Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jb's Classic Belgian Waffles (And Variations) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jb's Classic Belgian Waffles (And Variations)

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2002

      Thank you Bev, for such an easy recipe! Just got a Belgian waffle iron for Xmas, and the recipes that came with it were horrible! I was going to return the thing when I decided to check 'zaar for better recipes. I came across yours, and because one of your recipes is an all time favorite of mine, I figured I could not go wrong with your waffles! They came out wonderful. I made them plain this time and got 12 waffles out of the recipe. In my waffle maker (Salton) I needed slightly less than 1/3 cup batter or they were oozing out the sides. I had to play around a bit to get the perfect amount, but once I got going they turned out wonderful. They kids had them with butter and syrup AND then had them with ice cream :) I can't wait to try them with the add-ins! Thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2003

      This recipe was soooo simple. The other reviewer was correct the recipes that come with the irons are horrible and not quick. This was perfect comfort food for a cold night (it was 7 degrees when I made these!) the only thing I added was a little vanilla. Thanks for a easy and wonderful recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      We just enjoyed these for dinner and they are so good! I love that you get a beautiful crispy waffle without the pesky beating of the egg whites seperately from the other ingredients. I know that sounds lazy, but perhaps I am, just a tad. Thanks, Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      We're big waffle lovers here, and are usually satisfied with a belgian waffle mix I buy at the store. But I wasn't thrilled enough at the price to make them very often, and don't have them on hand as a rule. Enter your recipe into our lives: we'll never go back to the mix! They had a crispy outside and a rich center, and were very light but satisfying. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      "These are excellent," says 8 year old Joel. I've made these yummy waffles about a dozen times since we discovered this recipe, and they keep getting better! I've learned that step 2 is very important. I've learned just how much oil to use to grease my waffle maker: not much!!!! I've learned how dark we like our waffles (quite dark). We also use 1 1/2 tsp vanilla and reduce oil to 4 Tbsp. This recipe is a little finnicky, but it's the best I've found yet, and it grows on you as you figure out its quirks. I highly recommend it. Thanks for sharing, Jb! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      Looking for a light waffeln version we found this one.
      The fat content is much lower than in the others also the egg content is reduced. They came outside cripy and inside soft!
      The batter was perfect, not running!
      Thanks for the recipe.
      Note: my children prepared this alone with a waffeln maker from friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      I can't believe I haven't rated these yet! This is my go-to waffle recipe. It's easy and the waffles are delicious and fluffy. I usually add vanilla to the batter and let everyone add the extras at the table. We had guests and doubled the recipe one time, everyone was impressed with how simple and tasty homemade waffles could be. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      These waffles are just great. We used the blueberries and they couldn't have tasted better. The waffles were golden on the outside and tender in the middle. What more could you want? Thanks for posting this lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      We have made these several times. They are easy and delicious. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I just omitted the salt. I didn't add any addition to the batter. The waffles had a perfect texture. DH was so happy. He said : now that's a waffle LOL Cause they were crispy like he wants and moist inside. I wanted to take a photo so much but all batteries were dead :( Thanks Bev :) Made for Cookbook tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Easy and excellent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      These were great! My hubby gobbled them up quickly, I made only half a batch for my daughter (16 months), my hubby and I and it made about 4 good sized waffles. I also reduced some sugar, water, blackberries, blueberries and strawberries from my freezer to make a yummy syrupy glaze for the top along with a little whipped cream. My daughter kept saying "yum" with every bite! lol It was too cute! Thanks for the recipe- i'm sure it will be used on the coming weekend again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      These are GOOD! I increased the recipe by half and used 3 cups of milk total. I also added mini semi-sweet chocolate chips and we put whipped cream on them for a nice New Year's treat! They baked up nice and crisp and beautifully soft on the inside! I can't wait to do blackberry waffles with my frozen berries next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      This was my first time using a waffle maker and I was attracted to this recipe because of the great reviews. I was not disappointed. I followed one reviewers suggestion to use less milk and add vanilla; I also put blueberries on top. It was really yummy and my family loved the waffles. I froze the left overs to be toasted in the toaster oven on school days.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      The family wanted waffles tonight, and I was too lazy to beat egg whites - I found this recipe and it exactly fit the bill. I added some vanilla and a little extra salt as I thought the flavor needed a little pick-me-up, and I also cut the milk back to 2 cups as another reviewer said the batter was a little runny, and they were perfect. These waffles rose high and light, and yet at the same time were nice and dense and filling. Thanks so much Bev!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      I don't know if I did something wrong, but this batter was as runny as water. My husband said the flavor wasn't really any different than Krusteaz Belgian Waffle mix that we use...thank god for that because this batter was very difficult to work with in the waffle maker and just went everywhere...then not enough. It did crisp up nicely if you like crunchy waffles. I think I'll stick to the mix. Thanks for sharing though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      This recipe gets MY five stars! I just made these waffles in my new (used) Belgian Waffle Iron, and am very I agree that this is an oh so simple recipe. I am so please with how they turned out. Since my waffle iron came to me used, it did not have an instruction booklet, so I had to guess at the cooking time. It might be helpful, if you add a recommended cooking time, at the end of the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I made these waffles for breakfast the 2nd day of our Eid celebration. The family really enjoyed them. Nice and crispy. Thanks for a nice recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      These were fluffy and good. My boys loved them and told me to always cook them this way. I used choco chips and the only complaint they had was there wasn't enough choco chips in the batter. Go figure! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I made these this past weekend using my husbands brand spankin' new Beligian Waffle iron. I was originally wary of how thin the batter was but, was surprised to find that it didn't affect the finished product and due to the baking powder they rose to the perfect size. These were light and very tasty. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us....next time around I'm going to try the add ins. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jb's Classic Belgian Waffles (And Variations)

    Serving Size: 1 (1293 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.9
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    44%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 44.8 mg
    14%
    Sodium 266.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites