Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Japanese Chicken Wings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese Chicken Wings

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2003

      Cheap and quick to make! 10 mins prep time! (although you have to wash up a few eggy bowls!)...YUMMY! Impressed all my friends - and they actually thought i'd made an effort! I used Chiken thighs instead of wings, and they fell apart in your mouth! deff one to try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2003

      This tasted very much like sweet and sour chicken. Easy to make and economical. My sauce did not thicken up as much as I would have liked - perhaps because of my oven. Would make this recipe again, but it is not better than sex. Lol

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2003

      Highly recommended. I have made this three times already because my family loves it! It's a lot like sweet and sour chicken. I make it with boneless chicken breasts and serve it with rice and Recipe*zaar #1660 Japanese Cabbage Salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2014

      These chicken wings were a tangy blast at my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      perfekt. just perfekt. my mother has made this for years and because of a time zone issue, i could not call for her recipe. i made this one instead and it turned out as promised. excellent! Vielen Dank! (many thanks)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      These wings are outstanding the way the recipe is written, however, my family is trying ot eat healthier so I changed it a little bit. For the wings I just baked them plain - no seasoning. For the sauce I put it in a pot over low heat, added some cornstarch and cayenne pepper. While that was heating up and thickening I toasted some sesame seeds then added them to the sauce. We dipped the wings after they were done cooking. Our next adventure will be to try Malibu rum instead of vinegar and do it BW3 style.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

    • on January 02, 2006

      This was delicious. However...Not quite as good as sex ;-) It was very easy to make. The only thing I did differently was adding some freshly minced ginger. My family thouroughly enjoyed it as well. I'll definatly make this again. Thanks, Carol, for a delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      I have made this twice and the family have really enjoyed it. I added grated fresh ginger (1tbls) and garlic (2 tsp)and used 1/2 the amount of water. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      I cut water amount in half, otherwise made as directed. I took it to a carry in International dinner, and it was a big hit. Will prepare again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2005

      These were very good. I made them exactly as the recipe was. The sauce thickend up somewhat, but next time I may cut back on the H20 so that it has more of a chance to get really thick and googy. We all really liked them, and I will make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2004

      Bob in Florida: Cook the sauce separately. Put all sauce ingredients in a sauce pan on medium high heat. Stir frequently until the sauce thickens. Remove from heat and cover. The sauce will turn hard if not used immediately, but put on low heat and it will thin out. If necessary you can add a little more vinegar to help in the thinning process. A little more water will cut the strong flavor. Instead of wings or chicken breasts, I used chicken tenders. Baked them in a 350 degree oven in a lightly oiled casserole dish for about 10 minutes. Turn the tenders over half way thru cooking. Test for doneness. Brush the sauce on both sides of the chicken and bake for about 5 minutes longer. Serve extra sauce on the side. I served this with minute rice topped with Japanese sauteed eggplant from my garden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2004

      The kids and I really liked these wings. I went light on the water so the sauce would thicken up. Easy to make, clean up is a bit messy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2004

      I'll try these again, however, we thought the flavor of the sauce was to strong and overpowering. Will try again and add more water to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      Amazing recipe! I had never made chicken wings before. And these were fabulous. They look AND taste delicious. It was just me and my husband and we ate ALL of them. Next I'm going to try using chopped chicken breast and adding sesame seeds. Thanks for a great recipe. Lyn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese Chicken Wings

    Serving Size: 1 (294 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 876.6
     
    Calories from Fat 351
    40%
    Total Fat 39.0 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 280.5 mg
    93%
    Sodium 1712.9 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.0 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 50.9 g
    203%
    Protein 50.8 g
    101%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    water

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes