12 Reviews

Wow! I have tried a lot of recipes from this site but THIS is the one that my family raved about after the first bite! The original recipe as is I have no doubt would be good but I followed another review and made some additions- 3 (15 oz) cans of diced tomatoes, 1 can whole kernel corn, 1 can creamed corn, 1 can chicken, 3 cans barbecue pork, 1 can barbecue beef, 1 can limas, 1 cup ketchup, 1 T lemon juice, 1 T Worcestershire. Outstanding stew. I put it in the crockpot for four hours on low. This is the easiest stew to make and it is a lot of taste for very little work!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greatdin-din January 31, 2009

I am a southerner and this is the best brunswick stew that I have ever eaten!! The only thing that I did different was to add diced potatoes and a can of delmonte butterbeans. My family loved it!! It is amazing how the flavors meld together and taste as if they have cooked over an open fire in cast iron pots all day. Thank you so much for posting this!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammaw08 January 14, 2007

I'm a North Carolina girl and I still can not believe I bought CANNED bbq. Ewww!!! In fact, I was nervous to eat this for dinner tonight. However... I decided to be brave. And... I'M SO GLAD!!! This stuff is awesome!!! I followed Greatdin-din's review and added lima beans (you know it!) and the cans of various corn. It's a good thing the pot is still on the stove because I'm going to need another bowl. YUM!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily C October 31, 2011

This is so easy and very tasty! I added an extra can of pork and we loved it. This is probably the best brunswick stew I've ever had!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Sis January 08, 2007

I found a VERY similar recipe somewhere else and used it. The best I've ever had. What I did differently: First, sauteed a little garlic and 1 chopped onion in oil until soft. (oil works fine, but I did it in bacon fat after rendering 4 slices of chopped bacon first, and I left the bacon in). Then, added: 2 cans stewed tomatoes 2 cans creamed corn 1 can chicken (drained) 3 cans Castleberry's BBQ Pork 1 cup ketchup 1 T lemon juice 1 T worcestershire sauce It's ready once everything heats up (10 minutes?). But I let it simmer for about an hour. Made about 4-5 quarts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gigantalor January 07, 2007

The only thing I changed was adding some cooked diced potato and a can of lima beans. This smelled so good and tasted even better. It's much requested around here now!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BamaKathy April 13, 2006

i used 2 cans bbq pork and 1 can bbq beef and added a drained can of butter beans. cooked in the crock pot for 6 hours on low and loved it with the addition of the beans made it a 10 star recipe instead of a 5

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears November 30, 2005

I was sceptical at this recipe being out of cans but, it really amazed me! I am from VA and love homemade Brunswick Stew. This recipe ranks right up there with some of the best, I still can't believe it. I did add a can of diced potatoes and a small can of lima beans to mine. I added some salt and pepper to taste. Instead of cooking it on the stove, I let it sit in a crock pot on low for about 7 hrs. Wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cathyboswell November 29, 2005

My DH loved this...thanks for a quick and easy dish recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefnini May 06, 2005

I made this stew with 1 can of Rotel tomatoes to give it a little spice, 1 can of tomato sauce and 1 can of new potatoes. It is so easy and very delicious! Thank you for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleinHI March 13, 2005
Jean's Canned Brunswick Stew