953 Reviews

This was great! I used six legs and threw in a couple of boneless breasts for my husband. I used minced garlic and a scant teaspoon of crushed red pepper because it was what I had. I can't believe that I had this in my recipe box so long without trying it. This will be a regular dish at our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaflutist September 02, 2008

i preferred the sauce to be a bit sweeter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TriciaWin August 31, 2008

With all the great reviews, I decided I had to make this. DD gave it only 3 1/2 stars. He said he wished the flavor went throughout the chicken. It seemeed to be just on the outside (skin and outer meat). Next time, I am using the hot pepper seeds--I didn't think there was enough heat to this. We like it hot! I used drumsticks and followed exactly. The glaze comes together nicely, but watch that pan--it can burn quickly. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamela t. August 28, 2008

Used thighs. Easy to make. Tastes good. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooksci August 27, 2008

This was a great recipe! Like previous posters I added more garlic (2 cloves minced) and some red pepper flakes (about 1 1/2 teaspoons). I also used cornstarch during the reducing process because we were just too hungry to wait :) I do disagree that you need to have chicken with the skins on. I think recipes that require skins are the ones that get crispy. This recipe is all about the glaze and just about any type of chicken would work. Tofu would be another excellent substitution - as long as you added it at the end of the reducing process. YUM! Thanks so much for sharing! As a busy Mom, I LOOVE recipes with this much flavor and so little effort.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deonandkatie August 23, 2008

Amazing recipe! Took less than 30 minutes to make--I browned the chicken parallel to simmering the souce and then combined the two 10 minutes into simmering. Turned out amazing. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kpoxa18 August 21, 2008

great recipe! we've been mixing soy and balsamic as a dip for a while now, but we never thought to boil it and make it into a sauce. great idea. we didn't have chili peppers and did w.o it, the chicken still came out tender and flavorful. We used skinless thighs and cooked about 45 minutes. If you want to thicken the sauce fast you need to leave the pot cover off and medium heat. The chicken was breaking apart by the end, very good! My picky cook of a boyfriend loved this chicken. He said I finally followed a recipe correctly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebishy August 20, 2008

I love the flavor of the glaze on this and it is definitely worth the wait. My kids love it too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Emily August 20, 2008

So surprisingly good and easy. I used cubed chicken breast but didn't add them till after the liquid was boiling and I reduced the heat. The chicken came out moist and so tasty!!! Served it with some sauteed zucchini and squash. What a wonderful summer meal. Thanks for a new twist on chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mini_1 August 19, 2008
Japanese Mum's Chicken