Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Japanese Mum's Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese Mum's Chicken

    Average Rating:

    935 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 935

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2014

      I have made this several times and am making it again tonight. Such a simple but DELICIOUS recipe. We like extra glaze to drizzle over our rice, so I highly recommend doubling it. And as other have mentioned, be patient. It does take awhile for the glaze to thicken. This is a great recipe for kids to make due to its ease. It will make them feel like a Four-Star Chef!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2013

      Obviously this is a fantastic recipe but I had to throw in my 2 cents worth. I made this with boneless, skinless chicken thighs in a cast iron pan. Wow, such amazing flavor and so simple! I turned up the heat to get the skillet sizzling hot, poured in the water, vinegar and soy, then added the chicken, garlic and pepper. I left it bubbling hot for a few minutes til the thighs looked cooked underneath, flipped them over, covered the pan and turned it on low. After several minutes, I used a thermometer to make sure it was 160 degrees and they were cooked through and tender. With only four chicken thighs, they were well glazed and there was still sauce left over. Even my picky son liked this. I can see how this could be versatile too, with the addition of ginger or onions or peanut butter. Definitely a keeper recipe that I'll be making again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2013

      This was my first time making it so I used all the ingredients the recipe called for except I swapped the sugar for brown sugar. I put all the ingredients except the chicken into the saucepan and bought it to a boil and simmered it for about 10 mins. While i simmered the sauce, I browned the chicken in a frying pan. I then tossed the half cook chicken into the sauce and boiled away the remaining liquid until it made a rather thick glaze (about 30 mins). It was a delicious tender chicken. Thank you so much for introducing me to this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      I made this for the first time last week, it is definitely a keeper. I have a Japanese Mom, she didn't make this particular dish but many similar in flavor. I doubled the recipe and used drumsticks / trimmed down chicken wings. Browning the chicken first helps, and you may decide at some point the chicken is cooked plenty enough & remove it from the pan for a time while you thicken the glaze more. I did spend a lot of time skimming fat off the top of the sauce - that is key I think to getting a good glaze. Also keeps it healthier. That and using reduced sodium soy sauce - it still has plenty of salt & flavor. <br/>This has a bit of a tart taste but just enough to give a great flavor - definitely does not taste vinegar-y. Just splitting the pepper / removing the seeds & membrane, and bruising the garlic reduces prep time so much. I LOVE this recipe! Thank you so much Jan, Tomoko and Toshiko!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      This was my first time making it so I used all the ingredients the recipe called for except I swapped the sugar for brown sugar. I put all the ingredients except the chicken into the saucepan and bought it to a boil and simmered it for about 10 mins. While i simmered the sauce, I browned the chicken in a frying pan. I then tossed the half cook chicken into the sauce and boiled away the remaining liquid until it made a rather thick glaze (about 30 mins). It was a delicious tender chicken. Thank you so much for introducing me to this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      Just finished making this. Boy, is it good, lip-smakin' in fact! After reading the reviews, I decided a couple of changes...I used boneless/skinless chicken thighs cut into pieces, and dredged in some cornstarch. (1 tablespoon = 2 thighs) I boiled down the sauce a bit before adding the chicken (approx. 15 minutes), and once I added chicken it cooked very quickly. (20 minutes). Other then that, I did everything else the same and it was Awesome with a capital "A".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      This WAS so easy and so good. I wrote it down immediately to be part of my regular lineup. BTW this recipe should also be listed under "kid friendly" because we usually have trouble getting our 5 and 2 year olds eat meat and they gobbled it up and both asked for seconds.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

      This is an amazing recipe! I made it just as written and it really is finger-licking good. For company I would sprinkle with toasted sesame seed and sliced green onion and serve with steamed rice and a vegetable. I plan to make it for an appetizer using wing/drumettes. I suspect those who complained did not reduce the sauce enough. It takes at least an hour total to make. Loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2012

      I added some chopped broccoli when it was simmering, and served it over jasmine rice. Sooooo good! Next time I will be added all sorts of yummy veggies!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      We loved the glaze, it is sticky and savory, exactly what chicken drumsticks need to make them special. I didn't use the hot pepper because I have toddlers who dont tolerate spicy, but an extra clove of garlic would have been nice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2012

      This is fabulous. It is important to follow the recipe though, so you get the sticky glaze. Increasing it to a sauce is an entirely different taste and that is NOT this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2012

      Good chicken. Takes about 35 min on med hi to reduce to a glaze.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      DELICIOUS! I cooked this exactly how the recipe said, except I didn't use a pepper. I was a little skeptical at first from the strong vinegar smell, but to my surprise, the glaze made the chicken taste amazing!! Best glazed chicken I've ever had. I agree with one of the other reviews, if you don't like this, you must have made a mistake when cooking. I put the chicken right in from the very beginning- no precooking. I served it with cooked broccoli & rice with soy sauce drizzled over the rice, & glaze drizzled over the chicken & broccoli. I 100% recommend this recipe, & it was very easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      Just made this tonight except I had two packs of Chicken Legs so I doubled the sauce. (Note to self pick up more Soy Sauce and Balsamic Vinegar from Costco).. Absolutely fab, I served it with plain rice. The only difference I think I will make next time is to add spring onions and a Red Pepper to bulk up the veg. I started off in a saucepan but decided to transfer to a dutch oven for extra space. Cooked it as stated for 20 mins and then brought temperature up to boiling point to reduce the sauce. I think possibly I will also use Chicken breasts next time, legs are a bit fiddly, will probably remove chicken after 20 mins and then add back when sauce reduced. Once again superb!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      Very good, however, the glaze takes much longer than 20 minutes to thicken as directed. I just let it simmmer, simmer and simmer...it finally thickened up. I suspect that perhaps those that tasted too much vinegar did not let it cook off enough.
      I prepared my 4 chicken breasts halves(boneless, skinless) in the crock pot with the glaze and then poured it off into a small pot and simmered on the stove until it thickened. While the glaze was thickening, I "shredded" the chicken in large pieces.
      I also added some quartered onion and an additional clove of garlic which I made sure some of which simmered in the pot with the glaze.
      Served with steamed rice, carrots & broccoli. I think some water chestnuts would add a nice crunch, but I didn't have them on hand. Thanks for sharing!
      ***Update*** With the remaining leftovers, and since we had a snowfall today (in October!) I felt compelled to have soup. My husband mentioned he thought the initial dish was a little salty (I even used low sodium soy sauce) So I took the cooked rice, chicken and some water to make a Chicken Rice Soup for lunch today. I topped it off with some bean sprouts....it was a hit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      Tried this recipe last night using chicken thighs fed four of my sons football team mates it was a huge hit loved it , loved it ,loved it. We were licking our fingers and looking for more delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      To say this dish is excellent is an understatement!! I decided to try this is the slow cooker as other reviewers had recommended and let me tell you the meat was falling off the bone! So delicious, so easy...will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      Delicious! My new favorite recipe! I was a little hesitant when reading past reviews but it turned out to be one of the easiest things I've cooked in a long time. I will make a note though that its probably important to use a "Sauce" pan (the ones most people don't like cause everything sticks to it) because it will simmer down faster into that glazy consistency that its supposed to be. But seriously, all I did was turn the chicken every 5-7 minutes to be evenly marinated and viola! 30 minutes later we had to most delicious chicken!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      This was definitely the winner tonight. All five of us (including 2 picky kiddo eaters) enjoyed this. I used a Serrano pepper because that was the best option available. It wasn't too hot/spicy for children, and we'll be sure to make this one again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      Besides using a little less vinegar (scared because of ther reviews) I followed the recipe. After an hour the sauce still didnt turn into a glaze. Don't know what went wrong, but the flavor was good, nothing special. Won't be making this again...sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese Mum's Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (279 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 313.1
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    36%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 118.2 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1470.5 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 13.5 g
    54%
    Protein 31.0 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes