Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jean's Preserved Root Ginger Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jean's Preserved Root Ginger

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2009

      I too learned this recipe from a Chinese cooking class I took at least 25 years ago. My refrigerator has never been empty of this ginge since. Use the sherry in stir fry. It adds so much flavor. Use the tip of a spoon to peel your ginger. Works like a charm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2013

      I'm only reviewing this without stars for now, because I know that it will not affect the rating. I have prepared this as written, but I really can't rate on how well this process works until it sits for some time. I will definately update here if it is a success. It would be great to have it fresh in the fridge and not frozen. Thank you for posting your technique. (Made for Name That Ingredient tag)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      I took a few Chinese cooking classes years ago and they taught us this method too. It really is so simple and I always have ginger on hand. We love ginger and I use it in so many dishes. Thanks Stay in the Bay. Made for Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      Bless you for posting this!!! I use ginger root all of the time and I don't always have a good piece on hand and now I will. I LOVE it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      I have some in the fridge now. It works wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      How simple is this?! What a wonderful way to have ginger at my fingertips all the time. I usually keep it in the freezer, but my freezer tends to get a little "cluttered" at times, and then it's hard to find. I won't mind this pretty jar being UP FRONT in my fridge, and it will make me feel good every time I open the door! Great tip and pretty, too! Thanks for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      I have been doing this for years...but in a smaller quantity. Mine is usually in a 1/4 cup plastic container, 3 - 4 inch pieces of ginger and fill it up with sherry, so that it is completely covered. I add ginger to it when needed and top the sherry up. Keeps for ever in the fridge...as long as the air does not get to it! I have used the seasoned sherry in a stir fry many times as the secret ingredient. If you are a ginger fan, I recommend using this method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2005

      I used to do this too, although now I tend to buy smaller "hands" of ginger, if I can. The sherry is wonderful in salad dressings, also, or to splash in any kind of stir-fry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2005

      What a fabulous idea. I spend summers on an island, and it is difficult to get, and then to keep, fresh ginger. I'll make some today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jean's Preserved Root Ginger

    Serving Size: 1 (30 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 50

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 58.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    30%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites