938 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have cooked this several times now and we love it. Easy, flavorsome, quick and convenient. Jan S, thanks for another great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daydream October 01, 2003

I followed the recipe step by step, except I used skinless chicken breast. This is simply delicious! A mixture of sweet and spicy armours filled the house. The smell was fabulous and very oriental. What an easy recipe for a great taste. I could not believe that such a simple recipe could taste so good. Cannot imagine how good this recipe is going to be when I use chicken drumsticks with skin on. Please let Tomoko and her Mum Toshiko know that I am going to keep this recipe and use it as part of my families favourite regular dishes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissyo September 13, 2003

I rate it a 5, with outstanding flavor! My husband, however, rated it a 3, because although he liked the flavor, but he said it smelled like...well, like pee. Not kidding about this. He was serious about the smell, and I couldn't dissuade him. So although I don't want to rain on this parade, I will just offer that some people might not like the smell, but I found the flavor just wonderful, and I didn't share his opinion of the smell.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DorothyR in Malibu August 30, 2003

Quite disappointed. Sticky film was good. Overpowering soy sauce taste

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherrill April 06, 2015

While I did not have any of this, I did make it for my family, who all rated it between 4 and 5 stars. They really enjoyed it. My only complaint is the messy clean up. Next time I may try the crock pot method that another reviewer posted and see if my family likes it that way as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom March 08, 2015

Enjoyed by the family, great tasting glaze, however a bit time consuming waiting for it to caremalise.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
micro_ang January 28, 2015

This recipe is wonderful! I followed KristieKatz's review and doubled the sauce and put it all in the crockpot for 4 hours on low.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird December 18, 2014

I love this recipe and its always a hit in my house. The only thing I have done is double the recipe since we like a little extra of the glaze as well as add some fresh ginger root chunked up and tossed in to cook with everything

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunshinedaze83 December 17, 2014

This was a really good, simple recipe. I used wings, drumsticks and thighs. I ended up taking the chickem out of the sauce and then let the sauce cook to desired thickness and then poured sauce over chicken. I have made it several times to rave reviews. If you don't like this recipe then you didn't cook it correctly. Also sometimes I add a little cornstarch to thicken glaze as this is a thin glaze. You can omit sugar if you like . It taste good either way IF.sauce is vinegary, you need to keep cooking that means you hadn't reduced it enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpumphrey1 November 27, 2014

it is a great recipe, Everyone loved it. I served it with white rice. The only thing I eill change next time is thatI will try it with no water just the other ingredients. Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danilu November 16, 2014
Japanese Mum's Chicken