Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jasmine Rice With Caramelized Green Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jasmine Rice With Caramelized Green Onions

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2011

      I liken this recipe to an estate sale. I was expecting Aunt Gladys's collection of jelly jars, but found Liberace's grand piano.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Wow! I have eaten a lot of rice in my lifetime and I can honestly say this is the best rice I have ever eaten! I finished over half of it in one sitting, that's how good it was. It was like an explosion of flavor: sweet, spicy and salty all combined into one. When I first mixed the rice in with the sauce it looked like there wasn't enough sauce, but since there is so much flavor you just need enough sauce to barely coat the rice. I will definitely be making this again very soon...probably as soon as I finish the leftovers from this time! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      This stuff is too good to describe rationally. I made a half batch tonight and that was my supper. Only bad thing is that I'm kicking myself for not making the whole amount. It's sweet, salty, spicy, sour, and most of all, sublime. And I used coarsely chopped cashews, coarsely chopped. That's called 'gilding the lily'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      I didn't add the peanuts to this but otherwise made the same. We loved it with our Thai Grilled Chicken!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Loved the spiciness of the rice. I had already cooked rice so just added that at the end as written. Very quick and delicious. Served with Macadamia Nut Chicken Breasts and Thai Red Curry Sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      This was my first jasmine rice experience, and it is GOOD! Beautiful Wife stole most of my serving, she liked it that much. Chop the onions smaller than it says for better blending of flavors.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      Wonderful Asian flavor! I'm probably considered a novice cook, but I had no trouble with this recipe. I didn't have rice vinegar, so I used apple cider vinegar; and I left out the sambal oelek since I didn't have that, either. It was still absolutely delicious. I look forward to making this again, this time with the intended ingredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      So flavorful! I made just 1/2 the recipe since it was just for me and I am glad there was so much leftover. I only added a few drops of the samba oelek since I am not a big fan of the heat. Will definitely be making this when DH is back from his business trip. Made for ZWT 9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      This was super delicious we love the combination of a little sweet and a little spicy, my only complaint was not having enough green onions to make as much of that part of the recipe, can't wait to try it again! Made for ZWT 9 SE Asia by one of Mike and the Appliance Killers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2013

      Delicious! Made as per recipe. Served with Grilled Chicken With Thai-Spiced Oil and a tossed salad dressed with Thai Dressing for Salad. Enjoyed during ZWT9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      I admit that I no longer buy white rice and am naughty to tag recipes that call for it. Still, I made as directed using brown basmati and this turned out fantastic. I love it! thanks, Cookgirl, for a new favorite rice. Made for Best of 2011 Cookbook tag game, as recommended by gailanng.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      Not sure why this recipe is so highly rated. It tasted pretty good but there just wasn't enough flavor, probably because there wasn't enough sauce for this quantity of rice, and overall the dish came out quite dry. I *might* try this again, doubling all the sauce ingredients. I also agree with another reviewer that it would be better to chop the green onions into smaller pieces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      Not rating this because I skipped the sambal oelek, since I didn't have it. Definitely something was missing. I liked the usual combination of flavours but family really weren't excited about it.
      Any suggestions for what to use instead of sambal oelek since we are not into spicy?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      As another reviewer this is the best rice I have ever had! Though I did not use sambal oelek like another reviewer as well. I did have to use what I had on hand but as I said it was the best so with all the proper amounts it would only be better!! I used Indian white Basmati rice instead of Jasmine, which I rinsed and soaked a bit first (will try Jasmine next time, for the first time), sea salt, to taste, unrefined extra virgin olive oil instead of peanut oil, to be peanut free, not enough green onions but will use the full amount next time, I cut them smaller, organic apple cider vinegar like another reviewer, & dry pan toasted and chopped unsalted pistachio nuts in place of cashews as that is what I had on had. We enjoyed this with South-West Marinade baked chicken thighs, and Slow-Browned Carrots With Butter. A recipe I would like to make again, and again, and again!! Made for Veggie Swap 38 ~ September ~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      My entire family enjoyed this rice, I was somewhat surprised the children weren't picking out bits of onion or nuts...I think the sweet flavour really won them over. Glad I tried this, for a little extra effort you get a really memorable side dish, I'd gladly serve it to company or take to a potluck. I made as written except with brown jasmine rice - perfect! Thanks for another keeper Cookgirl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      What delicious rice! I used brown rice, just a pinch of salt, and whole cashews. I also caramelized the green onions first by themselves, and then only added 1/4 teaspoon of the sugar (personal preference) later. DH was raving over this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      So much more interesting than the plain steamed rice that I seem to (over)use with Asian dishes. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      This rice came out very good. I didn't have peanut oil, so I used sesame oil. I also used cashews. Very easy to make as well. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      I made this recipe almost as it said, although I think I should have used more onions. Great taste, even my 6-year-old daughter liked it. Very healthy and life sustaining. Don't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jasmine Rice With Caramelized Green Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (965 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 322.9
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    39%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 428.9 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sambal oelek

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes