Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Japanese Mum's Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese Mum's Chicken

    Average Rating:

    930 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 930

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2014

      Excellent recipie and very easy to put together. I agree with earlier posters that browning the chicken first gives it some better color and texture. I also took the chicken out of the mix for about 10 minutes in the middle of the process to keep it from getting overcooked and dry. Mum dun good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      Like very much, but would add some steamed broccoli or other veggie right at end. Served over basmati. Used 1/2 jalapeno & some red pepper flakes b/c I didn't know what kind of hot chili pepper to use. Took about 15-20 minutes for the sauce to reduce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      Not being the greatest of cooks and having a busted oven, I was looking for different dishes I could do on the hob or in the slow cooker. I came across this and wow was I impressed. Tastes amazing and was simple enough for me to not mess up. Has now become a favorite dish. Thank you for posting it and helping me out in a time of need. Will be raving about this to friends and family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      I used wings. Wonderful flavor! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      Easy to prepare and tastes awesome! I doubled the recipe to feed 8, had some leftovers but they didn't last very long. I used leg quarters separated and Splenda Blend Brown Sugar in place of sugar. Dh, kids and grands loved this! Definitely will make this again. Served with Sesame Noodles Sesame Noodles and Garden Peas. My 5 yo grandson ate 4 pieces and wanted more! Still haven't figured out where he put it...lol. Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      was scared to try this because i have never eaten chicken with boiled skin. sounded gross... but loved this. couldn't get myself to do a full half cup of vinegar (only used 1/4 cup). used a teaspoon of crushed red peppers instead of the chili pepper. and i used thighs (cooked for 40 minutes instead of 20). i used sesame seeds on top as another commenter suggested, and wished i hadn't. they kinda ruined the taste, but without them it was awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      I am a beginner as far as cooking goes. I made the recipe exactly as the recipe called for and it was a keeper. I recommend it for cooks of all levels. If you are a beginner like I am don't shy away from this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2013

      Delicious? just made it for dinner and it came out wonderful. Since I had fresh ginger on hand I added a thumb size to glaze whilst cooking? it was fabulous! ..Also served with jasmine rice and sliced green onion on top when serving. Very easy to make .. family thoroughly enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2013

      This made a good dinner for us tonight. Some of us loved it and some thought that maybe there was a little too much vinegar. Made for Name that Ingredient!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      took me a lot longer than it said it would. But then, that could just be me. But it was really delicious! Next time I will try the crock pot though. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      I made this tonight on a whim because I had some organic boneless and skinless chicken thighs to use up. I was pleasantly surprised at how delicious it was! As I mentioned I used thighs instead if drums and I also omitted the chilli. The kids loved it. My son (6) said he wanted to marry it, and my daughter (9) asked if we could have it for Xmas lunch! We will definitely be making this part of our regular meal plan. Yum yum yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      I loved how easy this was to make! I used 2 tsp of jarred jalapeno peppers and garnished with toasted sesame seeds and chopped scallions. My kids want me to try it with boneless breasts next time. Thanks for posting this. I had wanted to try it for some time now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      What a great recipe! I am always looking for recipes that I can make on a weeknight. This one was perfect. I loved how easy, inexpensive, and delicious it was. I added some sliced green onions as shown in the picture. It was amazing. I will be adding it into my regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      Love, love, love this recipe, i have made this ALOT of times, i usually double the sauce, add more garlic cloves, use skinless boneless thighs, add cubed bell pepper, and crushed chilies if i want it more spicy ssooo good, my whole family loves it and super easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2013

      This is as good as everyone says.<br/>I didn't have balsamic vinegar so I substituted a balsamic vinegarette salad dressing. If you do this I would add another T. of sugar.<br/> My guess is if I had used the right balsamic it would be a different dish and even better (if that's possible). I decided to bake it instead of the stove top. I seared the skin on 14 drumsticks, doubled the sauce, and baked at 375 for 60 min. Then I reduced the sauce/juice that was left in the baking dish, by half, and glazed the chicken. WOW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      I too adventured off recipe and cooked in crockpot.....to thicken at end of cooking I added about 2oz water mixed with cornstarch (didn't measure) to thicken sauce to liking. Only had 6 drumsticks and there seemed to b more than enough coating (sauce) but if cooking more than 10 & you like saucy dishes, might want to double or make slightly more. Very tasty and a real keeper, thanks for the post

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      This was amazing. We cooked in pressure cooker after browning chicken, then pulled out once cooked and thickened up in fry pan, easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      This is a great recipe that the kids and hubby enjoys. This is on heavy rotation in our household.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      I made this for the first time tonight. The only changes I made were 1) I used chicken thighs because that is what I had, and 2) I used red pepper flakes in place of the pepper. I was cooking this as my daycare kids were being picked-up and every parent asked what was for dinner because It smelled THAT good! I did not tell my Husband the ingredients before he ate it because he HATES vinegar but ate every bite! After telling him his comment was...."don't mess with the recipe....just add it to the keep list". GREAT, simple recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      I just wanted to be review #900 because everyone knows how amazing this recipe is! Perfect on the first-go and will now be my go-to recipe. Thank you, JustJanS, for thinking of us 10 years ago!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese Mum's Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (279 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 313.1
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    36%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 118.2 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1470.5 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 13.5 g
    54%
    Protein 31.0 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites