12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is so good and so easy. I've also substituted 1/2 cup of Kahlua for 1/2 cup of the water. Never thought of using coffee tho. Next time it's going to be a coffee/Kahlua chocolate cake. Yum!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alisa Lea November 01, 2005

This is really easy to make and it tasted really good but it wasn't as moist as I would have thought.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
witchstorm September 04, 2012

Great cake - frosted with chocolate chips melted with cool whip - drizzled over cake. Very yummy - my husband and I nearly fought over the last piece!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Dawn May 30, 2010

This cake is divine! I am so happy I have this recipe. This was served to my Small Group a couple months ago that meets on Wednesday nights and they all really enjoyed it. My husband devoured the rest. I 'm making it again for them tonight. I would like to know if there is a version of this that utilizes yellow cake? I found the cake to be sooooo moist and just oozing with chocolate, almost like a lava cake if it had been served warm. It set up nicely although I did have to bake it maybe 20 minutes longer than the recipe stated. Will use this over and over:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MemphisMommy February 02, 2010

Molly I use the same recipe and love it. Sometimes I substitute 1 cup of orange juice for the water and apple sauce for the vegetable oil, because it makes me feel like it's healthier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 January 29, 2008

Great recipe, I used Starbucks Coffee Liqueur for half the water, YUMMO!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec March 20, 2007

What I really like about this, aside from the taste, is the ease to prepare it. It is done in no time with very little effort. Served with ice cream it made a terrific ending to a good BBQ meal. Thank you Molly 53

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo September 05, 2006

OH MY GOD....this was absolutely the best chocolate cake ever (and I don't really eat chocolate!!)....I made it last night and my boyfriend took the rest to work...everyone there LOVED it!! The only thing I did different was substitute the water for coffee, next time, I'll do half coffee, half Kahlua!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babygirl65 November 03, 2005

I made this cake for a morning I had some people over for coffee. Its a good simple cake nothing too special. I would make it again because it was very simple to make. Next time I will try coffee instead of water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AMOR DE PUGS June 04, 2014

I feel TERRIBLE writing a negative review because I know it requires a great deal of time to simply enter these recipes onto food.com. After reading the reviews on how moist the cake had come our for others, I thought I had made the cake incorrectly when it came out dry. A few weeks later I made the cake a 2nd time and had the same results - DRY cake. Maybe I did something incorrectly two times in a row but this cake was not as moist as just straight Duncan Hines out of the Box without any pudding. I do appreciate the recipes by Molly53 though - Thanks for giving us new things to try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennycooks June 03, 2014
Jello Chocolate Pudding Cake