Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Japanese Ginger Pork (Shogayaki) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese Ginger Pork (Shogayaki)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2012

      This is soooo good, and simple too what could be better. I had a pork roast and wanted to do something differant with it when I found this. Had to make a few changes just do to necessity but don't think it changed the flavor much. Cut my pork into chunks (I couldn't get it thin slices) and added sliced sweet onions to the marinade, soaked it all for about 2 hours before cooking in a hot wok and then served with steamed, buttered spagetti squash. When done cooking thickened the broth with corn starch and served as a sauce. Yum, we'll be having this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      Very easy to make. I used bacon-thin pork belly since I like it fatty. I also added a bit of sugar (around 1tsp). And I cooked it the way Japanese do it.

      Mix the sauce ingredients and set aside.
      Heat up oil in a pan.
      Fry the pork slices in high heat until slightly browned then do the same in the other side.
      Pour sauce ingredients into the pan and saute until the sauce thickens and coats the pork.
      (By this time the sauce is coating the pork and no excess sauce is in the pan)
      Remove pork slices draining the fat away (there's excess fat since I used pork belly)

      The key to have tender pork is cooking it as little time possible over high heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Easy and good. I used peanut oil instead of canola. I also had to use about 1 tsp. of dried ginger because I only had about 1 tsp. fresh ginger left. I served this with Frizzled Cabbage and white rice. I ended up eating two servings because I don't eat rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      Simple and delicious. I use less ginger and add some garlic (about 1:2 ginger to garlic) in the marinade, then stir fry the pork with cabbage, sliced red pepper, grated carrot & beansprouts and serve with noodles for a complete meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Daughter and I liked but husband said it was too gingery. Well, I said ... it IS "ginger" pork! I forgot to buy cabbage which I will definitely use the next time. I served with jasmine rice and steamed green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      This recipe was really tasty and very simple. I served this with some rice noodles and it made a very good week-day meal. Thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Loved this recipe! I used 4 boneless pork chops which was more like 1.4 lbs of meat so I added an extra shake of soy and mirin, then added 1 tbsp of hoisin sauce (couldn't resist I love that stuff!). Sauted this with onion, baby carrots and snow peas over sticky rice and I was in heaven! I'm sure I butchered some authentic technique or spice combination but my tastebuds didn't complain! Thanks for this simple and delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      I was thinking of submitting a shogayaki recipe--what could be better as far as easy gourmet goes?--and found you had already done so. My kudos. When I lived in Japan, this was virtually always served on a bed of fresh, finely cut cabbage (not steamed). It was thanks to this dish that I started loving raw cabbage. Also, everyone differs as to how long to marinate. My Japanese sources say a short marination is best--up to five minutes and no more. In any event, what a great, classic dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      This is an incredibly easy dish to make and extremely tasty. My Japanese wife even likes it as does my 3 year old daughter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2005

      A lovely dish and also easy to prepare. I read Hey Jude's review and to be on the save side I used half a tablespoon less of the dark soy sauce. I seved the pork garnished with thinly sliced spring onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2004

      I made it for dinner and it was very easy and delicious. Thanks WaterMelon for a great recipe:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2004

      Made this last night and we loved it! Will make again just as is.Thanks Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      The pork for this dish has to be sliced ultra-thin, which I'm not able to do in my tiny kitchen. I got the pork pre-sliced at my Japanese market and followed the recipe as is, except that I added a large clove of minced garlic. The flavor of this dish is wonderful but next time I will use a light soy sauce as we found this a bit salty. I served this with Japanese rice and my recipe of Flash-cooked greens with garlic. Thanks WaterMelon, good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese Ginger Pork (Shogayaki)

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 303.8
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    51%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 95.2 mg
    31%
    Sodium 862.8 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 32.6 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites