9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I too learned this recipe from a Chinese cooking class I took at least 25 years ago. My refrigerator has never been empty of this ginge since. Use the sherry in stir fry. It adds so much flavor. Use the tip of a spoon to peel your ginger. Works like a charm.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hokie59 June 28, 2009

I'm only reviewing this without stars for now, because I know that it will not affect the rating. I have prepared this as written, but I really can't rate on how well this process works until it sits for some time. I will definately update here if it is a success. It would be great to have it fresh in the fridge and not frozen. Thank you for posting your technique. (Made for Name That Ingredient tag)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 June 03, 2013

I took a few Chinese cooking classes years ago and they taught us this method too. It really is so simple and I always have ginger on hand. We love ginger and I use it in so many dishes. Thanks Stay in the Bay. Made for Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme March 30, 2009

Bless you for posting this!!! I use ginger root all of the time and I don't always have a good piece on hand and now I will. I LOVE it!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ihvhope April 14, 2008

I have some in the fridge now. It works wonderfully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ October 21, 2006

How simple is this?! What a wonderful way to have ginger at my fingertips all the time. I usually keep it in the freezer, but my freezer tends to get a little "cluttered" at times, and then it's hard to find. I won't mind this pretty jar being UP FRONT in my fridge, and it will make me feel good every time I open the door! Great tip and pretty, too! Thanks for this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie September 27, 2006

I have been doing this for years...but in a smaller quantity. Mine is usually in a 1/4 cup plastic container, 3 - 4 inch pieces of ginger and fill it up with sherry, so that it is completely covered. I add ginger to it when needed and top the sherry up. Keeps for ever in the fridge...as long as the air does not get to it! I have used the seasoned sherry in a stir fry many times as the secret ingredient. If you are a ginger fan, I recommend using this method.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl July 29, 2006

I used to do this too, although now I tend to buy smaller "hands" of ginger, if I can. The sherry is wonderful in salad dressings, also, or to splash in any kind of stir-fry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte July 08, 2005

What a fabulous idea. I spend summers on an island, and it is difficult to get, and then to keep, fresh ginger. I'll make some today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo July 08, 2005
Jean's Preserved Root Ginger