941 Reviews

I love this recipe and its always a hit in my house. The only thing I have done is double the recipe since we like a little extra of the glaze as well as add some fresh ginger root chunked up and tossed in to cook with everything

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunshinedaze83 December 17, 2014

This was a really good, simple recipe. I used wings, drumsticks and thighs. I ended up taking the chickem out of the sauce and then let the sauce cook to desired thickness and then poured sauce over chicken. I have made it several times to rave reviews. If you don't like this recipe then you didn't cook it correctly. Also sometimes I add a little cornstarch to thicken glaze as this is a thin glaze. You can omit sugar if you like . It taste good either way IF.sauce is vinegary, you need to keep cooking that means you hadn't reduced it enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpumphrey1 November 27, 2014

it is a great recipe, Everyone loved it. I served it with white rice. The only thing I eill change next time is thatI will try it with no water just the other ingredients. Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danilu November 16, 2014

It was simply delicious, all my guests loved it. Even mine sister who is not a fan of chicken. Thanks you, I will definitly will cook this again. I can also cook only the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Isilwen A. October 03, 2014

I'm not putting a star rating because I've yet to cook this one. However in ingredients this is very similar to my Chicken Adobo recipe variation which is a Filipiño dish and has probably hundreds of variations. Happy cooking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott H. August 25, 2014

Yummy! I love garlic so I minced it instead of putting in a whole clove and removing. I didn't have a chili pepper so I added red chili flakes to taste. I added some honey to the recipe after the chicken cooked for 20 minutes, we like a sweeter sauce and the honey gave it a nice light flavor. Next time I'll use a reduced sodium soy sauce for more control. Will make again as the chicken was gone gone gone. Will add some snap peas and cashews and sesame seeds. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mwalker5 August 04, 2014

I cooked this using the slow cooker method, like some of the other reviewers, but then removed the chicken to reduce the sauce on the stove top. After returning the chicken to the pan, deboned, and warming again in the sauce, served with rice and green beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Normans July 21, 2014

Thank goodness for the reviews - always get good feedback. Off the the grocery and getting chicken for tonite. Know it will be great, also good for buffet. Only wish we could print some of the reviews with the recipe, it would help when I cook. Janet/AZ

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iayesha_12285745 July 15, 2014

I used 3 skinless, bone in thighs for half the sauce. Subbed pineapple juice for water, added more garlic and a knob of ginger. Added 1/2 thick sliced onion and 5 baby carrots. Cooked 30 minutes, stirring and turning every 5 minutes. Cooked white rice 18 minutes in chix stock with a few sliced carrots and celery. Let stand covered 10 min off heat. After 30 minutes, I covered the chicken, off heat, for 5 to 10 min. Took the meat off the bone and added back to the pot with the rice. Discarded baby carrots for another use, called snacking. Mixed it all. It was good, but not pretty. Next time I will serve the meat and rice separately.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn L. July 14, 2014
Japanese Mum's Chicken