Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Japanese Mum's Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese Mum's Chicken

    Average Rating:

    922 Total Reviews

    Showing 181-200 of 922

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2011

      I love this recipe. Chicken legs are cheap and this recipe makes them taste wonderful. i put more water and actually let the chicken cook for a long time until it reduces to sauce. by that time its usually falling right off the bone :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      Wonderful!! I doubled the recipe and cut back on the vinegar. Only added the 1 serving of vinegar. Plus I used a squirt of sriracha, its all I had on hand.

      Will add to recipe rotation. Served with rice & broccoli. Yummy :P

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      This is a big hit in our home! It took a while for the sauce to start thickening, but it's worth the wait.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      I give this recipe 5 stars for being easy to prepare and simply delicious! We prepared the recipe as written but the sauce was a tad sour for our taste so we added honey to balance out the vinegar taste. Next time I will just back-off on the vinegar a bit but will still add the honey. Thanks for this wonderful recipe! My family loved it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2011

      Excellent recipe, I subsituted a spoon full of Srircha hot sauce for the red pepper flakes, it came out very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      When DH comes in the house and says it smells good, that means it most likely will be and it WAS! Loved the combination of balsamic vinegar and soy sauce. Would serve this to company in a heartbeat! Thanks for posting this. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      This smells very strongly of balsamic vinegar and just from that I don't know if I'll like it. I love vinegar in anything, but it's very strong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      I made this chicken and it was delish! My husband does not like the taste of balsamic vinegar so instead I just switched the measurement for soy sauce and balsamic vinegar. You can barely taste the balsamic. I also added onions for extra flavor. This recipe reminds me of a filipino chicken adobo. Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      this was a hit with my husband and all 3 of my kids which is a hard thing to do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

    • on August 12, 2011

      I was disappointed in the flavor. It was just okay to me. I can't say I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2011

      i only had 2 boneless- skinless ckn breasts, so i halved the glaze recipe... it was amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      Made this for Sunday's dinner however, used chicken wings and tripled the recipe. I have never cooked with Balsamic vinegar before and was not sure how this was going to turn out. This dish was very tasty and the flavors woke up my taste buds. I plan on making this dish often. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2011

      The flavor of this chicken can't be beat! I used chicken thighs with skin on and the sauce was almost too greasy - I wonder if taking the skin off halfway through cooking would help? I like the idea of doing this in a crockpot as another reviewer suggested and may try that next time. We had a little extra glaze to use on the rice and broccoli I served with the chicken, perfect! Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      Simple ingredients (always great). Doubled the recipe - took almost 2 hours to reduce. Did some work on the computer, tidied up, made a couple other dishes! Lightly browned the chicken seperately and then added them to the sauce. Patience is required - don't give up if the sauce doesn't thicken as fast as you expect. Thanks to your Japanese guest and her mother.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2011

    • on July 21, 2011

      This is one of my favorite recipes to make and one of my family's favorite to eat. I was wondering though, what type of chile pepper? I'm from New Mexico, and we have a large variety of chiles. I usually use a jalepeno, which works fine. I also use more than one garlic clove.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      This recipe turns out everytime I make this dish (often - as per the request of my family and friends!). It's very easy and I usually already have all of the ingredients in my kitchen.

      Could someone please recommend some suitable sides for this fantastic chicken? I usually make it with long grain rice and peas, but don't feel that they complement the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      I love this dish- discovered it a couple of years back and its sort of my comfort go-to thing when I don't know what to do with the chicken I have in the fridge. :-) The smell of balsamic is a bit overwhelming, but the taste makes me so happy. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      I can't believe I never reviewed this recipe yet. I've cooked this many times in the last couple of years, it's what I call my dream recipe, lots of flavour, easy, quick, mistake proof (almost). Thank you for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... 47

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese Mum's Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (279 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 313.1
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    36%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 118.2 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1470.5 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 13.5 g
    54%
    Protein 31.0 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites