17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was delicious. I didn't even use the sugar or honey. Made for Sharon123 Cookathon 2010.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty October 16, 2010

These were very tasty. I think I may have sliced my cucumbers too thin. I'll try slicing them thicker next time. Not too thick though but not as thin as paper. I tried toasted sesame seeds I had on hand and I think I'd rather have the regular ones. I'll be making this one often.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mara in Iowa September 14, 2007

Love this salad--I always used to order it at sushi restaurants, but it's so fast and easy, I now make it all the time at home. I doubled the recipe, using about a teaspoon of sugar, and it was just right. Also, I used coconut aminos instead of soy sauce (lower in sodium and soy free)-- this is a great summertime side-dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tobynewell_3008034 July 13, 2013

So, so good! The perfect compliment to so many Asian meals. I toasted the sesame seeds, but otherwise followed the recipe down the line. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview August 14, 2012

Excellent ! I made the recipe as directed except for doubling the ingredients. I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac August 10, 2012

I loved this recipe! I have been trying to perfect a cucumber salad for a long time now and I had never thought to add sesame oil.
The only thing I did different from this recipe was reduce the soy sauce by half and eliminate sugar. I have tried making cucumber salad with sugar but I don't really care for the sweet taste. From reading some of the reviews, I thought it would be better not to because soy sauce can really have an overpowering, salty taste. The saltiness overall was perfect for me.
Also, I think the key to this is to have a really good sesame oil. The one I have has a great aroma and taste (even just by itself) so I think that really helped to make this salad taste better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinksakura April 23, 2012

Love this recipe. I used 1/2 the amount of salt, and toasted the sesame seeds. Awesome...will definitely use this recipe again. It's a winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rkmartin April 01, 2012

I wasn't really a fan. It was missing the tanginess that it usually has in restaurants. Maybe I should have prepped it earlier and let it sit to meld together?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzeeQ May 15, 2011

We love this recipe! I add less sugar, because I don't like mine that sweet. But a big hit!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nursenikole October 18, 2010

Loved it, I added mirin and less sugar. The family gobbled it up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ribbits July 22, 2010
Japanese Cucumber Salad