Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jean's Canned Brunswick Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jean's Canned Brunswick Stew

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2011

      I'm a North Carolina girl and I still can not believe I bought CANNED bbq. Ewww!!! In fact, I was nervous to eat this for dinner tonight. However... I decided to be brave. And... I'M SO GLAD!!! This stuff is awesome!!! I followed Greatdin-din's review and added lima beans (you know it!) and the cans of various corn. It's a good thing the pot is still on the stove because I'm going to need another bowl. YUM!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      Wow! I have tried a lot of recipes from this site but THIS is the one that my family raved about after the first bite! The original recipe as is I have no doubt would be good but I followed another review and made some additions- 3 (15 oz) cans of diced tomatoes, 1 can whole kernel corn, 1 can creamed corn, 1 can chicken, 3 cans barbecue pork, 1 can barbecue beef, 1 can limas, 1 cup ketchup, 1 T lemon juice, 1 T Worcestershire. Outstanding stew. I put it in the crockpot for four hours on low. This is the easiest stew to make and it is a lot of taste for very little work!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      I am a southerner and this is the best brunswick stew that I have ever eaten!! The only thing that I did different was to add diced potatoes and a can of delmonte butterbeans. My family loved it!! It is amazing how the flavors meld together and taste as if they have cooked over an open fire in cast iron pots all day. Thank you so much for posting this!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      This is so easy and very tasty! I added an extra can of pork and we loved it. This is probably the best brunswick stew I've ever had!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      I found a VERY similar recipe somewhere else and used it. The best I've ever had. What I did differently: First, sauteed a little garlic and 1 chopped onion in oil until soft. (oil works fine, but I did it in bacon fat after rendering 4 slices of chopped bacon first, and I left the bacon in). Then, added: 2 cans stewed tomatoes 2 cans creamed corn 1 can chicken (drained) 3 cans Castleberry's BBQ Pork 1 cup ketchup 1 T lemon juice 1 T worcestershire sauce It's ready once everything heats up (10 minutes?). But I let it simmer for about an hour. Made about 4-5 quarts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2006

      The only thing I changed was adding some cooked diced potato and a can of lima beans. This smelled so good and tasted even better. It's much requested around here now!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2005

      i used 2 cans bbq pork and 1 can bbq beef and added a drained can of butter beans. cooked in the crock pot for 6 hours on low and loved it with the addition of the beans made it a 10 star recipe instead of a 5

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

      I was sceptical at this recipe being out of cans but, it really amazed me! I am from VA and love homemade Brunswick Stew. This recipe ranks right up there with some of the best, I still can't believe it. I did add a can of diced potatoes and a small can of lima beans to mine. I added some salt and pepper to taste. Instead of cooking it on the stove, I let it sit in a crock pot on low for about 7 hrs. Wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2005

      My DH loved this...thanks for a quick and easy dish recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      I made this stew with 1 can of Rotel tomatoes to give it a little spice, 1 can of tomato sauce and 1 can of new potatoes. It is so easy and very delicious! Thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2004

      Really good. Couldn't believe how fast and easy it was. Yummy!! Will make this again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      As an addition, I added potatoes, added some vegetable broth, worcestershire sauce, barbeque sauce, and garlic salt. Definitely worth it. Even my mother raved about it when she had some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jean's Canned Brunswick Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (293 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.7
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    34%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1125.0 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.8 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 14.3 g
    57%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white meat chicken

    pork

    beef

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites