30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow this was great! A lot better than we've had at an Japanese restaurant. Thank you so much :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddy's Mommy April 12, 2009

I LOVE YOU, I LOVE YOU, I LOVE YOU!!!! My parents love this dressing, and it turned out just like it if not better, because it was not a runny as the resturants dressing, and now every time we go there, they say that mine, (even though they see me making it from this sheet) is sooooo much better, so thanks for finding or making up this recipe! We all LOVE it!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rainy_thornton October 21, 2008

When I asked some friends who were coming to dinner what they'd particularly like, they enthusiastically voted for Japanese. What they didn't know was that I don't do Japanese because soy sauce and ginger are two things that just don't appeal to my tastebuds much, and they're ubiquitous. But, hating to disappoint, I took a stab at it. In fairness, I planned to rate this recipe on their reaction rather than mine. Well, surprisingly, I even liked it pretty well, but they absolutely raved! Said it was a ringer for the dressing at their favorite restaurant and demanded the recipe. The next day, I ate the leftovers for lunch, and OMG! The slightly bitter taste I detect in most Japanese dishes was completely gone, and the dressing was fabulous. So you've earned 5 stars even from this skeptic!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton April 10, 2008

I was a skeptic...didn't look dead on and when I tasted it with a spoon it seemed close, but not the exact same. I should have held my judgement until I tried it on that nice, cold iceberg salad. Delish and exactly like what they serve at our Japanese Hibachi steakhouse. DH and I are thrilled to be able to make this simple dressing whenever we want. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend March 17, 2008

Delicious (vegan!) salad dressing. Very easy to prepare. I love the bold spicy flavor of the onions, garlic and ginger (I used 3 whole cloves of garlic, because I love the stuff)... but if you prefer a milder flavor you may want to tone it down a bit.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HollyandtheIvy November 13, 2007

I joined Food.com so I could rate this recipe. If I could give it more than 5 stars...I would! Recently joined a farm coop and buy fresh veggies weekly. Have made this recipe twice now to RAVE reviews. I am a ginger freak and this hits the spot. I DO add a bit more ginger and it seems to get stronger as it stores in the frig. The only criticism I have is - the serving size stated seems large. I only use a couple of tablespoons per salad and it tastes great. It lasts longer too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k8ty March 18, 2011

Delicious!! I used to buy a ginger dressing at the store, but they don't seem to carry it anymore so I decided to try to make my own. This was fantastic. Definitely better than what I bought at the store and I even think it may be better than what I've had in restaurants. I didn't measure out the ginger or the garlic -- just threw in a big chunk of ginger and one huge clove of garlic -- but it worked out well!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegeTara February 23, 2011

So good!!! This is exactly like the dressing I crave from my favorite Japanese restaurant!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
osbornsc January 19, 2011

This was absolutely terrible...the vinegar was way too strong. This is not at all what I was looking for.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CathyJI September 30, 2010

This is an outstanding recipe I have stage four kidney failure and this one of the foods that I can use in my restricted diet thanks and keep the good work

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dsullivan001 February 21, 2010
Japanese Steakhouse Ginger Salad Dressing CopyCat Shogun Steak