13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is soooo good, and simple too what could be better. I had a pork roast and wanted to do something differant with it when I found this. Had to make a few changes just do to necessity but don't think it changed the flavor much. Cut my pork into chunks (I couldn't get it thin slices) and added sliced sweet onions to the marinade, soaked it all for about 2 hours before cooking in a hot wok and then served with steamed, buttered spagetti squash. When done cooking thickened the broth with corn starch and served as a sauce. Yum, we'll be having this again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 August 23, 2012

Very easy to make. I used bacon-thin pork belly since I like it fatty. I also added a bit of sugar (around 1tsp). And I cooked it the way Japanese do it.

Mix the sauce ingredients and set aside.
Heat up oil in a pan.
Fry the pork slices in high heat until slightly browned then do the same in the other side.
Pour sauce ingredients into the pan and saute until the sauce thickens and coats the pork.
(By this time the sauce is coating the pork and no excess sauce is in the pan)
Remove pork slices draining the fat away (there's excess fat since I used pork belly)

The key to have tender pork is cooking it as little time possible over high heat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monmamoni March 15, 2012

Easy and good. I used peanut oil instead of canola. I also had to use about 1 tsp. of dried ginger because I only had about 1 tsp. fresh ginger left. I served this with Frizzled Cabbage and white rice. I ended up eating two servings because I don't eat rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch June 15, 2010

Simple and delicious. I use less ginger and add some garlic (about 1:2 ginger to garlic) in the marinade, then stir fry the pork with cabbage, sliced red pepper, grated carrot & beansprouts and serve with noodles for a complete meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr Nick January 21, 2009

Daughter and I liked but husband said it was too gingery. Well, I said ... it IS "ginger" pork! I forgot to buy cabbage which I will definitely use the next time. I served with jasmine rice and steamed green beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie December 26, 2008

This recipe was really tasty and very simple. I served this with some rice noodles and it made a very good week-day meal. Thank-you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manon Barwick May 14, 2008

Loved this recipe! I used 4 boneless pork chops which was more like 1.4 lbs of meat so I added an extra shake of soy and mirin, then added 1 tbsp of hoisin sauce (couldn't resist I love that stuff!). Sauted this with onion, baby carrots and snow peas over sticky rice and I was in heaven! I'm sure I butchered some authentic technique or spice combination but my tastebuds didn't complain! Thanks for this simple and delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Singleangel January 06, 2008

I was thinking of submitting a shogayaki recipe--what could be better as far as easy gourmet goes?--and found you had already done so. My kudos. When I lived in Japan, this was virtually always served on a bed of fresh, finely cut cabbage (not steamed). It was thanks to this dish that I started loving raw cabbage. Also, everyone differs as to how long to marinate. My Japanese sources say a short marination is best--up to five minutes and no more. In any event, what a great, classic dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tumerica September 27, 2007

This is an incredibly easy dish to make and extremely tasty. My Japanese wife even likes it as does my 3 year old daughter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iron chef wannabe December 29, 2005

A lovely dish and also easy to prepare. I read Hey Jude's review and to be on the save side I used half a tablespoon less of the dark soy sauce. I seved the pork garnished with thinly sliced spring onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us April 10, 2005
Japanese Ginger Pork (Shogayaki)