8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy! I used ketchup instead of tomato paste(I usually open a can of paste and half of it goes bad, so I sub this alot for small portions, it works well). Great dressing! Thanks! Made for 123 Hit Wonders tag game.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 July 01, 2009

Finally... Finally someone comes to my rescue and posts this recipe! I drive 20 miles just to pick up this dressing from a Japanese restaurant because it is soooo good. I never could figure out how they were making it or find a recipe until now. Now I will tweek it slightly to match the version from the place we get it from but as is this recipe is superb and worthy of 5 stars at least! I made it exactly as written and can't stop sneaking spoonfulls because it's just that good! To all reading this please try it. It's a unique, very good tasting and you'll end up eating salads just to get at the dressing! TxGriffLover, you wouldn't believe when I saw the recipe title and your description I screamed to my husband "that's it, that's it!" Many thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seashorewalker January 13, 2009

I made this as written and thought it was good, but had a bit too much tomato for my taste. I added approximately 2 Tbsp of rice vinegar and 2 tsp of sugar (I know... bad, bad, bad...) which brought it closer to my expectations. Excellent combination of flavors and spices and 'spot on' for the flavor I was looking for!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmarie1962 July 26, 2013

Like a few others noted, it came out light red more than orange, but the flavor is spot on! This is going to be a new family favorite for the homemade dressings I make. Thank you so so much for posting this. Will be making again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyrose403 April 27, 2013

Great stuff! Had it out to dinner last night and just had to make it for tonight. Be sure and use the rice wine vinegar. It makes all the difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ivy Food Sleuth August 13, 2010

TxGriffLover, This is IT! The one! Just like all the japanese restaurants around here...which I enjoy! This was very easy to make; I used my 'boat motor' - hand blender, and I reduced the recipe by half. Into the fridge it went, and VOILA! The salad was perfectly dressed. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl July 19, 2009

I have not tried the original, but if it is anything like this recipe I will at the first opportunity! My dressing was a light red, but my measurements may have been off in reducing the amounts to prepare a half batch. It tasted outstanding & I will definitely be making this again. My family described as as "asian flavored french dressing" and gobbled it up. We ended up using the rest with raw veggies as a dip. Discovered during Spring '09 Pick A Chef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D April 30, 2009

I made a salad to go along with your recipe for Fried Rice. This dressing is great and easy to make. I didn't change anything, it's great as is. Linda Made for Pick-a-Chef Spring 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nurslinda April 23, 2009
Japanese Take-Out Ginger Salad Dressing