Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Japanese Mum's Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese Mum's Chicken

    Average Rating:

    935 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 935

    Sort by:

    • on August 01, 2010

      For those who want EXTRA SAUCE/GLAZE read here! I wanted to serve the chicken over rice but I wanted it to be saucy. I doubled the ingredients and did 10 drumsticks BUT I threw it all into a crock pot. I didn't want to have to stand over the stove so the crock pot was great! I let it cook for 4 hours on low, and next time I would throw in some thighs and maybe even breasts. There was sooo much extra sauce, that it almost needed more chicken. My husband and kids loved it, the sauce is delicious even by itself over rice! The crock pot made the chicken so tender it was just falling off the bone. I eventually did take all the meat off the bone, put it over the rice and spooned the sauce over..YUMMY! Definitely a recipe that will stay with me forever, I even posted the recipe from this site onto my Facebook status as "Tonights Dinner!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2003

      I'm here to rave about this recipe too! This is nearly always what I look for in a 5-star recipe - maximum flavour derived from minimum effort - and the effort for this recipe is practically nonexistent. I skillet-toasted some sesame seeds and sprinkled these over the chicken pieces before serving. Steamed rice and oven-roasted brussels sprouts were the yummy others. One thing I might do next time though, if I have a bit more time, is to brown the chicken pieces first - just to get a bit more attractive colour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2003

      What a wonderful, easy meal! This definitely falls into the "finger lickin' good" category for me. I followed the directions exactly and had no problems at all making this. I served it with basmati rice, green beans and baby corn. There was enough leftover glaze from the chicken to drizzle over the rice. Next I plan to try this with chicken wings. Thanks Tomoko and Toshiko for a truly outstanding recipe :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      I used 6 skin-on, bone-in breasts, but halved them and browned them in a little olive oil. Drained the oil, added the sauce (doubled), and then removed chicken when it was almost cooked through. Reduced the sauce over high heat, which did take a good half hour or more, but once it starts to thicken, it thickens quickly. Added the chicken back in the pan and covered with sauce and cooked until chicken was done. Delish! my family loved it, and thought it smelled great while cooking. I used 3 cloves of minced garlic and about a tsp of red pepper flakes for the doubled sauce. Served with some broccoli and yellow rice. Will definitely make it again....really yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      Just a thought for those of you who had difficulty getting your glaze to thicken. Dark meat that has not been skinned contains a lot of fat. As you cook the chicken this fat becomes liquid (a liquid which will not reduce no matter how long you continue to simmer you sauce) You may want to try grilling or other wise cooking the meat prior to adding it to the glaze. You can then drain off the resulting fat. This should enable you to thicken your glaze with greater ease and it will also reduce the saturated fat that the meal contains. Additionally, if you have the time you can put the sauce in the oven at 375 for half an hour to 45 min prior to starting your dinner. This will further reduce the reduction time. Again, just a thought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      I love this recipe and use it or a variation of it for all my chicken drumsticks. Using different types of vinegar, replacing the water with pineapple or apple juice (and reducing the sugar,) adding chopped ginger, cilantro, or sesame seeds has yielded delicious results. I always chop all sauce components and reduce the sauce down so I can use every drop of it with the chicken or to top accompanying rice, noodles, or vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2003

      WOW!!! delicious!! I used thighs, that is what I had and a nice jalapeno from the garden. The glaze came out beautiful and the flavor, WOW! I served this with plain white rice and some fresh peas I had. Please thank your guest and her mom for a recipe that is wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2003

      It's definately balsamic vinegar that is used as Toshiko offered to send it to me from japan if I couldn't get it here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      I took KristieKatz advice and used the crockpot method because I had a playdate scheduled and needed to have something for dinner. I wish I had time to brown the legs before I put them in the crockpot, but I browned up the legs when I got home, and wound up thickening the sauce on high for 35 minutes so it reached the glaze point. I doubled the recipe, used 13 legs and served rice noodles on the side. My husband said that the noodles need to be a staple in our dinners. Great taste, my 5 year old licked her hands clean after every bite and I haven't seen her messier since she was a toddler eating spaghetti. And my one year old did a happy dance after every bite. Great recipe, next time I'm going to try this with Alton Brown's baked brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      I browned the drumsticks in vegetable oil first and set them aside until the last ten minutes of the simmer stage. No bad odor and no scum to skim. Very tender and not too sweet. I added extra garlic, used that rooster hot chile sauce, and topped with toasted sesame seeds and some green onions. I served with white rice and some garlicky broccoli. I will make this again. Thanks, Jan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2003

      I thought this chicken dish was fantastic!! 5 stars to Tomoko for a dish that was very quick,tasted great and required little effort(which is always good)! I was suprised to read about the pee smell. I thought that it has a very sweet smelling dish and that the vinegar balanced out the sugar nicely. I too would like to try it with wings next time around for something a little different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      I made this in my crock pot. I doubled the liquid ingredients and used five drumsticks, 8 boneless, skinless thighs and 4 boneless, skinless breasts cut in 3 pieces. I cooked it on low for just under 4 hours. After removing the meat I poured the liquid into a saucepan and reduced it to half then served the chicken and sauce with texmati rice.
      I've served this twice and have been asked for the recipe~ simply delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      I had tried this recipe before (using the simmering method), but my family did not like the flavour and texture of the chicken. (The directions do not state to brown the drumsticks first, which resulted in an unpleasant odour in the dish).

      I recently tried this recipe again, but decided to bake the drumsticks at 400 degrees Fahrenheit. I used twelve drumsticks, instead of eight, and added some onions (cut into large pieces). The dish was delicious, and the onions became very caramelized!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      The reviews for this receipe tempted me to try it although I didn't have balsamic vinegar in the house and had to buy some (fairly expensive here. 4.95 a bottle!) It was worth the expense. I used wings (cutting off the last section which isn't really edible anyway) because I don't really like drumsticks. It was really easy to make this and have it turn out right. I was working on the 'puter while it cooked and the fact that I didn't hover over it didn't affect the outcome at all. I ate six of the eight wings with a salad and boy am I STUFFED. Excellent flavor. The person that didn't like the balsamic vinegar should have waited for the glaze to cook down, it definately changes flavor as it cooks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2003

      This was really easy to make, but we had to use chicken breasts. I am sure it would have been better with the drumsticks, but it still came out great. I servied it with Toasted Pine Nut and Parmesan Couscous (#48104) and we enjoyed it! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      I don't have a review but I do have a comment on balsamic vinegar...u do need to reduce this vinegar for any type of glaze. Even if u cook balsamic just by itself, it will be very sour & vinegar-y but after some period of time & heat, balsamic vinegar will tighten up into a syrupy sweet glaze...u just have to be patient & give it time. I make a balsamic glaze whenever I cook delmonico steaks indoors so I know what I'm talking about ;-) hope that helps! Will definitely be trying this recipe soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      I'm only 15 years old and this is my first time cooking anything. I cooked this for my parents to eat after they woke up and we all loved it. Great recipe, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      Took a while for the sauce to thicken but once it was done it was AMAZING. I used drummettes but followed the recipe exactly other than that. I was using my finger to lick every last bit of the glaze off my plate! Went back for seconds and my brother had eaten every last bit! For about 12 drummettes there was plenty of glaze. Super easy and so delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      Like princessbride029, I found the reduced glaze much too salty and vinegary. The house also smelled overwhelmingly of vinegar as the sauce was reducing, which I found a bit unpleasant. Next time, I'll try cutting the vinegar by half and replacing half of the soy sauce with chicken broth. I'll update this review once I've tried that combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      This is just amazing. However i made a mistake the second time around and accidentally made it with rice vineger instead of balsamic and it still tasted delish. So after that i used just a 1/4 cup of balsamic and 1/4 cup of rice vineger and it gives it a more delicate and sweet taste. Also good using Wings insted of drumsticks, the wings keep the skin better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 47

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese Mum's Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (279 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 313.1
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    36%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 118.2 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1470.5 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 13.5 g
    54%
    Protein 31.0 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes