15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I rarely eat Japanese food or in Japanese restaurants and I'm limited mostly to California rolls. This was good with lightly boiled edamame. For fun, I replaced standard paprika with Spanish smoked paprika. Don't limit this to just Asian fare either. Black sesame seeds were garnished on top for color. Reviewed for Help a Naked Recipe tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRL September 19, 2012

This sauce is awesome!! Just like what we get at the Japanese Restaurants. I didn't have Hellman's mayonnaise. I used Duke's and it was still great. Didn't read the notation to refrigerate overnight until it was too late for me to let it sit overnight! It sat about 4 or 5 hours. I served it with grilled chicken breast and Japanese Fried Rice (recipe 71472) at work for dinner. Thought my co-workers would eat themselves to death!! Will definitely make this again! Thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemama305 July 23, 2011

This recipe is wonderful. It's just what my TC was craving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
siajohnson September 04, 2013

This is just utterly fantastic. Perfect replica, sans one suggestion I can make. If you check your local Asian (or just international) market, you will find a Japanese mayo called Kewpie. It has a different flavor because of the sole use of egg yolks and the mix of vinegars they have available in the region. I wouldn't say it makes it better (I prefer it because of my extensive consumption of other foods they top with it, like takoyaki!) but it certainly will get you closer to the unique flavor at your Japanese restaurants! It is widely and easily available and near the same price.

Though this is just anecdote, I have double-checked this fact with two sushi restaurants (Utage and Shokitini in Athens, GA) as well as a ramen-ya (Umaido's in Suwanee, GA). It may not apply to your local shops, so try the Hellman's as well if it doesn't give you the desired effect!

Hope this helps you Sakura sauce otakus!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ksamim February 12, 2012

I really like this recipe, it's very simple and it is extremely similar to that pink sauce they serve at Japanese restaurants. However, the amount of water this recipe calls for is not enough in my opinion. When I made it with the amount of water this recipe called for, it was EXTREMELY thick. What they serve in restaurants is a lot thinner. I had to add a lot more water to get the right consistency.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angel Coffey August 08, 2011

I'm sorry, but this recipe does not taste anything like the white sauce I get at any of the Japanese restaurants in my area.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gottabgood June 19, 2011

I love this sauce!!! not more than my husband though!!! I'm with ashlie, he wud drink it if he cud... lol ... definitely the sakura sauce from the japanese hibachi restaurants. :) ... thnks for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Randella August 29, 2010

Absolutely the same as the Japanese restaurants! Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynbad0214 June 09, 2010

this is PERFECTION! My husband is OBSESSED with this stuff...he could drink it (but doesn't...thank goodness!). This is exactly like what we get when we go to the japanese restaurant by our house. I've bought "shrimp sauce" at the grocery store, but it was nothing like what we were served in the restaurant. THANKS a ton for such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashlie <3 April 27, 2009

This turned out really well. I used Kraft's olive oil mayo (my favorite) and MMMM! It took a lot of willpower to not eat the sauce by itself. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siava February 12, 2009
Japanese White Sauce-Sakura Sauce