Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jefes Grand Granita Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jefes Grand Granita

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 01, 2008

      Delicious and easy! I already knew this would taste great because of all the rave reviews and I wasn't disappointed. However, I was sceptical about it being as simple as everyone stated and was happily surprised to see just how easy it was to throw together and then let it freeze on it's own! I used the food processor method. I will make this again as it's always hot here in the Philippines and we're always wanting icy treats to cool us down! I didn't use optional ingredients; the orange-flavored liqueur or Grand Marnier and it was still fabulous! Made for ZWT4 - Los Jefes de la Cocina!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Delicious! This light and refreshing granita tasted wonderful on this HOT, summer day. I used Cointreau for the liqueur and gala apples because that is what I had on hand. I froze it overnight and let it set out for about 15 mins. before scraping it with a fork. This was the perfect, light finish to our dinner. Thank you Los Jefes de la Cocina, for creating this wonderful recipe. *Made for ZWT4*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      This is a lazy woman's granita! I started with the syrup. I left the mint in until it cooled completely. Then I used Gala apples because they were on sale. I think if I want to skip a step, I'll use 2 cups of apple sauce next time. I used regualr OJ. I froze it overnight and "thawed" it 10 minutes before scraping with a fork. I ended up leaving it out at the beginning of dinner and it was even better to scrape. DH and I will be enjoying this for at least a week! Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT4 - Chic Chefs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      This was healthful, tasty and fun to make. I did not strain the mint and did use liquor. Next time I might up the liquor, and reduce the sugar and liquid proportionately. I had an Equadoran exotic fruit liquor that a friend had given me so I used that instead of orange liquor. I tasted the orange (I used regular orange juice), apple and mint. Can't wait to try some more when I get home tonight:D Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      Bright and fresh flavors just burst forward as I enjoyed this summery delight. I made a half batch with yielded 3 large portions and used juice rather than blood oranges. I included the liquor, which was great, though I think it masked the mint a bit. Next time more mint or less Grand Marnier. The addition of the apple pulp gives this granita a lovely body and richness that sets it a bit apart. Great job Los Jefes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      GLORIOUS! GREAT job at creating this. I decided not to strain the mint as I pureed the mix with my immersion blender right in the pot...this resulted in having an undertone of mint flavor which complimented the fruity tart flavors of the other fruits. I got the GRAND idea to add some fresh picked strawberries when pureeing it and they were the PERFECT addition! I did use 3 blood oranges and zest which only resulted in 1/4 cup of juice so I used 1 3/4 cup regular orange juice but I really think that the blood orange juice enhanced it. Anyhow I'm not sure if I taste the apples either but I'm sure they bulk it out, add nutrition and probably lend to the pleasant tartness and keep it from getting too icy. I used my new ice cream maker so mine turned out with a smoother texture. I filled the blood orange halves with it. Freddy Cat says thanks for the refreshing treat! Made for the ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      This was light and refreshing! I would love to taste more of the mint and like the others said, couldn't taste the apple, which surprised me. I did love it though and will be nibbling on this for nights to come! Thank you Los Jefes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      Yum! This was so refreshing, I thought all of the flavours really blended well together and it tasted more like an icey fruit salad to me :) Took me less 20 minutes to have it in the freezer. I left it chill overnight and used a fork to scrap the granita. Thank you LittleKiwiChook and Los Jefes de la Cocina - *Made for Zaar World Tour 4*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Stunning and fairly easy to do. The orange shines through, but could not taste the apple, mint, or Grand Mariner. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      What a nice and refreshing dessert! I love the calorie count on this one too ;). The orange was the predominant flavor, but I enjoyed the texture from the apples too. Next time, I will probably let the mint cool in the syrup before using it so that more of the mint flavor will come through. This one will cool you down and put a smile on your face and maybe even bring you a taste of Italy! Made for the ZWT 4 by a fellow Jefe de la Cocina.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      this was a very refreshing treat for 90 F weather!! but i couldnt really tastte the apple or mint... the orange taste dominated all the others..maybe i might try more mint next time, or some mint extract

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      JUST LOVE FROZEN DESSERTS, & this one is OUTSTANDING, really a cut above a lot of what I've made before! I used the food processor method as 1st suggested, & it was wonderful, & although I'm not a fan of mint, it did wonders with this great dessert! [Made & reviewed while in Italy on the Zaar World Tour 4]!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      What an amazing refreshing treat! I find this very easy to prepare, and was so easy that I had the ingredients on hand. I never knew that a granita tasted this yummy, and was so fresh tasting and healthy too! I followed this recipe exactly, making it in the morning, and by the late afternoon had this beautiful granita. It is important to cook the sugar water (simmer) and dissolve the sugar completely. I used a gala apple, because of what was on hand, and fresh orange juice. I threw this into my ice cream maker at first; for a quick freeze. Then into the freezer to crystallize. The mint goes absolutely beautifully with this, and next time I might add a fresh strawberry or two. Thanks Little KiwiChook. Made for *ZWT4* June 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Nice and zesty this is, TRUE! May I suggest paying attention to last review? Did freezer processor method as worked for me, Did I mention this is a tasty, delish recipe! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jefes Grand Granita

    Serving Size: 1 (291 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.6
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    90%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.3 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 47.7 g
    191%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes