30 Reviews

I made this with some modifications: Used a bigger pan, 15x10; and instead of two separate toppings of pudding and cool whip I followed the directions on the pudding box to make "Angel Lush". And then spead that on top of the cake. Simple and DELICIOUS!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimjam63 April 26, 2012

This was delicious! I added too much jello though which is not your fault at all just because i didn't read the directions right. It would have been better with less jello like you have posted in the recipe but it was still very very good. I used cherry jello instead of strawberry. I will be making this again but next time I will follow the directions. Thank you for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingerbear June 24, 2003

this was excellent I did not follow it completely..i sliced strawberries and bananas and layered it over the pudding then covered it with cool whip. to take it the next step I thought I could fold crushed and drained pineapple into the cool whip. here is the kicker my husband has to watch his sugar so I used sugar free jello and fat free pudding..( nobody noticed)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lou46984 May 08, 2013

I made this for our Valentines dinner (a day early) and it was a big hit. I baked the cake in heart pans, divided the jello between the two. Then I layered the pudding part in between the cakes then frosted with the Cool whip. It was delicious!!! Thank you for such a delicious dessert. We loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 14, 2011

I made the cake from scratch and poked the holes with a drinking straw. I used cherry jello and fresh cherries I picked on my farm. My family loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleNicole June 12, 2008

The pudding layer makes a jello cake even better...who knew that you could make it better!!! I have tried this with many different combos of jello and pudding and it is always a hit. My latest combo is white cake, pineapple jello and banana cream pudding! What fun!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenJellyBean February 25, 2008

This was so easy to make and very yummy! Everybody in my family loved it! I used ingredients I had on hand so I ended up with yellow cake mix, raspberry jello, vanilla pudding, and dream whip. I am sure many other variations would also be great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vickiw November 12, 2003

Oops forgot to rate your cake, I give it a hearty 5.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barnacle Princess June 07, 2003

I followed the recipe to the "T" except for I left off the garnish and it is a wonderful, light, delicious cake - so refreshing! This is definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TressS June 06, 2013

I made this for the first time a few years ago for my son's BD, but either forgot to review, or the review was lost in lalaland...anyway, my daughter's are having a BD party for me Sunday and wanted to know what kind of cake I want...it's been awhile, but I love this one, so went looking for it in my reviews, as that is where I told DD#3 she'd find the recipe, but it wasn't there...oops! It will be now, and readily available for the future. Thanks Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn July 19, 2010
Jello Cake