Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Japanese Mum's Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese Mum's Chicken

    Average Rating:

    926 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 926

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2009

      This is just amazing. However i made a mistake the second time around and accidentally made it with rice vineger instead of balsamic and it still tasted delish. So after that i used just a 1/4 cup of balsamic and 1/4 cup of rice vineger and it gives it a more delicate and sweet taste. Also good using Wings insted of drumsticks, the wings keep the skin better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2004

      Had to see what all the hoop-da-la was all about...This is a very good,easy and tasty recipe! I followed it to a "T". Next time my DH wants me to use chicken thighs instead of drumsticks. I did double the recipe for 3 of us. The sauce never really thickened or got to a thick and sticky glaze. The ease of preparation, as well as being an inexpensive meal is a real seller for this recipe. I served this with Meow's Ramen Fried "Rice" #34716 which complimented it very nicely. Thanks Jan for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      Yummmy! ChrissyO put me onto this one and boy am I glad she did. Sooooo easy and the aroma while cooking had my mouth watering!! Had to use breasts to cut down the fat content but other than that made it as stated. Thanks for a great keeper, Cheers, Jenny

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2003

      This recipe was suggested to another person on one of the talk boards. Having too much balsamic vinegar on hand, I decided to give it a try. I think I would like this recipe much better if another kind of vinegar was used. As it was, I tasted the cooking liquid after 10 minutes, did not like it, then added 1/4 cup Chinese red vinegar and an additional clove of garlic. This helped cut down the balsamic vinegar taste quite a bit and is the version we ate and I am using for the 3 star rating. I am wondering what kind of vinegar the girl's mother uses back home in Japan. Balsamic vinegar is not a usual ingredient in the Japanese kitchen, so I'm wondering if the girl said to use this since it was the closest type of vinegar on hand. Maybe shops in the area do not carry the kind of vinegar used back in Japan?? This recipe serves 4 so I cut it down for 2. The liquids and sugar used in this recipe were easy to half. In case someone is interested, this is not a sweet recipe. To avoid ending up with something sweet, I gradually added the sugar and was surprised when I had added the entire amount (for 1/2 a recipe). I used the full recipe amounts for garlic and hot pepper, though. Like one of the other reviewers, I, too, used thighs (4 big ones) instead of legs. The thighs took about 40 minutes to cook, twice the length of time the recipe says legs take. If I decide in the future to retry this recipe with another kind of vinegar, I shall again use thighs. I shall also use the additional garlic. Next time, however, I shall decrease the amount of water and cover the pot while cooking it for the first part. Even with the stove fan on, boiling off all that liquid caused more smell through the house than I would have liked. Using a lid will enable a water reduction from the start.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      Awesome! I used skin-on drumsticks just as directed. Yes, you must be patient (its passive time anyway) to get that rich deep glaze. I garnished the chicken with sliced scallions. Definitely will make this again! Thanx !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      Holy cow! This was a huge hit on our house. Definitely a keeper. Make this in a regular skillet rather than a saucepan as indicated. I tried it both ways and the skillet method made the glaze like it should. The saucepan just didn't work as well. I have not read all the reviews so I apologize if this has been mentioned...make sure to allow proper time for the liquid to reduce. You want a thick glaze sticking to the chicken. Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      Great recipe, very simple and delicious. I found it a little salty, which im sure could be eliminated by using low sodium soy sauce. Chicken came out moist and juicy. Ingredients are things you would normally have a round the house so i made this meal for $2.12. Great cheap meal! Glaze is wonderful, not a "sauce" type of flavor, just do not over cook the glaze and there will be plenty to roll chicken in before eating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      We all loved it. I used thighs and it did throw off a lot of fat so it took time but thicked up like a dream. It kind of beaded below the fat and then became sticky. That sticky glaze is great and I am glad I read the directions to be patient. Also, I was worried that I would hate the skin since I usually only like skin if it is baked very crispy but after cooking it so long the skin becomes almost part of the glaze. So glad I finally made this recipe after years of planning to try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2011

      This is a wonderful and simple recipe. I made a lower carb version of this by replacing the sugar with a half teaspoon of stevia. It was heavenly. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      I agree with those who said the chicken is sour. The sauce turned out to be delicious after I added approximately 3 Tbsp honey, some extra garlic powder, and some crushed red pepper and let it cook on med-low heat for another 1/2 hour. I cooked the sauce in the crock pot for 4 hours, and then the stove top for 2 hours before it did finally reduce to a glaze. The chicken seemed to absorb too much of the vinegar flavor for my liking, and didn't taste enough like the delicious glaze I had at the end of the process. Next time, I will try cooking the chicken separately, and will then throw it into the sauce at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      Yes, what they all have said before me... It's all true... Great chickie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      Absolutely 5 stars. I made with ingredients exactly as listed. I did brown the chicken first, and I did use my crock pot, reducing the sauce on the stove as the last step. Really easy, and really delicious. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      First off..this was a very tasty dish...however..I have to admit, there didn't seem to be nearly enough meat due to using the drumsticks. I definately think that dark meat is the key to keeping the chicken moist so I think next time around I will try chicken thighs instead and see if that is the ticket. I used splenda instead of sugar to make it "low carb" as well. All in all..this was terrific. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      We've made this multiple times and recommended it to my mother in-law who didn't care for it. After talking with her, since we were shocked, we decided the difference was the balsamic vinegar. She used a cheapo one from the grocery store and we were using a high end dipping type. SO, if you wouldn't dip your bread in it... don't use it with this recipe because you may just be disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Very happy with this recipe! I simmered the sauce for 15 minutes first. In a separate pan, I browned a few chicken breasts coated in flour for 5 minutes, then poured the sauce on them and continued cooking. I added broccoli and water chestnuts about 2 minutes before I turned the heat off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2004

      Well, another WOW for this recipe! If it hadn't been for all the reviews, I probably wouldn't have tried it, because my initial reaction was the same as my husband's when he saw me cooking it. "What, you're BOILING the chicken?" But... it ended up just great with wonderful flavour. I used a whole chicken, cut into pieces and I think the dark meat was nicer than the white, but the white was still good. I took the pieces out of the liquid for part of the time I was reducing the liquid because I thought the meat would be falling off the bone if I didn't. I put the pieces back in after the liquid was reduced to soak up the delicious flavour. I make another Japanese Chicken recipe that requires browning the pieces before adding the sauce. This is way easier and the flavour of the sauce is better. I might try using the browning in flour of the other recipe with this sauce sometime, but I will certainly make this recipe as written again! Sure doesn't get any simpler!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      This used to be the only way i would eat chicken! i have also subbed the garlic for an inch of fresh ginger, gives it a slightly different taste and smell but still yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2004

      This dish turned out wonderfully. I didn't have balsamic vinegar in the house, so substituted it with 1/4 cup of red port and 1/4 cup of malt vinegar. I also used Lyle's Golden Syrup instead of sugar; it has a lovely distinct flavour and produces more of a caramelised result with cooking. It took a lot longer for the sauce to boil down than I expected, so next time I will get it started sooner. As for the comment about balsamic vinegar not being a typically Japanese ingredient: it's true that it isn't an ingredient indigenous to Japan, but due to an increased interest in European style cooking, balsamic vinegar has become a common feature in Japanese household kitchens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2004

      Delicious! Hubby frowns at anything with soy sauce in it (he claims everything made with soysauce in it tastes the same - ha!) but I neglected to tell him about that and he didn't even notice! He loved it, both my kids loved it and I thought it was wonderful. Served with basmati rice and corn. Definite 5 stars and a keeper if ever I saw one! Thanks for sharing Jan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2003

      Simply delicious! Easy to fix, and the flavor of the sauce is wonderful. I followed the directions exactly, however I forgot to buy a chili pepper and had to sub a few drops of hot sauce instead. It took about 15 additional minutes for the sauce to reduce. This pleased the entire family. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese Mum's Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (279 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 313.1
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    36%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 118.2 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1470.5 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 13.5 g
    54%
    Protein 31.0 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites