better than the first half. The sugar adds to the texture. My only complaint was that the entire batch weren't orange enough tasting. I think that can be easily remedied by using orange extract instead of the vanilla next time. Also, the cookies didn't stick to the ungreased sheet, but I think I was lucky, next time I'll grease the sheet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      What a simple colorful Christmas cookie! The sugar topped cookies are soft, buttery (I used real butter),and fruity. We used strawberry jello, and were hoping for more of a strawberry flavor but were a bit dissappointed so next time we'll use strawberry extract to boost the flavor. I was able to make 50 one-inch round cookies which I rolled in granulated sugar prior to placing on cookie sheets. I did not flatten the cookie but rather left them as round balls on the cookie sheets. It about 7 minutes for the non-flattened cookies to bake. These were a lovely addition to my Christmas cookie trays!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jello Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (781 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.2
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    41%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 201.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites