Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Japanese White Sauce-Sakura Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese White Sauce-Sakura Sauce

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2012

      I rarely eat Japanese food or in Japanese restaurants and I'm limited mostly to California rolls. This was good with lightly boiled edamame. For fun, I replaced standard paprika with Spanish smoked paprika. Don't limit this to just Asian fare either. Black sesame seeds were garnished on top for color. Reviewed for Help a Naked Recipe tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      This sauce is awesome!! Just like what we get at the Japanese Restaurants. I didn't have Hellman's mayonnaise. I used Duke's and it was still great. Didn't read the notation to refrigerate overnight until it was too late for me to let it sit overnight! It sat about 4 or 5 hours. I served it with grilled chicken breast and Japanese Fried Rice (recipe 71472) at work for dinner. Thought my co-workers would eat themselves to death!! Will definitely make this again! Thanks for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      This recipe is wonderful. It's just what my TC was craving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      This is just utterly fantastic. Perfect replica, sans one suggestion I can make. If you check your local Asian (or just international) market, you will find a Japanese mayo called Kewpie. It has a different flavor because of the sole use of egg yolks and the mix of vinegars they have available in the region. I wouldn't say it makes it better (I prefer it because of my extensive consumption of other foods they top with it, like takoyaki!) but it certainly will get you closer to the unique flavor at your Japanese restaurants! It is widely and easily available and near the same price.

      Though this is just anecdote, I have double-checked this fact with two sushi restaurants (Utage and Shokitini in Athens, GA) as well as a ramen-ya (Umaido's in Suwanee, GA). It may not apply to your local shops, so try the Hellman's as well if it doesn't give you the desired effect!

      Hope this helps you Sakura sauce otakus!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      I really like this recipe, it's very simple and it is extremely similar to that pink sauce they serve at Japanese restaurants. However, the amount of water this recipe calls for is not enough in my opinion. When I made it with the amount of water this recipe called for, it was EXTREMELY thick. What they serve in restaurants is a lot thinner. I had to add a lot more water to get the right consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      I'm sorry, but this recipe does not taste anything like the white sauce I get at any of the Japanese restaurants in my area.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      I love this sauce!!! not more than my husband though!!! I'm with ashlie, he wud drink it if he cud... lol ... definitely the sakura sauce from the japanese hibachi restaurants. :) ... thnks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Absolutely the same as the Japanese restaurants! Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      this is PERFECTION! My husband is OBSESSED with this stuff...he could drink it (but doesn't...thank goodness!). This is exactly like what we get when we go to the japanese restaurant by our house. I've bought "shrimp sauce" at the grocery store, but it was nothing like what we were served in the restaurant. THANKS a ton for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      This turned out really well. I used Kraft's olive oil mayo (my favorite) and MMMM! It took a lot of willpower to not eat the sauce by itself. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This is perfect. It took me years to perfect this sauce. japanese-steakhouse-white-sauce dot com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

    • on April 16, 2008

    • on March 11, 2008

      This is the exact recipe of the white sauce at our local Japanese steak house. We made a batch of it at work and used it on fried rice, cabbage stir fry and shrimp. It was sooooo good. I think I could put it on everything! Thanks for posting!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      This is as close as i have ever came to the real thing! When i made it it was just so-so however,after a night in the fridge it transforms into an excellent Sakura sauce. I had some left over so I added a couple ounces of gorgonzola cheese and used it as a dipping sauce for sweet potato fries. It was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese White Sauce-Sakura Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 318.8
     
    Calories from Fat 246
    77%
    Total Fat 27.4 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 26.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 558.9 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites