Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Japanese Tsume and Tare - Nitsume or Thick, Sweet Eel Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese Tsume and Tare - Nitsume or Thick, Sweet Eel Sauce

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2009

      Once I found my way around the Asian Market and picked up my stuff I was excited to make this sauce, as I love it so much when I go out to eat and have sushi. This is delicious and just as good as in the restaurants! Make sure you don't cook it too long or it will become caramelized and thick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      We made sushi for the first time and I made up this delicious sauce to use on our Eel rolls. It was just like at the restaurant. I love the sweet taste of this sauce on my rolls and it couldn't have been better! We plan to practice using this sauce on other sushi rolls real soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      Paired well with a spicy, honey mayonnaise I made for a spicy tuna roll!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      I love Eel sauce and never in my wildest dreams did I think I would ever be able to make my own. I was totally thrilled to have found this recipe! I went to the Asian market here and got all the ingredients I needed and the end result was well worth the effort. This sauce really adds to the taste of the sushi and I loved the sweetness so much, and it really offset the taste of the fish so nicely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      This sauce was pretty easy to put together after finding the ingredients at my local Asian market. The sauce thickened up nicely. Make sure you don't cook it too much or it will start to firm up and do more than carmelize. We pulled ours off just in time! Excellent recipes Linda. We enjoyed it so much atop our many sushi rolls that my friend and I made using your tutorials How to Make and Roll Sushi and Types of Sushi Rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      I made this sauce and have used it several times now. It is just like the Eel Sauce you get on many of your rolls when you go to a restaurant. It's not difficult to make and it is well worth the effort and is cheaper to make than buy. Loved it on my tempura rolls!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      What an experience I had making sushi over the weekend. I used Linda's tutorial on How To Make Sushi and also her recipe for Types Of Sushi, and they were both so informative and helped make my sushi experience awesome! We made this sauce to go along with our Eel and Philadelphia rolls. It was AWESOME! It makes quite a bit, so you will have some on hand when you feel like having sushi. This was as good if not better than the Eel Sauce I have gotten on my sushi in the restaurants. Now I can make it at home in no time and enjoy it in the privacy of my own home. Thanks Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      I made the sauce to go with my sushi. It came out really good. When I smelled the dashi cooking, I wasn't so sure I was going to like the end result (smells like foul fish) but mixed with the other ingredients in this recipe it came out really good, and tasted just like the Eel Sauce I have had so many times in restaurants. I also made Linda's recipe for "Spicy Mayonnaise Sauce" and that was excellent too! Never knew sushi making could be so easy. Thanks for sharing this one with us Linda'sBK

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese Tsume and Tare - Nitsume or Thick, Sweet Eel Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (294 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 319.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    41%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7913.3 mg
    329%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.0 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 53.9 g
    215%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dashi

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites