937 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely 5 stars. I made with ingredients exactly as listed. I did brown the chicken first, and I did use my crock pot, reducing the sauce on the stove as the last step. Really easy, and really delicious. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheri 911 September 11, 2010

First off..this was a very tasty dish...however..I have to admit, there didn't seem to be nearly enough meat due to using the drumsticks. I definately think that dark meat is the key to keeping the chicken moist so I think next time around I will try chicken thighs instead and see if that is the ticket. I used splenda instead of sugar to make it "low carb" as well. All in all..this was terrific. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johnsdeere September 02, 2010

We've made this multiple times and recommended it to my mother in-law who didn't care for it. After talking with her, since we were shocked, we decided the difference was the balsamic vinegar. She used a cheapo one from the grocery store and we were using a high end dipping type. SO, if you wouldn't dip your bread in it... don't use it with this recipe because you may just be disappointed.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lostcook December 09, 2009

Very happy with this recipe! I simmered the sauce for 15 minutes first. In a separate pan, I browned a few chicken breasts coated in flour for 5 minutes, then poured the sauce on them and continued cooking. I added broccoli and water chestnuts about 2 minutes before I turned the heat off.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CityCook April 21, 2009

I made this once before and was not happy with the texture of the chicken or skin, but loved the flavor. Below are my changes. Make sauce and set aside 3/4 cup. Marinate the chicken thighs or legs overnight in the remaining sauce. Roast seasoned uncovered thighs or legs in 450* oven for 40 minutes, or until done throw away "dirty" marinade. Bring 3/4 cup "clean" or remaining marinade to boil and reduce by 1/2. When done the skin gets a beautiful deep brown color and is crunchy. The texture of the chicken is perfect.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TEC September 21, 2005

Well, another WOW for this recipe! If it hadn't been for all the reviews, I probably wouldn't have tried it, because my initial reaction was the same as my husband's when he saw me cooking it. "What, you're BOILING the chicken?" But... it ended up just great with wonderful flavour. I used a whole chicken, cut into pieces and I think the dark meat was nicer than the white, but the white was still good. I took the pieces out of the liquid for part of the time I was reducing the liquid because I thought the meat would be falling off the bone if I didn't. I put the pieces back in after the liquid was reduced to soak up the delicious flavour. I make another Japanese Chicken recipe that requires browning the pieces before adding the sauce. This is way easier and the flavour of the sauce is better. I might try using the browning in flour of the other recipe with this sauce sometime, but I will certainly make this recipe as written again! Sure doesn't get any simpler!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paja April 04, 2004

This used to be the only way i would eat chicken! i have also subbed the garlic for an inch of fresh ginger, gives it a slightly different taste and smell but still yummy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liara March 09, 2004

This dish turned out wonderfully. I didn't have balsamic vinegar in the house, so substituted it with 1/4 cup of red port and 1/4 cup of malt vinegar. I also used Lyle's Golden Syrup instead of sugar; it has a lovely distinct flavour and produces more of a caramelised result with cooking. It took a lot longer for the sauce to boil down than I expected, so next time I will get it started sooner. As for the comment about balsamic vinegar not being a typically Japanese ingredient: it's true that it isn't an ingredient indigenous to Japan, but due to an increased interest in European style cooking, balsamic vinegar has become a common feature in Japanese household kitchens.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chunkeebeef January 05, 2004

Delicious! Hubby frowns at anything with soy sauce in it (he claims everything made with soysauce in it tastes the same - ha!) but I neglected to tell him about that and he didn't even notice! He loved it, both my kids loved it and I thought it was wonderful. Served with basmati rice and corn. Definite 5 stars and a keeper if ever I saw one! Thanks for sharing Jan!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbe467 January 04, 2004

Simply delicious! Easy to fix, and the flavor of the sauce is wonderful. I followed the directions exactly, however I forgot to buy a chili pepper and had to sub a few drops of hot sauce instead. It took about 15 additional minutes for the sauce to reduce. This pleased the entire family. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather September 10, 2003
Japanese Mum's Chicken