Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jeanne's Teacakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jeanne's Teacakes

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 05, 2008

      These were so good. My hubby (who wishes to stay with the old tried and true) complained about me making yet another new recipe. Still , he love these and has been making a significant dent in the batch. I didn't have self rising flour either but was able to find that the substitute is 1-1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/2 tsp of salt per cup of all purpose flour. Five stars for easy and good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Geez... i love cookies but these are ridiculous! I could very well eat the whole batch! These are fantastic, not too sugary and not too cakey (i'd never heard of teacakes so wasn't sure what to expect)... these are so light and so good! I placed a few chocolate chips in half the batch - hubby'd been asking for choc chip cookies for awhile now but i wanted to try these instead :) and glad i did. Also, I too do not have self-rising flour so I looked up online to get the measurements ... there are some that say 1 tsp b.powder and 1/4 tsp salt, some that say 1.5 tsp b.powder and 1/2 tsp salt (per 1 cup of flour that is) so i opted for 1.5 tsp b.powder and 1/4 tsp salt and they turned out perfect. excellent, thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      I tried the recipe today and it was a little salty and very greasy due to the vegetable oil. I have given out a few samples and will await the results. They are easy to make I must admit, but I rather make the old fashioned recipe. I didnt have self-rising flour so I used the substitute measurements to add the baking powder and salt as directed. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      I tried this recipe on Brandess' recommendation and they were fabulous. My MIL and SIL just adored them as well. They went over well with all of the adults. I monitor the children;s sugar intake, so they did not try them, but I promise you they would have annihilated these baby's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      I made this recipe exactly as written with no deviations. These are SO good. I had a sweet tooth for 'something' and this filled the bill perfectly. It is not an overly sweet teacake like so many I have tried. The 1 cup of sugar is just perfect. The cakes have kept wonderfully for 5 days in a Glad lidded container. They are just as fresh and flavorful today as they were the day I baked them. Crunchy on the outside and sinfully moist on the inside. I made another batch today using Splenda for a diabetic neighbor and he just loved them, as did I. Thank you, Bama Jr. for a wonderfully easy and tasteful Teacake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      I took these to Church to share while we worked on our fund raiser. I should have tripled the batch as they disappeared in seconds!!! Luckily, I was able to taste one cookie. It was fabulous. Just like the ones my Grandmother made. I was thinking and praying for you Bamba as i made them also. Hugs to you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      5 stars for 5 ingredients in a recipe. It is somewhat like a sugar cookie in taste, although I can see why they're called teacakes as they don't brown up. At least mine didn't. I did not have self-rising flour and so didn't raise up quite like I had hoped. I did add 1/2 t. of baking soda thinking that would be enough. It wasn't. :-( Thanks for sharing this recipe~as it was enjoyed by this family!!! Made for Spring PAC 08'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      5 ingredients. Simple ingredients. Delicious cookie! I can't stay out of them! I was looking for a recipe to use up some self rising flour. I came across these. They mix up extremely quickly and bake up just beautifully. Kind of like a sugar cookie , but then again , not really. LOL Crispy on the outside and soft on the inside is how mine turned out. Thanks so much for posting bama jr!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jeanne's Teacakes

    Serving Size: 1 (772 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 104.0
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    55%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 11.7 mg
    3%
    Sodium 92.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites