12 Reviews

Very good! The sauce was delicious, to us, it was like a teriyaki sauce. The next time I make this, I will cut out the butter entirely (sub with additional liquid if needed), or just use a little butter on the fish directly before spooning the sauce on top. The butter in my sauce separated out. Easy to make. Made for the Vivacious Violets for ZWT7.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Berteig June 20, 2011

Outrageously delicious!!! I used wild caught steelhead for this. I made it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. The sauce was spectacular and the fish was perfectly cooked after 5 minutes in the oven. I served it with tossed salad and jasmine rice. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT7- Pacific Islands.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY June 17, 2011

Outstanding!!! I loved the sauce as did the rest of us. I only cooked skin side of the salmon in a pan to crisp it real good, then divided the 2 tablespoons of sauce over the fillets and placed them flesh side down in the oven for just a tad longer, as I did not turn over to cook for the additional 2 min's. This is just our preference we love the crispy skin on salmon and just wanted to keep it that way. Apart from that small adjustment to suit our tastes, I made as is. The sauce is gorgeous and oh so moreish, this is a superb salmon recipe and one we will enjoy often. I served ours over stir-fried vegetables and it was great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef October 18, 2008

Excellent sauce! I didn't have any problems with the sauce running off, especially since only two tablespoons of it actually go into the oven. There was a lot of sauce left for topping the salmon after cooking, so I served this with some Asian-style noodles, which took the excess sauce well. Yum! Thanks Mary!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz October 14, 2008

This was excellent... the one and only problem was: not enough of the saucy topping stayed on top of the fish.. it mostly slipped off whilst cooking and pooled in the baking dish. What a shame because I made this rather spicy and DH loved it ... Definiately the very best bits were those with the most sauce on top... next time I will make this in an oven dish where the salmon only JUST fits into so that it can't escape down the sides of the dish. believe me it's worth keeping hold of. Also, whetever dish you use, line the bottom with baking paper, this sauce gets very sticky in the oven indeed and a little baking paper undernieth will make a huge difference to the time spent cleaning up. please see my Rating System: 4 stars with potential for 5 once I sort out how to get the most excellent sauce to stick to the fish and not mostly to the pan. Made for Zaar World Tour 2008. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 03, 2008

Tihs recipe was a delight - so simple, fast and delicious. The sauce is outstanding - the butter really binds well with all the other ingredients. I only made one fillet, so I finished it off in the pan and didn't turn the oven on. This one's a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens May 28, 2008

Wonderful! This sauce is so simple and so full of flavor and it's just perfect for the salmon. Absolutely delightful - thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. March 06, 2008

This sauce was amazing! Easy to whip up and serve not only with the salmon but great on rice as well. Thank you Mary

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PAULAJEAN October 01, 2004

This recipe is definitely a keeper. Served with sweet potato fries and dipped them into the sauce-- it was to die for!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punkrockbambi April 26, 2012

Mom and I both thought this was great, the sauce is amazingly tasty. I wanted to make this dish gluten free so I used gluten free soy sauce, and I wasn't sure about the cornstarch, but I looked it up and it is gluten free. I cooked both sides of the salmon in the pan, then spooned a bit of the sauce in the baking dish, put the skin side of the salmon on top and spooned a bit more sauce over the top. I put alot more sauce on top of the salmon after plating it and served with rice. Lovely!!! I have about a 1/2 cup of sauce left over and I am curious to try it on chicken or steak, I think it would be great on anything. Oh, and I used a tablespoon of crushed red pepper to up the heat. Made for ZWT7 - Count Dracula and His Hot Bites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 June 30, 2011
Javanese Roasted Salmon