Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Japanese Mum's Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese Mum's Chicken

    Average Rating:

    933 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 933

    Sort by:

    • on May 08, 2011

      Overall this was a pretty cool recipe. although after eating two of the chicken legs, the third one tasted more sour than sweet. I think next time I will use a bag of chicken wings and use more sugar. I am wondering if anyone else had this problem because I think it may be due to the balsamic vinegar. I also cooked it all over medium heat while covered which really glazed the chicken well and whenever the sauce started getting gloppy I would poor in a bit of chicken broth. Also I sprinkled the chicken with sesame seeds and served with white rice and steamed veggies! after a few changes this will be a regular recipe in my home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      I really thought that the sauce tasted good when I stuck my finger in it, but on the chicken, it tasted sour in some spots in sweet in others, which was weird, because I mixed it up good. Also, I took out the chicken after 20 minutes to thicken the sauce, but I don't think the chicken was done all the way. Unfortunately, the recipe isn't very clear about that, nor about how long it would take to cook the sauce down, which was forever.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      This was wonderful! I was looking for a recipe for wings and found this. I had a 5 lb bag of wings so I double the glaze recipe. When the wings were as tender as I wanted, I took them out, turned up the heat to a frenzied simmer, stirring it frequently and let it reduce. Put the wings in to coat, took it to a get together and wached them disppear! At first my daughters thought it smelled too much like vinegar but when it finished cooking, they raved about them! Husband wants it for dinner tonight using thighs with a side of rice and Asian veggies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      Very nice, easy, but 2 changes for me.
      The skin doesn't get crispy and I hate soft skin. I used bone in skinless thighs which worked very well.
      Also I added 1 small piece of ginger for a bit of flavor and I am glad I did. But that is just my personal taste.
      It turned out very well and very easy. It thickened up fine, didn't take too long and the flavor was very very good.
      A very nice recipe. Thx

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      I made this last night for supper. Really good! I used thighs and added a chunk of ginger w/ the garlic & pepper. With rice & some steamed veg, it made a great meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      I tried this recipe in the crockpot with chicken breasts & double sauce. I served it with steamed broccoli, steamed carrots and rice. It was fantastic and super easy to make! I have a large family gathering up in a few weeks, and this is what I'll be serving. Easy and cheap way to feed a crowd. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      Awesomeness!!! It's super easy to make and simply delicious! Did it with my kid and we love it! Thanks for sharing, will definitely be making again :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      I have cooked this a number of times now. Still it never ceases to receive praises from people who try it. Now there's one more reason for me to invite people over and try this very delicious dish. The first time I cooked this, I was having it ready for next day's lunch. But when my husband passed by, he just had to try it. Results? No lunch prepared for the next day. Finished everything. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Very good. Used boneless skinless chicken breast and turned out very well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      We loved it!!! I used lite soy sauce to lower the sodium in this recipe. Also, I used about 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes in place of the hot chili pepper. The chicken was awesome! My DS and his GF were over for supper and we dug in like wood choppers after the first bite! This is heading to my favorites to have again when friends come to dine with me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2004

      superb! thanks so much for the tasty easy recipe - we used a jalapeno, and whole chicken legs with thighs attached. if you let the glaze cook down enough, there's no need to brown the chicken ahead of time. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2004

      I tried this recipe last night. It was a hit! I followed the directions exactly as specified except that I had to use Worcestershire sauce instead of soy sauce. I had no soy sauce handy so decided to take the chance. And I was pleasantly surprised at how good it turned out even with the w.sauce! Thank you for this tasty recipe. A keeper for sure!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2004

      What a delicious recipe! I used chicken wingettes and the taste was simply wonderful. Thank you for this recipe, I am sure I will be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2004

      Excellent! Tender chicken bathed in a dark seductive sauce. I used about 2 1/2 pounds of skin on bone-in chicken breasts (don't like dark meat) cut into sections about the size of a thigh. I added a serrano chili pepper (like Roger we don't do HOT). After 20 minutes, I cooked the chicken on high for another 10 minutes before removing it to a serving plate. I boiled the sauce for 10 minutes, reduced the heat to medium (to keep it sticking to the bottom of the pan) and cooked for 5 minutes more until I had 1/2 -3/4 of sauce. I don't know why anyone would need to brown the chicken first. Even before adding the sauce, it had great color and flavor. I served the chicken with Stir Fried Cabbage Noodles #84024 Thank you Jan for this wonderful treat and please thank Mama San for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2004

      OH WOW!! I LOVED this! My dh was VERY nervous about the ingredients and how it smelled so I added 2 TB of sugar to offset it. It was SO wonderful!! I found that it helped to take out the chicken pieces so that the sauce thickened quicker- then I poured it over the chicken and rice- MMMMMM So tasty! I was nervous about how hot it might be, but the pepper gave it a wonderfully slightly spicy after taste- GREAT RECIPE!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2004

      I enjoyed it but I really think it was only a 4 star dish. I will make it again. We did like it.. It just was not something to RAVE about.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2004

      I just had to see what everyone was raving about. And I found that it really is a great dish. I used skinless leg quarters, but did everything else exactly as directed. I probably cooked it for a total of 30 to 35 minutes. I think the peppper added an excellent additon to the dish. My husband even said it was really good (unsolicited!). I am adding it to my keeper file.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      Excellent dish. I made with chicken breasts and doubled the sauce amounts for the rice it was served with. Served with snap peas and white rice it was a yummy and quick dinner. This would make a great appetizer for a party!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      This deserves 5 stars for the ease of preparation, being an economical recipe for a crowd, and having a big bold flavor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      A quick tastey recipe. Served as an appetizer one night, over rice with veggies another. Good reviews both times! Yum!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese Mum's Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (279 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 313.1
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    36%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 118.2 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1470.5 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 13.5 g
    54%
    Protein 31.0 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites