Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Japanese-Style Sesame Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese-Style Sesame Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2012

      Very good. I used extra-virgin olive oil and added some sesame oil to enhance the sesame flavor. It was to our desired tenderness after 5 minutes. Threw in some minced garlic because we love garlic! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      The fresh beans cooked in 5 minutes, adding the sesame seeds the last 1 minute of stir frying to lightly brown. A small amount of toasted sesame oil added some flavor depth. Was a delicious accompaniment to Crab Cakes (Can Be OAMC) especially the extra sauce drizzled over plain brown rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      These fresh, Japanese style beans went down very well this morning (yes, for breakfast!). I really enjoy crunchy fresh beans so didn't over cook them. The soy sauce adds a nice touch but I adore the flavor of sesame oil in Asian cooking. Made for ZWT6 - Countries of Asia challenge (Japan). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      This was a good recipe, but a little plain for a 5 star. I had higher hopes for this recipe, sorry.:( I really did like the brown/crisp beans (I used a combo of waxed and green). Thought it could use some garlic, or some kind of additional seasoning. I really love sesame oil, but it just needed something extra. Also made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      This made a great side dish for a rich entree. I made enough for two and used frozen french cut green beans in place of the fresh as these were a last minute inclusion to our meal. A nice change from plain beans. Thanks for sharing Charlotte! Made by an Unruly under the Influence for ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      These are delicious! A fast and flavorful accompaniment to just about anything! Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      We really liked these beans. Very tasty. Made for ZWT6 Voracious Vagabonds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Simple and tasty green bean recipe! I just love the flavor toasted sesame seeds add to vegetables. Used the low-sodium soy sauce. Made for a Seasoned Sailor and his Sassy Sirens, ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

    • on July 06, 2008

      LOVED these green beans! I've been trying to find a recipe that is similar to the green beans they serve in one of my favorite restaurants and THIS is the one! They are wonderful I used black sesame seeds and some fresh ginger, and cooked over a medium high heat for a few minutes and then covered and let them cook about 2 more minutes. They were perfectly crunchy and highly seasoned! ZWT4 family picks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Great side! I really like the addition of the sesame seeds. Little crunch along with the green beans that were al dente- just like I like them. Great flavor in little time. Thanks! Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      We liked the soy and sesame blend... I liked it better than DH, but he likes things sweeter as a rule so personal preference is everything. This is healthy and fast and I like the extra texture that the sesame seeds give.. perfect for our asian menu and the fish I made to go with this. our dinner guest also gave this the thumbs up. Please see my Rating System: 4 lovely stars for a quick, tasty and healthy side dish of beans. Made for Zaar World Tour 2008. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      These green beans were good. I found them to be a bit bland so I added more salt and pepper. The soy sauce and the sesame oil really give them a great flavor that is a nice change from the same ole' green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      These are so easy to make and so good. They have a nice flavor and give green beans a lift. Plus they look so good! Will definitely make again. Thanks Made for ZWT 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      This is delicious. I have made something similar for years using blanched green beans. I think I like the crisp tender crunch of these better. Also, toasting the sesame seeds adds a whole other dimension--don't skip that step. This is a quick and easy side dish that is tasty enough for company. Made and reviewed for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      This is great for green beans fresh from the garden! It's also great for beans from the grocer's. I usually blanch the green beans in boiling water first and place them in an ice bath to stop the cooking. Then I freeze them in individual serving "baggies". Then when I want green beans I defrost the beans, toast the sesame seeds, mix the sauce and cook the beans. Even my boys, who are totally against veggies of any kind love these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      Next time I will cook the green beans in water first. Cause I found them too crispy. And I will add more sesame oil and reduce the canola oil. I couldn't taste a lot the sasame oil like I wanted. Thanks Charlotte :) Made for 123 hit wonders

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      As I thought I would, I loved these beans. Hey Jude is right--the browned parts are delish. This was a really easy dish to prepare. I did find that I needed to add a little extra soy sauce for flavor, and I cut back a bit on the sesame seeds by personal preference. Thanks for a delicious new way to prepare green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      I was lucky enough to find some good quality fresh green beans (one of my favorite vegetables) and made this as a side dish to a shrimp dish we had for dinner last night. This is really easy to prepare while also working on a main dish and we loved it! I especially love the beans that have the slightly browned spots! Another great thing is that these beans can be served hot or room temperature. These would be great with grilled Japanese-style food. We loved them! Thanks Charlotte! Made for the March 2008 Australia/New Zealand Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      A delicious and quick fix for fresh green beans. The seasame seeds were toasted in the skillet first and set aside until the beans were done. I did use less sesame seeds that the recipe called for, more as a garnish. The cooking method produces a tender crisp vegetable with a deep dark green color. A true keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese-Style Sesame Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.7
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    62%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 258.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes