Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Japanese Steakhouse Ginger Salad Dressing CopyCat Shogun Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese Steakhouse Ginger Salad Dressing CopyCat Shogun Steak

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2009

      Wow this was great! A lot better than we've had at an Japanese restaurant. Thank you so much :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      I LOVE YOU, I LOVE YOU, I LOVE YOU!!!! My parents love this dressing, and it turned out just like it if not better, because it was not a runny as the resturants dressing, and now every time we go there, they say that mine, (even though they see me making it from this sheet) is sooooo much better, so thanks for finding or making up this recipe! We all LOVE it!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      When I asked some friends who were coming to dinner what they'd particularly like, they enthusiastically voted for Japanese. What they didn't know was that I don't do Japanese because soy sauce and ginger are two things that just don't appeal to my tastebuds much, and they're ubiquitous. But, hating to disappoint, I took a stab at it. In fairness, I planned to rate this recipe on their reaction rather than mine. Well, surprisingly, I even liked it pretty well, but they absolutely raved! Said it was a ringer for the dressing at their favorite restaurant and demanded the recipe. The next day, I ate the leftovers for lunch, and OMG! The slightly bitter taste I detect in most Japanese dishes was completely gone, and the dressing was fabulous. So you've earned 5 stars even from this skeptic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I was a skeptic...didn't look dead on and when I tasted it with a spoon it seemed close, but not the exact same. I should have held my judgement until I tried it on that nice, cold iceberg salad. Delish and exactly like what they serve at our Japanese Hibachi steakhouse. DH and I are thrilled to be able to make this simple dressing whenever we want. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      Delicious (vegan!) salad dressing. Very easy to prepare. I love the bold spicy flavor of the onions, garlic and ginger (I used 3 whole cloves of garlic, because I love the stuff)... but if you prefer a milder flavor you may want to tone it down a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      I joined Food.com so I could rate this recipe. If I could give it more than 5 stars...I would! Recently joined a farm coop and buy fresh veggies weekly. Have made this recipe twice now to RAVE reviews. I am a ginger freak and this hits the spot. I DO add a bit more ginger and it seems to get stronger as it stores in the frig. The only criticism I have is - the serving size stated seems large. I only use a couple of tablespoons per salad and it tastes great. It lasts longer too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      Delicious!! I used to buy a ginger dressing at the store, but they don't seem to carry it anymore so I decided to try to make my own. This was fantastic. Definitely better than what I bought at the store and I even think it may be better than what I've had in restaurants. I didn't measure out the ginger or the garlic -- just threw in a big chunk of ginger and one huge clove of garlic -- but it worked out well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      So good!!! This is exactly like the dressing I crave from my favorite Japanese restaurant!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      This was absolutely terrible...the vinegar was way too strong. This is not at all what I was looking for.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      This is an outstanding recipe I have stage four kidney failure and this one of the foods that I can use in my restricted diet thanks and keep the good work

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This is a GREAT salad dressing!!! It is better than the one at our favorite Japanese restaurant. We love it!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      If I could give it no stars I would. I dont know if I made it wrong or what but it smelled as bad as it tasted. I found another recipe that was exactly what I wanted. I have posted it on here.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      This dressing is absolutely fantastic. I made it the night before and let it blend together in the fridge overnight. Used it on shredded Ice-Burg lettuce with green onions and cucumbers..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      awesome

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This is just like the restaurant and tastes FANTASTIC! It is so easy to make also!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      great dressing! love the ginger and so easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      Just like the resaurants! I've made this several times and it never lasts very long around here. Also, it's so easy to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      This dressing is great - I used minced ginger from a jar and it was still excellent. You do not need a lot of dressing on your salad as the flavor is pretty stong. Will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      I followed the recipe as written but found making a couple of additions were needed. Like other reviews, I doubled the garlic, added 1 heaping teaspoon of pickled ginger (like you get with sushi) available at Asian markets, 1/2 teaspoon smoked sesame oil. The fluidity of the dressing was a problem because it would not stick to the salad greens and would soak the crunchy Chinese noodles I like to add so I added 1/8 teaspoon of xanthan gum and let it sit for a hour. I was very happy with the final results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese Steakhouse Ginger Salad Dressing CopyCat Shogun Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (354 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 617.4
     
    Calories from Fat 557
    90%
    Total Fat 61.9 g
    95%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1631.8 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 11.3 g
    45%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites