955 Reviews

This was so quick & simple to make, great if you're in a hurry or want something uncomplicated. I used chicken wingettes & served them with rice. I also thickened the sauce with a little cornflour before pouring over the rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Marli* October 13, 2003

I have cooked this several times now and we love it. Easy, flavorsome, quick and convenient. Jan S, thanks for another great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daydream October 01, 2003

I followed the recipe step by step, except I used skinless chicken breast. This is simply delicious! A mixture of sweet and spicy armours filled the house. The smell was fabulous and very oriental. What an easy recipe for a great taste. I could not believe that such a simple recipe could taste so good. Cannot imagine how good this recipe is going to be when I use chicken drumsticks with skin on. Please let Tomoko and her Mum Toshiko know that I am going to keep this recipe and use it as part of my families favourite regular dishes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissyo September 12, 2003

I rate it a 5, with outstanding flavor! My husband, however, rated it a 3, because although he liked the flavor, but he said it smelled like...well, like pee. Not kidding about this. He was serious about the smell, and I couldn't dissuade him. So although I don't want to rain on this parade, I will just offer that some people might not like the smell, but I found the flavor just wonderful, and I didn't share his opinion of the smell.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DorothyR in Malibu August 30, 2003

Yes! Totally agree with all the other 5 star ratings! I have made it so many times. My family begs for it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonia G. September 28, 2016

I live in Tokyo now and this recipe is authentic and delicious. And, I'm grateful for the translation. Trust the recipe! I actually added more water thinking that it was not enough, but all that happened is that I had to remove the cooked chicken and reduce the sauce. Next time, I might use a jam or jelly I have instead of sugar, the glaze may be thinner, but I don't think it will affect it. Oh, and I also added some roasted cashews to the glaze after removing the chicken (it's easier for me to get raw cashews here) and then topped it with chopped scallions, and served it with steamed rice. Delicious! If you use cashews, be sure to wash the salt off them or buy them raw and roast in the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbara August 23, 2016

I have made this several times for my family. I add about 5 cloves of minced garlic, an inch of minced fresh ginger, and increase the chili. I don't double the sauce. After reducing, I take out the chicken and add cooked jasmine rice to the pan with steamed broccoli and a few chopped scallions, stir it around a bit, and serve. The little bit of sauce left in the pan goes a long way and flavors the rice and veggies perfectly. Excellent, excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L M C. June 10, 2016

Wonderful!!! It was like eating in an Asian restaurant. I had to double the whole recipe because i had to use up 4 lbs of chicken so it took a little longer to reduce the sauce, but it was worth it. The only thing I did differently was I added some frozen broccoli at the end. I personally liked it, it reminded me of Chinese restaurants that overcook their broccoli in sauce, but my family didn't care for it. I'll just add it on the side next time. Just amazing and supper simple!!! Update: be careful once the sauce starts to thicken. I stepped away and I burned the sauce the last time that I made it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nsomniak6 May 28, 2016

I was scared to make this not knowing what to expect. It looked like a disaster as I was making it but you gotta let the sause get sticky. It looked like soup for a long time but eventually the sause will stick to the chicken. I used wings, success!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stawskimichelle May 16, 2016

Fantastic!! Made as written the first time, and loved it. Made it the 2nd time adding fresh grated ginger, and absolutely licked the plate clean!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelley52 March 07, 2016
Japanese Mum's Chicken