Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Japanese Style Curry Udon Noodles (Karei Udon) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese Style Curry Udon Noodles (Karei Udon)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 19, 2010

      Tastes just like the soup I buy at my favourite Japanese restaurant! I did however make it in a much smaller portion, skipped the syrup and used about half the required stock. It makes it thicker and the flavours stronger. Add veggies and life is perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      This recipe was amazing! I cut the oil and stock, used brown rice udon and added steamed cauliflower and toasted sesame.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      While the taste is pretty good, I would have preferred the sauce thicker and with rice..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2011

      I appreciate this recipe because it gives me something to build upon. I really enjoyed the noodles and the consistency of the sauce. In other words, the sauce is a good base...but it needs a little more flavor. I'll definitely use this again and just add in some spices to suite our tastes. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Im sorry but this recipe was bad. It was way too bland, no flavor to it at all. In the end I had to mess around and add in some spice, and a few other things that made it turn out pretty good. But just following the recipe directly the curry noodles can't compare to curry noodles that I have eaten from Japanese food places.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      Tish- this was faantastic. It was just bursting with flavor. It is not only going in my Faves and Raves book but DH wants this one in his own special faves book. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      This recipe was okay. After reading the last review, I was expecting this to taste a lot like Glico curry, etc, but I found it rather bland. I messed with the spices and syrup amounts a lot to get it palatable, but I still didn't really care for it - but I'm also really picky, so who knows?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      I absolutely loved this! I found it very similar to the Japanese curry blocks you can get for cooking vegetables in. It was good with the udon but would also go well with rice. I added some grilled portabello to my sauce just before serving and it really added to the taste. The only problem I found is that despite vigourous whisking when adding the stock I still had lumps in my sauce although it didn't detract from the flavour at all, When I make this again I might give it a whizz to combine it or add the stock slowly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese Style Curry Udon Noodles (Karei Udon)

    Serving Size: 1 (124 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.4
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    30%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2057.6 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.1 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes