938 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is fabulous. It is important to follow the recipe though, so you get the sticky glaze. Increasing it to a sauce is an entirely different taste and that is NOT this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donna129 September 13, 2012

Good chicken. Takes about 35 min on med hi to reduce to a glaze.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thirdsplease April 13, 2012

DELICIOUS! I cooked this exactly how the recipe said, except I didn't use a pepper. I was a little skeptical at first from the strong vinegar smell, but to my surprise, the glaze made the chicken taste amazing!! Best glazed chicken I've ever had. I agree with one of the other reviews, if you don't like this, you must have made a mistake when cooking. I put the chicken right in from the very beginning- no precooking. I served it with cooked broccoli & rice with soy sauce drizzled over the rice, & glaze drizzled over the chicken & broccoli. I 100% recommend this recipe, & it was very easy to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darling Diaz March 20, 2012

Just made this tonight except I had two packs of Chicken Legs so I doubled the sauce. (Note to self pick up more Soy Sauce and Balsamic Vinegar from Costco).. Absolutely fab, I served it with plain rice. The only difference I think I will make next time is to add spring onions and a Red Pepper to bulk up the veg. I started off in a saucepan but decided to transfer to a dutch oven for extra space. Cooked it as stated for 20 mins and then brought temperature up to boiling point to reduce the sauce. I think possibly I will also use Chicken breasts next time, legs are a bit fiddly, will probably remove chicken after 20 mins and then add back when sauce reduced. Once again superb!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kazd Davis March 09, 2012

Very good, however, the glaze takes much longer than 20 minutes to thicken as directed. I just let it simmmer, simmer and simmer...it finally thickened up. I suspect that perhaps those that tasted too much vinegar did not let it cook off enough.
I prepared my 4 chicken breasts halves(boneless, skinless) in the crock pot with the glaze and then poured it off into a small pot and simmered on the stove until it thickened. While the glaze was thickening, I "shredded" the chicken in large pieces.
I also added some quartered onion and an additional clove of garlic which I made sure some of which simmered in the pot with the glaze.
Served with steamed rice, carrots & broccoli. I think some water chestnuts would add a nice crunch, but I didn't have them on hand. Thanks for sharing!
***Update*** With the remaining leftovers, and since we had a snowfall today (in October!) I felt compelled to have soup. My husband mentioned he thought the initial dish was a little salty (I even used low sodium soy sauce) So I took the cooked rice, chicken and some water to make a Chicken Rice Soup for lunch today. I topped it off with some bean sprouts....it was a hit!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau October 29, 2011

Tried this recipe last night using chicken thighs fed four of my sons football team mates it was a huge hit loved it , loved it ,loved it. We were licking our fingers and looking for more delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenjam1992 October 27, 2011

To say this dish is excellent is an understatement!! I decided to try this is the slow cooker as other reviewers had recommended and let me tell you the meat was falling off the bone! So delicious, so easy...will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovelylaura1480 October 25, 2011

Delicious! My new favorite recipe! I was a little hesitant when reading past reviews but it turned out to be one of the easiest things I've cooked in a long time. I will make a note though that its probably important to use a "Sauce" pan (the ones most people don't like cause everything sticks to it) because it will simmer down faster into that glazy consistency that its supposed to be. But seriously, all I did was turn the chicken every 5-7 minutes to be evenly marinated and viola! 30 minutes later we had to most delicious chicken!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmJoy July 07, 2011

This was definitely the winner tonight. All five of us (including 2 picky kiddo eaters) enjoyed this. I used a Serrano pepper because that was the best option available. It wasn't too hot/spicy for children, and we'll be sure to make this one again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cornsilkandwheat July 02, 2011

Besides using a little less vinegar (scared because of ther reviews) I followed the recipe. After an hour the sauce still didnt turn into a glaze. Don't know what went wrong, but the flavor was good, nothing special. Won't be making this again...sorry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilove food May 27, 2011
Japanese Mum's Chicken